![]() |
what the heck are my Communion Slaves doing?
I just watched a battle and painstakingly transcribed every spell cast by my mages, and what their fatigue was after each turn. I have several questions:
1. Why did the Communion Slaves not cast any spells? 2. Why did the Communion Master go out of script on turn 5? 3. Why did a couple of the slaves change their minds and cast a couple of spells at the end of the battle (turn 18). 4. Why does the fatigue get distributed unevenly? 5. Why does the fatigue get distributed differently when the Communion Master casts a spell on one turn than when he casts the same spell on the next turn (turns 6 & 7, turns 9 & 10 & 11, turns 14 & 15, turns 16 & 17)? 6. Why does the Communion Master cast worse spells like Banishment or Solar Rays instead of better spells like Holy Pyre? 7. Why do my mages sometimes recover as much as 8 fatigue per turn? (4 is due to Summon Earthpower) Here was the script: Enforca: Communion Master, Power of the Spheres, Summon Earthpower, Phoenix Power, Immolation, spells Metase: Communion Slave, Body Ethereal, Luck, Rage, Blink, spells Clarbune: Communion Slave, Luck, Body Ethereal, Curse of the Stones, Blink, spells Bphlah: Communion Slave, Body Ethereal, Luck, Rage, Blink, spells Actual behavior: Enforca cast 1. Communion Master, 2. Power of the Spheres, 3. Summon Earthpower, 4. Phoenix Power, 5. Summon Fire Elemental, 6. Banishment, 7. Banishment, 8. Luck, 9. Banishment, 10. Banishment, 11. Banishment, 12. Iron Will, 13. Holy Pyre, 14. Solar Rays, 15. Solar Rays, 16. Body Ethereal, 17. Body Ethereal, 18. none, 19. Luck The other mages cast Communion Slave, then did nothing until turn 18 (the same turn that Enforca did nothing) when Metase cast Body Ethereal and Bplhah cast Mind Burn. Here are the fatigue levels of each mage after each turn. The fatigue caused by my opponent's Rigor Mortis is included in parenthesis, when applicable. <pre> turn | mage -> v Enforce Metase Clarbune Bphlah 1 19 19 19 3 2 31 41 52 9 3 37 (37) 69 (77) 58 (70) 33 (29) ??? 4 41 (50) 79 (75) 74 (70) 31 (41) 5 69 (70) 84 (80) 89 (85) 50 (54) 6 72 82 87 62 7 68 78 83 58 8 72 82 87 60 9 80 89 107 64 10 78 87 100 68 11 86 100 104 72 12 86 112 99 84 13 85 104 98 84 14 85 99 98 79 15 86 99 109 77 16 87 102 119 75 17 88 103 115 73 18 ? 118 ? 72 19 98 113 101 70 </pre> One theory as to why Enforca didn't cast Immolation is that he didn't want to hurt the three White Knight bodyguards. Another is that he thought casting Immolation would hurt the Communion Slaves, not realizing that they had fire immunity fro.... Oh. I see that they only had 50% resistance from Phoenix Power. Maybe next time I'll do Phoenix Power, Fire Resistance, Immolation. So I guess the explanation to question #2 is Enforca was smarter than I was and knew not to cast Immolation. |
Re: what the heck are my Communion Slaves doing?
Quote:
|
Re: what the heck are my Communion Slaves doing?
I see a very simple pattern in the comminion slave castings: on turn 18, Enforfe fatiues out, thus not casting anything, and freeing the slaves for a turn as there is no free master.
Also, the extra fatigue removal is probably just the 5 you get for free for being above fatigue 100. |
Re: what the heck are my Communion Slaves doing?
> Well, I can answer the these. Communion slaves are not supposed to cast spells, period.
Oh. Darn. Well, that kind of takes some of the fun out of it ... Thanks for the answers! I gained 8 fatigue back when I was less than 100, but maybe I just mis-transcribed the numbers or something... |
Re: what the heck are my Communion Slaves doing?
Quote:
|
Re: what the heck are my Communion Slaves doing?
Oh, I'm confused. I thought that Immolation was a "self-enchantment" that would give the caster a 7-area aura of firey death for the remainder of the battle. Where did I get that idea? Oh well.
|
Re: what the heck are my Communion Slaves doing?
