.com.unity Forums

.com.unity Forums (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/index.php)
-   Space Empires: IV & V (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   [Tool] SE4 text to html/javascript (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=24271)

Lemmy June 21st, 2005 11:06 AM

[Tool] SE4 text to html/javascript
 
For a preview, look here (may take a few seconds to load, ~500kB)
Yes, pictures are missing.

So i had some free time, got bored, and recently learned about XML and XSL. I wanted to put my newly learned skills into practice...soo....and well, to make a long story short, i ended up writing a tool in C# (first time in C# as well) that converts some of the SE4 data files into a javascript file and a html/js webpage that display the contents of that newly generated javascript file...now if you're wondering what happened to the XML, well, XML/XSL was too slow because could only display everything at once unless i used javascript...and creating 400+ tables with components takes way too long. Only way to cut back on the load time was to use complicated not-so compliant javascript to only display some of the XML data at a time. But, if i'm going to use javascript, i might as well do everything in javascript, be compliant, and ditch the XML to make it easier on myself.

Anyway..i guess 80% of you didn't understand a word of this and are just interested in the tool, so...

The good stuff
Step 1: Unzip the contents of this zip file in your mod directory (the same directory that contains the Data directory). It will create a new directory called 'se4html'
Step 2: In this new directory you'll find 'se4html.exe', run that anytime you want to convert your data files to javascript. When it's done it will create a new file 'se4data.js'.
Step 3: You can now open 'se4data.html' in your browser and see the result (with pictures if you have them in your mod dir)

* The program does not alter your mod files in anyway.
* Currently it only reads/converts TechAreas.txt, Components.txt, Facilities.txt and Vehicles.txt
* To have pictues you need the Components and Facilities folder in your Pictures dir as well.
* It has been tested on vanilla SE4 Gold (latest patch), TDM 3.4 and the Adamant mod...it is possible that other mods contain certain unknown elements that causes the program to malfunction, the result will be that 'se4data.js' will contain errors, which in turn causes the html page to not function properly...if you're a web developer/programmer type person, you'll probably know how to track down the error/anomaly in your mod files...if not, then yeah, not much you can do except report it here along with unusual/non-standard things you put in your mod files.


[edit]
Current Version: 0.3
Added: Engines Per Move in Vechicles section
Fixed: Requirement Must Have Bridge wasn't applied correctly
Fixed: Empty ablity descriptions replaced by ability type and values

Ed Kolis June 21st, 2005 01:48 PM

Re: [Tool] SE4 text to html/javascript
 
Spiffy! http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/smilies/laugh.gif
I know Fyron did something like this once, but it only worked for the components... looks like you've got everything but the kitchen sink!

Fyron June 21st, 2005 02:21 PM

Re: [Tool] SE4 text to html/javascript
 
Nice work! Any particular reason why you have chosen to hide the source files?

Lemmy June 21st, 2005 02:44 PM

Re: [Tool] SE4 text to html/javascript
 
No particular reason, you can download it seperately here (v0.2) if interested

Lemmy June 21st, 2005 03:28 PM

Re: [Tool] SE4 text to html/javascript
 
Ok, minor problem, i was under the impression that multiple components (and facilities/vehicles) could not have the same name...i was wrong.
As it is now only the last component with a specific name will read, all others will be ignored...but i'm working on fixing that.

Mephisto June 21st, 2005 04:12 PM

Re: [Tool] SE4 text to html/javascript
 
Mm, nice!

narf poit chez BOOM June 21st, 2005 04:54 PM

Re: [Tool] SE4 text to html/javascript
 
I like it. Makes for easy browsing.

Lemmy June 21st, 2005 06:33 PM

Re: [Tool] SE4 text to html/javascript
 
Quote:

Lemmy said:
Ok, minor problem, i was under the impression that multiple components (and facilities/vehicles) could not have the same name...i was wrong.
As it is now only the last component with a specific name will read, all others will be ignored...but i'm working on fixing that.

That's fixed now, and the new version (0.2) is uploaded.

Suicide Junkie June 21st, 2005 08:08 PM

Re: [Tool] SE4 text to html/javascript
 
Oooh! Shiny new toys!
---

Some points I see just playing with it:

- Engines per move would be a valuable statistic in the vehicles section for many mods.

- Why do the entries for vehicles:mines in the demo there say "must have 1 computer core"?

- Tech level zero in the techlist seems pointless, since you can never have tech level "minus one", and thusly, a requirement of level zero is not a requirement at all.

- As you can see in the entry for Stock Ion Engines, abilities with a null description should not have a point for the blank ability.

I'm also wondering if this thing handles infinite range missiles with their 21st damage-at-range value?

---

Oop. Won't run. Got an mscoree.dll to go with it?

Fyron June 22nd, 2005 03:06 AM

Re: [Tool] SE4 text to html/javascript
 
Description-less abilities still need to be indicated somehow though. Perhaps a list of the abilities themselves in addition to the description boxes?

Lemmy June 22nd, 2005 04:52 AM

Re: [Tool] SE4 text to html/javascript
 
Updated! Current version 0.3.

- Engines per move would be a valuable statistic in the vehicles section for many mods.
Added.

- Why do the entries for vehicles:mines in the demo there say "must have 1 computer core"?
Eh, error 'must have bridge' requirement wasn't checked properly, fixed now.

