![]() |
Re: JAVA programmer? (and Win-DomMap, and some GIMP)
Quote:
Second, and more pointedly, if I apply "window-dressing" to the app, it will be a major (ie: almost complete) rewrite of the code, not just a recompile. This will render moot any source control between a Windows GUI Version and a linux console Version. The ideal option, of course, is to do any GUI in Java, which, if done properly, will run on all platforms. Doing it in Java will take me longer as the code not only has to be translated from C, but I'm not as swift a Java coder as I am a C coder. BTW, I haven't been doing this out of any interest I have in the app (I don't plan to use it myself), but just because a need for a Windows Version was expressed. So just point me in the direction you want me to go. Quote:
[ February 24, 2004, 21:54: Message edited by: Arryn ] |
Re: JAVA programmer? (and Win-DomMap, and some GIMP)
Quote:
It _almost_ works in batch mode (with the command-line gimp -b '(selective_blur_batch "/complete/path/to/file/random.tga")(gimp-quit 0)'), but for some reason the gimp-by-color-select calls refuses to work unless there's an open display. I did a quick google on the problem, and it seems other people _are_ able to use the gimp-by-color-select calls in batch mode, so it might perhaps be related to the Version of Gimp I'm using (1.2.3) |
Re: JAVA programmer? (and Win-DomMap, and some GIMP)
Hmmm the dommap has kindof a UI called run_dommap.sh which I tried to convert to a batch file. Didnt really come out good. All it does is give an easy semi-documented way to edit the many parameters of DomMap and run them with your favorite settings over and over. Doing a GUI front-end to DomMap would probably be a great thing.
On my linux system I made a front-end for me to play with which ran batches of maps thru DomMap while randomizing many of the parameters (within reasonable boundarys) so that I could view the results of 30, 50, 100 at a time. It gave me a feel for the settings I prefered. I can provide the code if you promise not to laught at it (its in Basic) You could probably do something with those two. A front end that offered help on the variables, let you set them, save them, randomize them, and run a batch for viewing. I started a list of desired 3rd party apps but it got kindof long. I thought maybe I had better make it another thread. |
Re: JAVA programmer? (and Win-DomMap, and some GIMP)
Quote:
|
Re: JAVA programmer? (and Win-DomMap, and some GIMP)
Hi all,
I also have compiled a working windows Version of the DomMap generator. I have also started work on afront end to allow variable changing etc. I am new to the forum and see that Arryn has also started work on a front end. Let me know if you need any help. I'll keep working on mine just in case you don't get any time to finish. By the way Arryn, I was finally able to view the TGA files. Thanks Mark Garnett Brisbane Australia |
Re: JAVA programmer? (and Win-DomMap, and some GIMP)
Quote:
|
Re: JAVA programmer? (and Win-DomMap, and some GIMP)
Quote:
But thanks for clueing me in that there is a cross-platform compiler besides those from Borland and IBM. [ February 24, 2004, 23:53: Message edited by: Arryn ] |
Re: JAVA programmer? (and Win-DomMap, and some GIMP)
I've finally managed to get the "blur and bump-map" script to work with Gimp's batch mode - although unfortunately I had to hard-code the color values into the script. (I'm sure it's possible to send them in as parameters, but I don't know enough scheme to get it done.)
I've put the working script up at http://home.Online.no/~rmoldskr/Domi...blur-batch.scm Place it in Gimp's scripts directory (~/.gimp-1.2/scripts on unix machines) and you can run it from the command line by typing gimp-1.2 -b '(script_fu_blur_random_map_batch "./random.tga")' - Alternatively, just add this as the Last line of run_dommap.sh |
Re: JAVA programmer? (and Win-DomMap, and some GIMP)
Quote:
Quote:
|
Re: JAVA programmer? (and Win-DomMap, and some GIMP)
Quote:
Unfortunately it still wont quite fill my needs because Im hard-headed and dont load GUIs on my servers. Everything I do with the maps so far uses no console display. WHen I run your new script I get much farther than before but I get this... Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display: even though Im not asking for a displayed finish. I even deleted the display line out of the script completely and it gave me that error [ February 25, 2004, 15:21: Message edited by: Gandalf Parker ] |
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:41 AM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.