Nice job pulling all of that information together Zooko. Most of us (myself included) would have just asked "Hey, why did this happen?" rather than gathering together so much data to look at.
|
Re: what the heck are my Communion Slaves doing?
Thanks!
Oh wait -- no mage ever gained more than 4 fatigue back unless they were over 100. The most any gained back while < 100 was 4. The most gained back while >= 100 was 8. So it sounds like you can get a bonus of up to 4 fatigue back when you are over 100. |
Re: what the heck are my Communion Slaves doing?
Quote:
|
Re: what the heck are my Communion Slaves doing?
Quote:
http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/smilies/wink.gif |
Re: what the heck are my Communion Slaves doing?
To my knowledge, helping master to cast spell requires slave's attention in that round, so if you want your communion slaves to be active, script the master to cast some spells and then attack (or do anything else but casting). I still couldn't make communion slaves to advance though.
|
Re: what the heck are my Communion Slaves doing?
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Hmm. Wish I knew the answers to 4) and 5) http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/smilies/happy.gif |
Re: what the heck are my Communion Slaves doing?
Quote:
|
Re: what the heck are my Communion Slaves doing?
Quote:
|
Re: what the heck are my Communion Slaves doing?
Quote:
|
Re: what the heck are my Communion Slaves doing?
More communion questions:
I have six mages. (I hope my enemies from the Argitoth MP game aren't reading this thread.) I could make one be Communion Master and five Communion Slaves. This wouldn't give the master any more magic path boost than four Slaves, but it would spread the fatigue out a bit more. Or I could make one be Master, four Slaves, and one neither. Or I could make two Masters and four Slaves. Now if I did that, would each Master get a +1 boost and spread the fatigue among two Slaves each, or would each one get a +2 boost, and spread the fatigue among all four slaves? |
Re: what the heck are my Communion Slaves doing?
the latter. however, in any battle not excessively short, the slaves will have a good chance of being killed off due to fatigue. it helps if you have a nature 3 mage casting relief.
|
even more fatigue questions
General fatigue question:
Why did my Magus go from fatigue 0 to fatigue 45 after casting Body Ethereal. I double-checked and there were no extra fatigue effects such as "excessive heat". His encumbrance was listed as "6", and his spellcasting encumbrance was listed as "6". Body Ethereal is listed as costing "20-" fatigue. It is an A1 spell and my Magus has A1. This is kind of irritating. If there is some reason why he gets extra fatigue then the game should tell me what it is! P.S. I'm irritated because I scripts my Magi to do Body Ethereal, Luck, Body Ethereal, Communion Slave. However because the spells inexplicably cost twice as much fatigue as expected, they tired out and didn't cast Communion Slave, thus screwing up my tactic. |
Re: what the heck are my Communion Slaves doing?
Quote:
Question: does the +1 Earth that Summon Earthpower gives to the Slaves have any effect on their fatigue? That is, in general, do the magic path levels of the slaves have any effect on Communion? |
Re: even more fatigue questions
Quote:
|
Re: even more fatigue questions
Drain dominion! That's the answer. Thanks!
|
Re: levels of slaves
The magical power of the slaves is completely irrelevant.
|
Re: levels of slaves
Then why does it say it can be dangerous if the caster is more powerful than the slaves? Oh -- because if the caster is more powerful then the added fatigue *he* gets is reduced, which means he can go on casting and casting instead of getting tired out before he overloads the slaves.
What are the rules for dying of fatigue? |
Re: levels of slaves
after 200 you take damage, gain afflictions, and soon die
|
Re: levels of slaves
AFAIK, every point of fatigue beyond 200 goes directly to the HP's and is likely to produce an additional affliction...
|
Re: what the heck are my Communion Slaves doing?
All this time I thought that "A communion with two communion slaves will grant all masters one extra level in all their paths" meant in all the slaves' paths, but now I'm beginning to realize that it means all the masters' paths. So a 1-Astral mage is just as good as a 1-Fire, 1-Water, 1-Air, 1-Earth, 1-Death, 1-Nature, 1-Blood, 1-Astral mage when serving as a communion slave ?
|
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:08 AM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.