.com.unity Forums

.com.unity Forums (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/index.php)
-   SEV Modders Knowledge Base (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=154)
-   -   Modding SEV Thread Questions (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=30358)

President_Elect_Shang October 14th, 2006 05:24 PM

Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions
 
I need another formula help. What if I want to create a damage formula with the following values:

Range: 0 – 10 – 20 – 30 – 40 – 50 – 60 – 70 – 80 – 90 – 100 – 110 – 120
Damage inflicted: 30 – 30 – 20 – 20 – 20 – 10 – 10 – 10 – 10 – 10 – 10 – 10 – 10

How would I do this? I know that I only need to do the formula once as I want a flat damage rate so the min and max formula would be the same. Apologies but the formatting isn’t coming out and I don’t want to make it into columns.

aegisx October 14th, 2006 05:28 PM

Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions
 
AI colonies...

-Main script calls function to give ship orders.
-If its a colony ship, it calls the colony minister function.
-The minister looks for a planet to colonize (doesn't seem to care about any details, just if it can).

The AI has a function to pick a colony type, what calls that? It also seems to base what colony type based off of how many other colonies of the same type there are?

Noble713 October 14th, 2006 05:29 PM

Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions
 
I may have asked these before but I don't think I got an answer:

What does Base Model Radius in mpire_ships_xfileclasses.txt do?


The scale setting in each xfileclass seems to affect both the display of ships in the system display as well as in the combat engine. I want a different scale for each. For example, I would scale ships so they are all approximately the size of a hex in the system screen (making them clearly visible but not overly large), but I don't want every ship to be the same size in tactical combat. Is this possible now, or is it something I need to ask Aaron to add? It's essentially two seperate scale settings for strategic/tactical views as opposed to the one setting we have now.

Elsemeravin October 14th, 2006 05:29 PM

Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions
 
Why don't you use the exact same formula as for accuracy (below) but changing the weight and limits ?

kind of :
iff %range% <=10 ,30,iff %range% <=40 , 20,iff %range% <=120,10,0

President_Elect_Shang October 14th, 2006 05:47 PM

Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions
 
Quote:

Elsemeravin said:
Why don't you use the exact same formula as for accuracy (below) but changing the weight and limits ?

kind of :
iff %range% <=10 ,30,iff %range% <=40 , 20,iff %range% <=120,10,0

Can I do that? SJ, CPT Kwok, Phoenix-D? Is that a legal formula to use for the damage? How would I place the range limit on it? Something like

>=121, 10000, 0
The >= is for the cut off point.
The 10000 is to change all damage to 0 past that point.
I have no idea why the last 0 is in there(?).

Suicide Junkie October 14th, 2006 06:10 PM

Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions
 
You don't want 10000 damage; that would be huge.

Give me 10 minutes, and I'll tweak my equation parser program to show values at range.

Kana October 14th, 2006 06:17 PM

Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions
 
Yaa...I know what PES is working on...

http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/image...es/biggrin.gif

Suicide Junkie October 14th, 2006 06:38 PM

Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions
 
http://imagemodserver.mine.nu/other/...angeLister.zip

The one thing to keep in mind is that SE5's formula parser is not as flexible as this one.
SE5 demands whitespace everywhere, for example.

Note:
If you're not sure what is causing an error condition, press the "verbose" button, and it will tell you what it thinks is wrong with your formula.

President_Elect_Shang October 14th, 2006 06:46 PM

Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions
 
Quote:

Kana said:
Yaa...I know what PES is working on...

http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/image...es/biggrin.gif

http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/image...es/redface.gif

Kana October 14th, 2006 06:47 PM

Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions
 
Quote:

Imperator Fyron said:
No, it does not. Range has a degree of 1, not 10. Actual damage done will be whatever is calculated at the exact range, for example. The damage charts for component display only display every 10 ls because it would be insane to try to show every 1 LS.

So what value will it display per each 10 LS, if there are different values from 1-10 etc...?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:52 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.