- Tech level zero in the techlist seems pointless, since you can never have tech level "minus one", and thusly, a requirement of level zero is not a requirement at all.
I didn't have it initially either, but I saw a level 0 tech requirement in the Adamant mod, and the game seems to allow it...so i added it...i suppose i could hide it if it offers nothing new. I assume a level 0 requirement means it becomes available as soon as the required techarea becomes available.

- As you can see in the entry for Stock Ion Engines, abilities with a null description should not have a point for the blank ability.
Description-less abilities still need to be indicated somehow though. Perhaps a list of the abilities themselves in addition to the description boxes?
The latter is what i had intended, but only did it for vehicles, and forgot to do it for facilities and components as well. Fixed now.

I'm also wondering if this thing handles infinite range missiles with their 21st damage-at-range value?
The program would read it, and convert it as well, but the page will only display the first 20. Any suggestions on how to display it?

Oop. Won't run. Got an mscoree.dll to go with it?
Hmm, i found one and uploaded it here. Let me know if it works and where it needs to be placed and i'll include it in the zip file as well.

Suicide Junkie June 22nd, 2005 07:32 AM

Re: [Tool] SE4 text to html/javascript
 
Quote:

Imperator Fyron said:
Description-less abilities still need to be indicated somehow though. Perhaps a list of the abilities themselves in addition to the description boxes?

Except that what is being displayed is the ability descriptions provided in the modfiles.

The primary reason why you would add a blank ability description is if it dosen't matter to the user.
Like with Leaky Shields. You need 2 or more abilities to implement leaky shields, but only one description: "Generates 10 leaky shield points"

I don't think you want to mess with mixing the descriptions and the underlying abilities. It will just confuse people.
One OR the other. Maybe let the user choose which, but definitely not both at the same time.

---

A level zero tech requirement is not a requriement at all.
As I mentioned, you cannot have tech level -1.
Every race starts with a minimum of tech level zero in everything, even racial techs.

Being able to research the area means nothing; it is entirely possible to *steal* tech levels in an area without being able to research that tech. EG: You can indeed steal and build cloaking devices without having any research into physics.

---

Hmm, i found one and uploaded it here. Let me know if it works and where it needs to be placed and i'll include it in the zip file as well.
Err... Found one?
Hopefully from somewhere reputable? The reason I asked here, is that I don't really trust any of those DLL download sites.

---

I'm also wondering if this thing handles infinite range missiles with their 21st damage-at-range value?
The program would read it, and convert it as well, but the page will only display the first 20. Any suggestions on how to display it?
If it is a "seeker" AND has a 21st damage value, AND none of the other values are zero...
Then add a little text entry below the damage-at-range chart saying "Infinite Range: ## damage" or somesuch.

Lemmy June 22nd, 2005 10:10 AM

Re: [Tool] SE4 text to html/javascript
 
I got the dll from my own computer, i don't know how if that counts as reputable. :p
But then, i don't know how it got on my C drive in the first place. http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/smilies/wink.gif

I'll have to think about the ability description, i think from a modder point of view you'd like to see all abilities, regardless of descriptions.

The infinite range bit will be included in the next update.

Swarm June 22nd, 2005 10:58 AM

missing file
 
Looks good - but the download zip is missing se4pedia.js. When I fetch that from your site and add it manually, it works perfectly - seems to be fine for DevNullModGold and Proportions.

Good stuff!

Suicide Junkie June 22nd, 2005 12:08 PM

Re: [Tool] SE4 text to html/javascript
 
Quote:

Lemmy said:
I got the dll from my own computer, i don't know how if that counts as reputable. :p
But then, i don't know how it got on my C drive in the first place. http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/smilies/wink.gif

I'll have to think about the ability description, i think from a modder point of view you'd like to see all abilities, regardless of descriptions.

Reputable enough for me. Probably installed with your compiler and stuff http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/smilies/laugh.gif

As for the ability thing, that's just it, there. You either want to see the RAW abilities, or the modded descriptions. Not parts of both.

Fyron June 22nd, 2005 01:03 PM

Re: [Tool] SE4 text to html/javascript
 
Lemmy said:
I didn't have it initially either, but I saw a level 0 tech requirement in the Adamant mod, and the game seems to allow it...


That is only because it is easier to fiddle with the tech level reqs if the tech area info is left in there. Adamant is a beta, afterall. http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/image...ies/stupid.gif A req of 0 is not a req at all.

SuicideJunkie said:
I don't think you want to mess with mixing the descriptions and the underlying abilities. It will just confuse people.
One OR the other. Maybe let the user choose which, but definitely not both at the same time.


No more so than looking at the data files would.

Suicide Junkie June 22nd, 2005 02:11 PM

Re: [Tool] SE4 text to html/javascript
 
Sorry, I was unclear...

Seeing both the ability/values AND the descriptions at the same time for all the entries would make sense, although it would be a bit large.

Putting some only-description and some only-ability/value entries in the display would just be confusing.

Lemmy June 26th, 2005 08:18 PM

Re: [Tool] SE4 text to html/javascript
 
updated it again, same links as first post, demo is also updated to 0.4.

0.4:
Changed: Abilities without a description aren't shown
Changed: Tech level 0 is no longer shown
Added: Infinite range value for Seeking type weapons
Added: History with back and forward links

Fyron June 28th, 2005 09:17 PM

Re: [Tool] SE4 text to html/javascript
 
You need an "Image Mod" option that looks in the stock Pictures folder rather than the mod's pictures folder. Also, some way to change the file format it is looking for (just changing the extension) would be handy for use on web sites.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.