.com.unity Forums

.com.unity Forums (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/index.php)
-   Space Empires: IV & V (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   SE4 Map analyser (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=12098)

Suicide Junkie May 22nd, 2004 05:12 AM

Re: SE4 Map analyser
 
It sounds like you think this is intended to analyse existing maps...
It will not.

Rather, it will read the mod files, and generate stats to tell you the average balance between the different homeworld choices.

Remember that colored circle graph of atmosphere distributions somebody made a few years ago?
This will be an automated way to generate that and more.

------

Status update:
Phase 1 - Basic UI, data structures & mod detection
<font color=#008000>-= completed =-</font>
Phase 2 - Read in planetsize.txt & initialize planet stats (names & facil/pop space)
<font color=#008000>-= completed =-</font>
Phase 3 - Read in secttypes.txt & add to stats (atmo/surface distributions)
<font color=#008000>-= completed =-</font>
Phase 4 - Read in settings.txt & add to stats
(SY rates)
<font color=#008000>-= completed =-</font>
Phase 5 - Read in systemtypes.txt & initialize system stats ("any" types calculated from phase 3 info)
-= 50% =-
Phase 6 - Scan requested quadrant in quadranttypes.txt & sum up final results
-= 0% =-
Phase 7 - Fancy presentation, graphs & such.
-= 0% =-


The phase 3 and phase 2 info can be seen currently in some list boxes which will not be visible for the finished program.
http://imagemodserver.mine.nu/other/MM/SE4/tools

PS:
To decode the stats:
</font><blockquote><font size="1" face="sans-serif, arial, verdana">code:</font><hr /><pre style="font-size:x-small; font-family: monospace;">Const STAT_NUM = 1
Const STAT_FAC = 2
Const STAT_FAC_DOMED = 3
Const STAT_POP = 4
Const STAT_POP_DOMED = 5
Const STAT_GG = 6
Const STAT_ROCK = 11
Const STAT_ICE = 16
Const STAT_VAC = 0
Const STAT_H2 = 1
Const STAT_O2 = 2
Const STAT_CO2 = 3
Const STAT_METH = 4</pre><hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="sans-serif, arial, verdana">STAT_NUM is the number of duplicate planetsizes with the same name.
(for mods which duplicate say "Tiny" so that tiny moons will randomly have 4, 5 or 6 facility slots instead of just 5 all the time)

When looking for a planettype, add the atmosphere and surface. So an Oxy Gas Giant is 2+6 = 8th number in the list.
This is the count of oxy gas giants of the planetsize named on the left.
Entry # 6 should always be zero, since there are no vaccuum gas giants (0+6)

[ May 22, 2004, 22:21: Message edited by: Suicide Junkie ]

Suicide Junkie May 24th, 2004 04:11 AM

Re: SE4 Map analyser
 
Argh... I've got a screen full of lists, which themselves have many 5-10 entries, each entry consisting of a list of 10-20 stat counters.

I'm suffering from stack overflows in my brain, and it looks like this stage is going have to do a lot more than I initially thought...

Suicide Junkie June 15th, 2004 02:08 AM

Re: SE4 Map analyser
 
Well, I think it may just be just about working...

Very slow right now, but it does finish the system stat calculations.
Its just a matter of summing those over the probability of each system in the quadrants file and drawing the results to get the operation completed.

First things to do are debugging.
The planet counts for each race atmo/surf combination look OK, and the facility slots are on the right track, but the other stats have gone really wonky.

Then speed improvements.

Suicide Junkie July 29th, 2004 06:36 AM

Re: SE4 Map analyser
 
Alrighty, a couple of copy-paste bugs down, and a fix for the ring/sphereworld entries messing with the stats.

I think its working now...
Just need to make the systemtypes.txt analysis much more efficient so it dosen't take all day to finish.

Then the quadranttypes part will be a simple sum of the system stats!

I'm letting this beast run overnight on the stock datafiles to see what it comes up with http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/icon7.gif

Fyron July 29th, 2004 07:56 AM

Re: SE4 Map analyser
 
To answer a few questions from IRC...

Quote:

[09:02:37-PM] <SJ> Heh, GG/none ringworlds...
[09:02:49-PM] <SJ> Do those actually build properly in game?
<font size="2" face="sans-serif, arial, verdana">No, they are impossible to build in-game. Your program needs to ignore them.

Quote:

[09:39:27-PM] <SJ> I wonder if the ring/sphereworlds are driving up the numbers when huge is a possibility...
[09:39:49-PM] <SJ> Are they a special case?
[09:55:54-PM] <SJ> Hey.
[09:56:52-PM] <SJ> Is it the "constructed world" tag that makes the diff?
<font size="2" face="sans-serif, arial, verdana">I believe that is what makes the difference. I do not know if size matters for constructed planets, though I suspect that it does.

Suicide Junkie July 29th, 2004 07:59 PM

Re: SE4 Map analyser
 
Ok, its down to 5-10 seconds per system instead of per planet http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/icon10.gif

Now to sum over the systems in the quadrant, and display a pretty graph of the data http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/icon12.gif

Suicide Junkie July 29th, 2004 10:19 PM

Re: SE4 Map analyser
 
http://imagemodserver.mine.nu/nick/t...apanalyse1.gif

I'm also planning to make some pie charts on a separate screen.

Any requests or comments on what kind of output you guys would find mose useful?

Kana July 30th, 2004 03:29 PM

Re: SE4 Map analyser
 
Slightly off topic...Sorry SJ. The picks on the GIF gave me a thought. Scarey I know...

Can you MOD the specific Atmosphere/Planet type to a certain component? Basically the colonizing component will only work on the specific Atmosphere/Planet conditions?

Kana

*Now back to your regularly scheduled thread*

Ruatha July 30th, 2004 04:10 PM

Re: SE4 Map analyser
 
What are you writing it in for language? C#/++ or VB or Delphi? Just curious!

If started from a Run commando does it take any parameters?..... (I e if I make a plug-in text file for the companion to start it should I send any parameters, ie paths or such?)

I think it looks real good, and it will help settle all those discussion (You had more planets, facilities, huges ones etc once and for all http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/icon12.gif )

Will it show asteroids and special systems aswell?

[ July 30, 2004, 16:19: Message edited by: Ruatha ]

Fyron July 30th, 2004 06:20 PM

Re: SE4 Map analyser
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Kana:
Can you MOD the specific Atmosphere/Planet type to a certain component? Basically the colonizing component will only work on the specific Atmosphere/Planet conditions?
<font size="2" face="sans-serif, arial, verdana">Sadly, no. The only colonizing abilities available are the 3 planet type ones. The ability to colonize by atmosphere instead was lost in the transition from SE3 to SE4 (SE3 had no planet type, just size and atmosphere). There are colony modules for all of the different atmospheres in the graphics files, but there is no practical use for them. http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/icon9.gif


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.