![]() |
Re: Maps available
Quote:
|
Re: Maps available
Ello ello,
How does 'Dominions II' know where each province is? Does it look for the single white pixel and simply go from top left to bottom right scanline style. Numbering each pixel as a province, as it goes along? Does this mean that the border-line graphic is just for human ease of use, rather than of any use data-wise to the software? In other words; there is no edge detection routine necessary. Just trying to figure this out so I can make a map definition tool (it would not be pan-platform since I would be working in lingo). I want to put together a tool that will generate names based on racial themes, terrain etc... and provides for supplying an external name list. Also drop down terrain definitons and other applicable dropdowns for creating the .map file. It would be gui driven of course. EDIT: The only place I can see borders being needed would be for auto-neighbour detection... Thanks in advance. [ January 09, 2004, 18:59: Message edited by: Strages Sanctus ] |
Re: Maps available
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
and examples of the output are here. http://www.techno-mage.com/~dominion/maps/ Quote:
Quote:
There is a map generator that was done for Dom1 and the source is available. But its in C. Would that be helpful? |
Re: Maps available
Quote "Interesting. Id never considered that. But it would be almost the same as zipping the files. On the one hand, more people probably have unzippers than have graphic converters. On the other hand, it would be easier to display the maps for download on a website. Hmmm no come to think of it making the maps viewable on a website isnt really a problem so ZIP would probably be better."
Gandalf Parker, I have to disagree about it being almost the same. jpegs are around 1/4 the size of a zipped tga file. here is my findings: tga 1: 26,065,978 compressed to 8,781,802 zip file tga 1: 26,065,978 converted to jpg : 2,891,790 tga 2: 39,233,987 compressed to a 12,103,218 zip file tga 2: 39,233,987 converted to a 4,785,664 jpg Big difference for dial up people, and a free graphics converter can be found at http://www.softpile.com/Multimedia/I...830_index.html I have dsl and the map files arent a problem, but i do remember my dial-up days. anyway, food for thought |
Re: Maps available
Lingo is Director's internal development language.
It runs on mac and windows, shockwave is the web product created from it. It also creates stand-alone executables for mac and windows. It would be easy enough if there are only single white pixels (as being the only pure white in the image) defining each province ALONG WITH true red borders defining each province area. (the borders could be removed once the map data file was generated). This would enable the code to find a single white pixel and then find the entire area around it that is within in the confines of a true red border (I have fill code similar to this). It could then look at the color of the pixels in that area to define the territory or multiple-territory types (like mountain/forest or mountain/waste). It could then look at a set of teerain lists and generate a name for that province(your bas files is exactly the type of thing I am talking about.) Even without the red borders it could expand out in its detection process only a certain range and generate its data that way. But then neighbour detection would be very haphazard since it would have no way of knowing its relationship to other provinces except for proximity to the other province indicating white pixels. Edge detection for both the above process and the process of determing adjacent neighbours is much easier when you have a set of defined points from which to 'expand' from out to a definied color border(in this case the single pixels of true white and a border of true red.) I think for the first run I would do this, and then see if it is possible to incoporate some kind of ability to automate blocked off borders (the double thick borders in current maps). The automated process could of course all be done gui-less. The gui would come in for doing things manually. It would be also be neat to consider it being able to look at other graphic data to do more complex automation of things (a graduated color overlay indicating neutral areas, racial make-up of neutral provinces, strength etc...) this would work really well with something like your randomizing routines. Edit: it's and its (grammar is evil) [ January 09, 2004, 19:48: Message edited by: Strages Sanctus ] |
Re: Maps available
"what would be the difference in taking the map's tga file and converting it to jpg and post the jpg. people can download the jpg and then convert it to tga on their own computer so they can use it."
In my experience, when you convert to jpg (or gif, or any format) if you degrade the picture in any way then when you expand it back to tga size the single-pixel captials can change color and sometimes expand to 2 pixels. 2 pixels means you have 2 provinces basicly on top of each other, a bad thing. "How does 'Dominions II' know where each province is? Does it look for the single white pixel and simply go from top left to bottom right scanline style. Numbering each pixel as a province, as it goes along?" Yes, but bottom left to top right scanline. Borders are just eye candy (maybe they are used for guessing provinces, but guessing does not work well). When I make a map, all that counts are where the single pixel 255 255 255 capitals are, I then rename some other .map file, delete all the #neighboors, point it to the right .tga and use the Load Map command on it and manually set the borders. When making a map, place the captials Last, right after you filter the image to remove all other pure white (I use Filter > adjust color > levels and set output level maxing at 254, which works fine.) BTW, since borders do not matter, you should be able to open up Dominions I maps, remove the single white pixel hidden in the top left corrner, copy another .map file and edit it to point to the dom1 tga, set the borders and be done. |
Re: Maps available
You can use lossless formats, like lossless JPG or PNG. But never use lossy compression on an image where non-visual data is stored in the image file. Lossless formats do not compress nearly as well as lossy ones, of course.
The freeware program IrfanView can interconvert all common graphics formats, and you can specify quality on lossy formats. It is the best freeware program I have ever used. -Cherry |
Re: Maps available
Quote:
One solution (to excessive download size) would be to offer the .tga files in a variety of resolution - the person making up the map should be able to do that with little hassle. |
Re: Maps available
what will not work with DOM2:
</font>
What will work is : </font>
I resized and modified my old DOM1 map, so I have gone through all this hassle before. BTw., did anyone check this map out? Despite being 1600 pixels wide, it's only 1,6 MB big ... . I'm working on an extended Version at the moment, I'll post it (link) when it's finished. A. |
Re: Maps available
what will not work with DOM2:
</font>
What will work is : </font>
I resized and modified my old DOM1 map, so I have gone through all this hassle before. BTw., did anyone check this map out? Despite being 1600 pixels wide, it's only 1,6 MB big ... . I'm working on an extended Version at the moment, I'll post it (link) when it's finished. A. edited: code & spelling, but it doesn't help much.. [ January 10, 2004, 06:36: Message edited by: Arralen ] |
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:38 AM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.