.com.unity Forums

.com.unity Forums (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/index.php)
-   Space Empires: IV & V (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Secondary Movement Strategy question (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=10514)

BBegemott October 10th, 2003 06:15 PM

Secondary Movement Strategy question
 
*TEST GAME

I have designed Destroyer with 1 Boarding Party V and 3 Explosive Warheads III. Primary movement strategy of Destroyer is set to 'Board Enemy Ships' and secondary on 'Kamikaze'. The idea is to capture non-shielded ships, if there are no available, then ram. I build 3 Destroyers and move them to guard the warp point.

Situation 1:
The enemy Escort1 with Phased Shields V & APB XIII warps in.
Result: 3 Destroyers are dead.

Situation 2:
The enemy Escort1 with Phased Shields V & APB XIII
and Escort2 with APB XIII & 2 PDC (no shields) warps in.
Result: Escort2 is taken, Escort1 is dead, one Destroyer is dead (2 Destroyers remaining).

This seems quite odd as in 2nd situation enemy had one extra ship and lost the battle.
In 1st situation all 3 destroyers attempt to capture Escort1, but as it has shields, they fail and become an easy target.
In 2nd situation Escort2 is captured; Escort1 shots and only then is rammed by the Destroyer, which captured Escort2 and has no Boarding Parties remaining.

It means Secondary movement strategy works out only if the primary weapons are not available(destroyed)? Isn't it a bug? It seems not logic at all.

P.S. Searched the FAQ, but couldn't find anything about secondary movement.

spoon October 10th, 2003 06:31 PM

Re: Secondary Movement Strategy question
 
Try switching the order of Boarding Parties and Warheads in your destroyer designs and see if that makes a difference. It shouldnt... but you never know...

BBegemott October 10th, 2003 07:14 PM

Re: Secondary Movement Strategy question
 
Quote:

Originally posted by spoon:
Try switching the order of Boarding Parties and Warheads in your destroyer designs and see if that makes a difference. It shouldnt... but you never know...
<font size="2" face="sans-serif, arial, verdana">Nope, no changes. Ships cannot ram unless they captured a ship previously or got their boarding party component destroyed.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:36 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.