![]() |
Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
1 Attachment(s)
As many of you will have read, the latest update to dom3 changed the weapon and armor modding commands in a way that broke some mods - any, in fact, which change the weapons or armor of existing units.
I've checked all the mods which any existing game on the LlamaServer uses, and fixed them all (using a script, would have taken a very long time by hand!). I'm taking the very unusual step of changing the mods on the LlamaServer, which means that all players also need to update their copies of the mods. The attached zip file contains fixed versions of all affected mods. I strongly suggest you only extract those mods you're actually using, otherwise you will get a big clutter of old versions of CBM and other random mods in your mod list. |
Re: Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
The affected mods are:
ANDalusianV02.dm Blessed.dm carne_adovada.dm CB1.71.dm CB1.82.dm CB1.83.dm CB1.84.dm CB1.84_weaker_egd.dm CB1.84_wote.dm CBcomplete_1.41.dm CBcomplete_1.6.dm CoqOfTheRock.dm Exalted.dm Expanded_Nations_1_v1_02.dm heroes1_8.dm Innovation.dm Momentum3.dm uwgim0.94+cbm1.6.dm WarhammerWorld.dm |
Re: Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
It's not said nearly enough, but you rock!
Even if you aren't french. ;) |
Re: Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
awesome!
|
Re: Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
England, France, the Norman conquest - close enough I say ;-)
Great work llamabeast, many thanks :-D |
Re: Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
You rock!
|
Re: Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
Thank you, llamabeast. Your work for the Dominions community is invaluable, as always.
:) |
Re: Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
Great work. Would care to release the script? (Or did I miss a post about that somewhere?).
|
Re: Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
No, you didn't. It's not yet in the public.
A word of warning, though: The #weapon and #armor fix does not fix modded sites. Apparently the site modding mechanics also changed in this patch and now any modification of any attribute of a site (inherent mandatory property or effect attribute) resets the site to nothing, so all modded sites must be rebuilt from the ground up, or at least their effect attributes (gems, gold, recruitables etc) must be. This means that any mods that alter sites must be fixed by hand in those respects. |
Re: Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
Llama, You are a god amongst even-toed quadrupedal mamals. Your stride is sure footed on the steepest mountain paths, Your symetrical shoulders can cary weights of well above 1/3 Your body weight. Your wool is naturally watertight and allows for the manufacturing of the finest poncho's anyone should be honored to wear, while Your outer guard hairs are perfect for lead ropes that will not lead the follower astray. Even the range and accuracy of Your spittle is such that even the nimblest unbelievers are powerless to avoid it, but anyone in the know will be happy to accept the precious gift, for it is as ambrosia to the senses.
Or, you know: Thank you for all the work you do for us. But I like my first paragraph better. |
Re: Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
Awesome, thanks Amhazair. :)
Yeah, sites are also broken and I have not fixed them. The only one really affected is the Whispering Woods, which no longer gives you anything. |
Re: Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
This is the perl script I used to fix the mods:
#!/usr/bin/perl use strict; my $inMonster; my $alreadySeenWeapon; my $alreadySeenArmor; while (<>) { if (/#selectmonster/) { $inMonster = 1; } if (/#end/) { $inMonster = 0; $alreadySeenWeapon = 0; $alreadySeenArmor = 0; } if (/#weapon/) { if (($inMonster) and not ($alreadySeenWeapon)) { $alreadySeenWeapon = 1; print "#clearweapons\n"; } } if (/#armor/) { if (($inMonster) and not ($alreadySeenArmor)) { $alreadySeenArmor = 1; print "#cleararmor\n"; } } print; } |
Re: Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
Hmm, the forum eats whitespace apparently. Sorry it's not tabbed - not that it really matters.
|
Re: Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
Note that you still need all the mod image files for this fix to work on a clean install. They are only fixes, not the full mods.
|
Re: Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
I just started a game as EA Ulm against AI with CBM1.6 enabled (from this zip-file).
The only weapon my archers have are daggers, when they are supposed to have short swords and short bows. (Archers without bows suck :-) ) |
Re: Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
Oh dear. I will look into that.
|
Re: Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
Great job!
I tried Marverni with the fixed cbm 1.84 Eponi Knight: 2 broadswords 2 javelins and the hoof Eponi Chieftain: same as above Boar lord: Axe and Druid blessed axe - they have also shield so it doesn't really make sense. Are these already known bugs? |
Re: Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
Nope. But in my install I do not see those problems. So the problem is on your end I think.
|
Re: Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
Yep.. I reinstalled the whole game and patched. It works!
|
Re: Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
You know, finding mods for Dominions 3 is a real pain in the neck. You have to basically scour the earth high and low AND know that you NEED to do this in order to find the correct mods.
For example, on llamaserver.net, the mod list gives a link to CBM 1.84, but there is absolutely no link to this thread with the fixed mods. The thread is also NOT stickied, and is buried deep in the forums. How is anybody supposed to find it, or know that it exists and that they NEED to download these fixes? You should remove all of the invalid mods from the mod list, and reorganize them, or does the llamaserver automatically calculate the turns with the new correct mod? I am currently in a game that is using the 1.84 version of CBM. How am I supposed to know that everyone is using the correct updated version for 3.27? What will happen if they are not? This is all rather confusing and disorganized... Old obsolete links should be cleaned up and removed, and mods repackaged into new ZIP files with the correct updated files. As it currently stands, the thread for CBM 1.84 that is dated March 2011, which everyone CAN see is the wrong version, and NOBODY should be downloading JUST it! They should be downloading it, and this little package as well. |
Re: Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
Well you could ask mods, or the starter of the topic (who can edit the first post in the thread) to get links up to the correct versions.
Or start your own update of the mod list. |
Re: Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
Talrivian: You're quite right about the patched-1.84 situation, it is indeed ridiculous. I have been away a lot lately, but I will fix it when I get a chance and annihilate any reference to the broken version.
It's not a typical situation though - having different mods with the same version number is clearly an abomination, it's just that dom3 broke the old versions (that hasn't happened before). |
Re: Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
I am sorry about my previous post, it was written in a late night rage, and I am currently stressed out because I am moving into a new apartment.
My main point was just that llamaserver.net is a focal point for the community, and that it should be more organized in order to help maintain an organized and healthy environment for noobies. I appreciate everything you do Llamabeast. |
Re: Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
No need to apologise Talrivian, you're quite right!
The mod links from the llamaserver seemed like a good idea at the time, but they are inherently not community-maintainable. I think I should just go through and clean them out. |
Re: Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
Quote:
But could you change the links field so that it allows any URL to be entered rather than assuming the mod is posted on Shrapnel? |
Re: Mods fixed for Dominions v3.27
Yeah, I think I should do that. It was meant to be an anti-spam feature.
|
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:31 PM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.