.com.unity Forums

.com.unity Forums (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/index.php)
-   Scenarios, Maps and Mods (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=146)
-   -   Utility: Dominion 3 Server Monitor Tool (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=31808)

lch April 3rd, 2007 01:29 PM

Re: Dominion 3 Server Monitor Tool
 
Only MarcinM has the source code, so only he would be able to port it unless somebody programs something similar. I'd be quite interested to see some info on the Dom3 server/client protocol, just for very basic stuff like nation and turn info as shown here, because I'd use it for my PHP server info pages and I'm too lazy to reverse-engineer the protocol myself... http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/image...ies/tongue.gif

Gandalf Parker April 3rd, 2007 02:38 PM

Re: Dominion 3 Server Monitor Tool
 
Its not too hard to create an info page for your own games on your own server. Unless you want to show status from other servers.

But if you really want the server-to-client packet info then you can probably email Johan and ask him. As long as you show that you can "speak programming" in terms that arent specific to a particular language then he seems to respond well.

MarcinM April 17th, 2007 10:17 PM

Re: Dominion 3 Server Monitor Tool
 
Quote:

paradoxharbinger said:
the links are all dead is this till available?

My apologies, I moved several sites off of shared hosting onto my own - and some files didn't get moved. It should be back in place now.

I can certainly post the C# source files as well, if there is interest. The only reason it's on a Windows platform is ... because I wanted to see what C# was like http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/image...ies/tongue.gif I don't have the time to port it right now, but that's not a bad idea - I'll let you know in a few weeks http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/smilies/wink.gif

Making your own info page on your OWN server is ridiculously easy. Just send your server output (just by using dom3 > textfile) to a text file and parse it - it's much easier than querying the server directly.

lch April 18th, 2007 08:04 PM

Re: Dominion 3 Server Monitor Tool
 
Quote:

MarcinM said:
I can certainly post the C# source files as well, if there is interest.

There definately is interest in that! http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/image...ies/stupid.gif

lch April 30th, 2007 12:49 PM

Re: Dominion 3 Server Monitor Tool
 
1 Attachment(s)
Well, getting this to be compatible with *nix was now my first C# assignment, too... http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/image...ies/tongue.gif

http://i15.tinypic.com/6ge7ty9.png

I made some changes to the program to make it compatible with *nix environments. What I changed was...
  • ... path for the dom3tool_serverlist.xml file. The original program wants to access the %APPDATA% directory for that, if that environment variable does not exist (like on my Linux system), it bails out. Now it tries %APPDATA% if it's set or the current directory (aka ".") otherwise.
  • ... "Open file" dialog to find the Dom3 executable. I have added an option for the usual dom3 executables: dom3_* and dom3*.exe and used that as default value. Changed the "All files" file mask, too, because otherwise it wouldn't show the *nix executables.
  • ... launching the Dom3 executable. Maybe Windows launches the program successfully if the working directory is set to the directory where the executable is in, but that didn't work for me, so I used the full absolute path instead.
I didn't change any other code, even though the program doesn't validate its input enough. If you abort the program on the first start you can mess up your settings XML file and fill it with bad uninitialized values, which results in subsequent crashes when you open the program again. You'll have to delete the XML file in that case. There might be other trouble lurking somewhere, too.

Attached is the binary which works with Mono 1.2.2.1 and upwards and should work on Windows systems with the original .NET framework without modifications, too. (Could I get a confirmation for that, maybe?)

lch May 2nd, 2007 08:25 PM

Re: Dominion 3 Server Monitor Tool
 
A little bugfix release:
  • added nations Lanka, Tir na n'Og and Eriu introduced in the patches 3.04 and 3.08
  • early age Arcoscephale didn't show up before, it does now
  • nations are now sorted by nation number, not by status (makes it easier to find them if they stay at the same place in the list all the time)
  • connected players are now shown by uppercase status letters
  • connecting to a server shifted the game name to the right - fixed; the game name is left-oriented now
If anybody wants any new features or bugs fixed (there are a couple) then ask for it. I might rewrite this eventually.

Daedalus September 26th, 2007 04:29 PM

Re: Dominion 3 Server Monitor Tool
 
When I run this, I can't enter a server name - everything is greyed out except for the dropdown that has "- NEW -" in it.

When I select that, I get the following error:

----------------------------------------------------
Unhanded exception has occurred in your application. If you click continue, the application will ignore this error and attempt to continue. If you click Quit, the application with close immediately.

Cannot find table 0.
-------------------------------------------------------

If I click continue, nothing changes - the dropdown is still the only thing not greyed out.

Any ideas?

Running on Win xp with .net 1.1, 2, & 3 installed.

lch September 27th, 2007 06:59 AM

Re: Dominion 3 Server Monitor Tool
 
Have you read this that I wrote?
Quote:

lch said:
I didn't change any other code, even though the program doesn't validate its input enough. If you abort the program on the first start you can mess up your settings XML file and fill it with bad uninitialized values, which results in subsequent crashes when you open the program again. You'll have to delete the XML file in that case. There might be other trouble lurking somewhere, too.

Are you using the original executable from the first post or mine from the attachment in the last post of the first page?

Daedalus September 27th, 2007 11:11 AM

Re: Dominion 3 Server Monitor Tool
 
I do not know which one I am using; I have downloaded both, installed both, but they appear to be the same. They both say "Dom 3 Tool_1_0_0_9". I have uninstalled/reinstalled both versions, they both give me the same error.

I can find no XML file that it creates.

lch September 27th, 2007 11:59 AM

Re: Dominion 3 Server Monitor Tool
 
Enter %APPDATA% into the address field of your windows explorer, look for the serverlist.xml and delete it.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.