.com.unity Forums

.com.unity Forums (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/index.php)
-   Scenarios, Maps and Mods (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=146)
-   -   Debugging: Bad Armor (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=44383)

Ghill November 22nd, 2009 11:35 PM

Debugging: Bad Armor
 
AAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGG!!!

I was working on a mod, finished it, and am trying to create a game using it. Every time I try, it says "bad armor for new monster". I began deconstructing the mod to find out what was wrong. I gave up after I had removed all armor I had created, all armor added to any unit, and all but three units from the mod, and was still getting a "bad armor for new monster" crash.

What can cause that other then "bad armor"?

[I would include the file, but it doesn't want to upload...]

Ghill November 22nd, 2009 11:46 PM

Re: Debugging: Bad Armor
 
1 Attachment(s)
HERE is the code.

Thilock_Dominus November 23rd, 2009 01:10 AM

Re: Debugging: Bad Armor
 
Maybe this:

Code:

#newmonster 2505 --
#name "Owwun Battle Champion"
#spr1 "./Ghill Mod/Owwun Warrior [1].tga"
#spr2 "./Ghill Mod/Owwun Warrior [2].tga"
#size 4
#str 17
#hp 30
#mor 16
#eyes 3
#ap 8
#mapmove 2
#reinvigoration 2
#maxage 30
#descr "Owwun Battle Champions are the biggest, strongest, and most successful of the Owwun."
#att 13
#def 14
#itemslots 15518
#armor 352 --Ceramic great shield
#armor 353 --Ceramic full plate
#weapon 704 --Heavy slasher
#weapon 705 --Disk blade
#weapon 14 --Maul
#ambidextrous
#poorleader
#gcost 100
#end

Are you sure that itemslots# are correct?

Stavis_L November 23rd, 2009 11:42 AM

Re: Debugging: Bad Armor
 
To expand on Thilock_Dominus' comment:

The problem may not be with the armor per se, but with the assignment of the armor to the unit (i.e. a slots problem.)

15518
4 hand --> 30
1 head --> 128
1 body --> 1024
1 foot --> 2048
2 misc --> 12288

So: 1 head, 1 body, 1 foot, 4 hands, 2 misc

Total of 9 slots (vs. 7 "normal"). Not sure, but I think this is greater than max number of slots assigned to any vanilla unit, and might be your problem. All the 4 handed units in the base game have only 1 misc slot. Try cutting out one of the other slots to see if it resolves the issue.

Also, note that in your "Monsters" comment section (beginning line 154) you might want to take out all of the "#" symbols. I'm not sure how the parser is supposed to handle comments, but in practice, I find that it frequently will try to parse it even if the mod command does not begin the line.

Illuminated One November 23rd, 2009 12:01 PM

Re: Debugging: Bad Armor
 
I had the same problem - replacing the numbers with strings

i.e. #armor "Ceramic great shield" instead of #armor 352

fixed it.

Stavis_L November 23rd, 2009 01:49 PM

Re: Debugging: Bad Armor
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Illuminated One (Post 719312)
I had the same problem - replacing the numbers with strings

i.e. #armor "Ceramic great shield" instead of #armor 352

fixed it.

++ Good call. Didn't even notice, but the #armor command does not accept armor numbers as arguments (see section 10.14 of the modding manual.) That's almost certainly the issue (though I'd still have reservations re: the slots.)

Ghill November 23rd, 2009 07:01 PM

Re: Debugging: Bad Armor
 
It works now! Thanks guys!


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.