.com.unity Forums

.com.unity Forums (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/index.php)
-   TO&Es (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=108)
-   -   Loss of HQs (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=41871)

Imp January 7th, 2009 05:11 PM

Loss of HQs
 
Sorry probably in manual but could not find.
Apart from loss of his rally ability does elimination of HQ have any other effect like a morale hit.
If I see him always becomes a priority target as think yes.
Thanks

Wdll January 7th, 2009 07:52 PM

Re: Loss of HQs
 
I think someone said that if you lose your HQ in a campaign then you lose the war or the battle. Or perhaps I don't remember correctly.

Mobhack January 7th, 2009 10:02 PM

Re: Loss of HQs
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Wdll (Post 664891)
I think someone said that if you lose your HQ in a campaign then you lose the war or the battle. Or perhaps I don't remember correctly.

Loss of battle group HQ ends a campaign at that game, bar the PBEM campaign.

Loss of a platoon HQ etc is treated as a normal kill, bar loss of the rally ability. Leader replacement happens in the campaign upgrade from one of the survivors or the first unit replaced/repaired (probably) on a total wipe-out.

Cheers
Andy

iCaMpWiThAWP January 7th, 2009 10:37 PM

Re: Loss of HQs
 
but is there any effect on a battle other than the loss of rally ability?

Mobhack January 7th, 2009 11:52 PM

Re: Loss of HQs
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by iCaMpWiThAWP (Post 664920)
but is there any effect on a battle other than the loss of rally ability?

Since I already stated that it is a regular kill, then "no" would usually be the operative effect. Losing your platoon/coy HQ element will result in the usual suppression for a nearby friend killed is all.

SP is based on the USA hex-based paper map and counter games of the 80s which were all about individual counters with "panic rules" where only the current state of that single element was looked at (mainly fire effects). Like SSI's "sniper" say. It is slightly less simplistic than these hex-shuffling games, but not by much, really. Morale is based on suppression, which is tested for on fire events on individual elements, and not as a mix of instant events and a formation-based morale test at end turn. SP has no real concept of formation cohesion, bar simplistic keeping in HQ command radius for rallies, like these paper hex-based counter games of the times.

It is not based on normal British tabletop 1/300 games rule sets of the era (WRG, Challenger, Firefly etc) which had formation-based morale rules that took account of "HQ dead -2" and ">1/3 of this platoon is killed/neutralised/out of command control -1" etc.

SP really only has a "force broken" result if you kill/rout enough of the total force. There is no way other than affecting all the individuals concerned, to get an individual platoon or coy to have a formation retrograde result and hence be taken out of the battle even if temporarily. If 4 out of 5 of BB platoon decide to head for the hills in SP, then BB5 will relatively happily fight on heroically all on his own (bar lost rallies). In a normal 1/300 tabletop game then BB platoon would generally fail the platoons morale test and all be offski, and the fact they are now offski may then affect B coy's morale test itself (maybe a temporary halt result for 1/3 sub-formations in retreat), which may cascade to the Bn result too.

If I were to rewrite a new game from scratch, I would not bother to look at Panzerblitz/Sniper/Squad leader hex-based heritage, but start with a re-reading of the WRG and TTG tabletop rule sets, "A Fistfull of TOWS", etc.


Cheers
Andy

Imp January 8th, 2009 02:36 AM

Re: Loss of HQs
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mobhack (Post 664912)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Wdll (Post 664891)
I think someone said that if you lose your HQ in a campaign then you lose the war or the battle. Or perhaps I don't remember correctly.

Loss of battle group HQ ends a campaign at that game, bar the PBEM campaign.

Loss of a platoon HQ etc is treated as a normal kill, bar loss of the rally ability. Leader replacement happens in the campaign upgrade from one of the survivors or the first unit replaced/repaired (probably) on a total wipe-out.

Cheers
Andy

Sorry just to clarify I was talking about battle group HQ
To clarify in a battle not campaign loss is no worse than losing a platoon HQ unit

Mobhack January 8th, 2009 02:50 AM

Re: Loss of HQs
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Imp (Post 664972)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mobhack (Post 664912)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Wdll (Post 664891)
I think someone said that if you lose your HQ in a campaign then you lose the war or the battle. Or perhaps I don't remember correctly.

Loss of battle group HQ ends a campaign at that game, bar the PBEM campaign.

Loss of a platoon HQ etc is treated as a normal kill, bar loss of the rally ability. Leader replacement happens in the campaign upgrade from one of the survivors or the first unit replaced/repaired (probably) on a total wipe-out.

Cheers
Andy

Sorry just to clarify I was talking about battle group HQ
To clarify in a battle not campaign loss is no worse than losing a platoon HQ unit

Nothing special in a stand-alone battle, other than if you have no FOOs then you lose its "almost a" FOO status and its potential rally effect.

Andy


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:40 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.