![]() |
Re: Dominions Rogue
Is it at all possible to hit anything with melee weapons? THe bow works wonders until your ammo is out. Then you're toast :)
How do cast starfires? |
Re: Dominions Rogue
yeah. i think i'll just give the bow infinite ammo for now, just for fun.
to cast starfires you have to go: 'G' to increase skills set Astral Magic to 'known' 'm' for magic and then select the spell, it is the only one so it should be 'a' you also have to be the White_One, since they are the only available race with Astral right now. |
Re: Dominions Rogue
Evidently you die when your fat reaches 200 :)
|
Re: Dominions Rogue
1 Attachment(s)
the newest release, and this is worth downloading.
monster code cleaned up even more and monster missile weapon capability added! archer code cleaned up and HUGELY simplified. found a new function that simply returns coordinates (rather than direction) so the coordinates that the missiles strike at can be computed directly from this. I can't believe how overcomplex the original angband code was, it's just stupid. this new function doesn't have the colored line of site or memory added yet, so it isn't as easy to use, but mechanically it is tons better; i will add this perks soon. I allowed all existing monsters in the starting area and added a 'markata' monster with a bow. be careful, the will o wisps will kill you! do you know how you should fite them? i gave the bandar 231 hp and the bow 999 ammo, so you can kill that necro now :D next up to be added is multi-target and monster fatigue you may need to delete the old save files for this new version to work. go into tome/3.0/ and remove the dominions folder. REALLY NEED MAPS AND TEMPLATES FILLED IN this is not coding, just filling in names and stats of monsters and stuff making a map is as easy as building it in ascii in a text file. you don't have to fill in the whole map, just some areas to walk, a random generator can fill in the rest. so a deep forest town would just be some walking paths connecting the buildings, and a random generator would fill in the trees or whatever types of terrain you want randomly generated. look at the 'battlefield' map i've used for a starting area to get the idea (dominions/data/maps) |
Re: Dominions Rogue
Quote:
|
Re: Dominions Rogue
- the autotargeter is back, so missile fire is much more fun
- final bugs in monster missile combat fixed - monster fatigue added a BUNCH of random names added, thanks to quantum mechanic. |
Re: Dominions Rogue
there havn't been updates because i'm writing a program that will read Edi's database and then write EACH AND EVERY SINGEL UNIT AND ITEM INTO THE DOMINIONS ROGUE GAME. (With Edi's permission of course)
the program is almost finished, it reads the database, and rewrites each unit and item into the template needed to be added to dominions rogue, then uses these to write the monster and item data files that Dominions Rogue reads all its monsters and items from. currently, I am writing algorithms in this program that it uses to assign a symbol to each entry. For example, if a unit has (17 > protection > 12) it might get a symbol of 'I' which would be the symbol for 'heavy Infantry'. The unit works its way through the algorithms until it has a final symbol. So it might start of as an 'I', but later on it turns out the unit also has flying, so it gets a symbol of 'V', the symbol for 'flying heavy infantry', or something. these unit qualities will determine what symbol a unit is, but since there are so many very similar units, there will be lots of i's and I's and A's and K's all representing many different types of units running around. Fortunately, Edi's DB has a page identifying which units belong to which nation, which can actually be searched by my program to match units with units in a particular nations armies, and then see which nation that unit belongs to. With this information, each unit can be given a color based on its nation, along with a symbol. The next step then is to differentiate each symbol with a color identifying its nation. For example, Abysian units might be R182 G000 B000 (a dark red). This is easy enough, but I need the colors. While it I thoroughly enjoy playing with the online color wheel, I also have LOTS of other work to do for graduate school. It would be infinitely helpful if people could pick colors for a couple of nations and then list then list the color in this thread in this format: Code:
color.new('ABYSIAN_RED', '.', color.ABYSIAN_RED, 187, 00, 00) use the following pages to do this. click around the color wheel until you have a color you are happy with for the nation you are thinking of. it lists the color in hexcode format (the first two digits are red, the second green, ect). You will need to take that hex code to another page to find out the RGB color entry. the color wheel http://ficml.org/jemimap/style/color/wheel.html the color hex code decoder http://vulcan.wr.usgs.gov/Miscellane...hex_table.html your helps are greatly appreciated!!! |
Re: Dominions Rogue
Code:
color.new('ARCOS_BLUE', '.', color.ARCOS_BLUE, 0, 208, 200) |
Re: Dominions Rogue
Omni, you certainly have my permission to use the DB for that purpose. Just a word of warning on the 3.17 version: The unit display page has an incorrect defense formula, so the values are off. I have corrected that for the 3.20 version. I'll be posting that one later today.
|
Re: Dominions Rogue
See first post for Dominion's colors; what we have and what we need; and how you can help!
Thanks both of you! Edi, your database is basically going to make Dom Rogue the biggest roguelike on the internets! 2000+ units/monsters in a roguelike has to be some kind of record!!! on Ulm and C'tis, is there difference in color between the different ages? I was thinking no, and was just going to use the same color for one nation in all ages. |
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:41 AM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.