.com.unity Forums

.com.unity Forums (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/index.php)
-   Space Empires: IV & V (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Infantry (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=4724)

CombatSquirrel December 4th, 2001 03:40 PM

Infantry
 
I haven't seen anything definate about Infantry from the community, so here is what is currently working nicely for me:


VehicleSize.txt


Name := Infantry Unit
Short Name := Infantry
Description := Foot soldiers of your race.
Code := CM
Bitmap Name := TroopSmall (this will change later to conform with Neostandards)
Vehicle Type := Troop
Tonnage := 5
Cost Minerals := 45
Cost Organics := 15
Cost Radioactives := 0
Engines Per Move := 0
Number of Tech Req := 1
Tech Area Req 1 := Military Science
Tech Level Req 1 := 1
Number of Abilities := 0
Requirement Must Have Bridge := False
Requirement Can Have Aux Con := False
Requirement Min Life Support := 1
Requirement Min Crew Quarters := 0
Requirement Uses Engines := False
Requirement Max Engines := 0
Requirement Pct Fighter Bays := 0
Requirement Pct Colony Mods := 0
Requirement Pct Cargo := 0
Launched from Ship := False
Launched from Planet := False


Components.Txt:

Name := Infantry Hostile Environment Gear
Description := Artificial means that allow infantry to work and fight in hostile environments.
Pic Num := 4 (need a better picture)
Tonnage Space Taken := 1
Tonnage Structure := 1
Cost Minerals := 5
Cost Organics := 5
Cost Radioactives := 5
Vehicle Type := Troop
Supply Amount Used := 0
Restrictions := None
General Group := Vehicle Control
Family := 501 (Yours may need to be different)
Roman Numeral := 0
Custom Group := 0
Number of Tech Req := 1
Tech Area Req 1 := Biology (works well with no tech requirement also)
Tech Level Req 1 := 1
Number of Abilities := 1
Ability 1 Type := Ship Life Support
Ability 1 Descr := Life Support for an Infantry Troop.
Ability 1 Val 1 := 0
Ability 1 Val 2 := 0
Weapon Type := None


CompEnhancement.txt


Long Name := Infantry Beam Mount
Short Name := I.B. Mount
Description := Smaller Beam weapons can usually be made into rifle- or bazooka-sized units more suitable for infantry.
Code := IB
Cost Percent := 80
Tonnage Percent := 66
Tonnage Structure Percent := 50
Damage Percent := 50
Supply Percent := 100
Range Modifier := 0 (I've also tried -1)
Weapon To Hit Modifier := -5
Vehicle Size Minimum := 3
Weapon Type Requirement := Direct Fire
Vehicle Type := Troop

Long Name := Infantry Seeker Mount
Short Name := I.S. Mount
Description := Smaller Seeker weapons can usually be made into rifle- or bazooka-sized units more suitable for infantry.
Code := IS
Cost Percent := 80
Tonnage Percent := 66
Tonnage Structure Percent := 50
Damage Percent := 50
Supply Percent := 100
Range Modifier := -1
Weapon To Hit Modifier := 0
Vehicle Size Minimum := 3
Weapon Type Requirement := Seeking
Vehicle Type := Troop

Long Name := Normal Troop Mount Beam
Short Name := Norm Trp Mt
Description := Normal sized mount for A.I.
Code := NTB
Cost Percent := 100
Tonnage Percent := 100
Tonnage Structure Percent := 100
Damage Percent := 100
Supply Percent := 100
Range Modifier := 0
Weapon To Hit Modifier := 0
Vehicle Size Minimum := 9
Weapon Type Requirement := Direct Fire
Vehicle Type := Troop

Long Name := Normal Troop Mount Seeker
Short Name := Norm Trp Mt
Description := Normal sized mount for A.I.
Code := NTS
Cost Percent := 100
Tonnage Percent := 100
Tonnage Structure Percent := 100
Damage Percent := 100
Supply Percent := 100
Range Modifier := 0
Weapon To Hit Modifier := 0
Vehicle Size Minimum := 9
Weapon Type Requirement := Seeking
Vehicle Type := Troop

Anyway this has been alot of fun for me. Not too cheap, not too tough...

CombatSquirrel

dogscoff December 4th, 2001 03:50 PM

Re: Infantry
 
Nice... I like the way you use mounts rather than specialised components. Tidy.

The neo-standard filname is "TroopInfantry". There are at least 3 shipsets which support it already. Go have a look at the neo thread, this whole SEIV Gold thing has shaken things up a little. (In a good way=-)

CombatSquirrel December 5th, 2001 01:39 AM

Re: Infantry
 
This seemed about right to me. It allows a unit with a weapon, and maybe have enough space left over for a single armor, or combat sensor.

Does anyone else have a better fit? I'd love to use it if so.


CombatSquirrel

Noble713 December 5th, 2001 09:20 AM

Re: Infantry
 
What I did instead was turn the 3 troop sizes into operational units (battalion, regiment, and division). Components then become individual companies, or squadrons/wings of aircraft. For example, a 10kT Light Infantry Battalion might have:

1 Command HQ (cockpit)
3 Light Infantry Companies


while a 30kT Assault Regiment might have

1 Command HQ
2 Heavy Armor Companies
2 Medium Armor Companies
5 Heavy Infantry Companies.

Val December 5th, 2001 03:51 PM

Re: Infantry
 
I worked out some Infantry for the B5 Mod when talk began in the Non-Standard Hulls thread and had come up with something along similiar lines.

I broke Infantry into 3 classes (light, standard & heavy) and 2 matching "cockpits" (1 & 2 ton) and a 1 ton armor (so you could make up to 5 different infantry types). I had also used mounts, but not to the same effect as you and hadn't even started on the AI side of things. After looking at yours I was rethinking the way I set them up and may go all for multiple mount types and only 1 class of Infantry.

Some other ideas I had were: making the mounts various degrees of training/arming (Militia/Garrison/Standard/Elite/SpecOps) and also bioengineered troops (for the Gaim race in B5).

[ 05 December 2001: Message edited by: Val ]</p>

Andrés December 5th, 2001 04:31 PM

Re: Infantry
 
I had made 1kt and 2 kt infantry, without bridge and without life support.
I had made special tiny weapons but the weapon mount looks like a good idea, I'll have to try it.

Growltigga December 5th, 2001 06:31 PM

Re: Infantry
 
I really like the idea of allocating the troop units to battalion, regiment and divisional size units.

Can this be done on the basic SEIV (with 1.49 patch)? I havn't seen the relevant button but is there any way, like fleets, that you can create an army and allocate troops to it? eg click on army button, add in 150 small troops and call the whole thing '1st Marine Division' or whatever takes your fancy?

All replies gratefully accepted.

Regards

CombatSquirrel December 7th, 2001 10:30 AM

Re: Infantry
 
GrowlTigga:

There is no way in basic 1.49 to "bundle" up troops like you describe, except (temporarily) inside a transport or on a planet.

Val:
[Q]Some other ideas I had were: making the mounts various degrees of training/arming (Militia/Garrison/Standard/Elite/SpecOps) [/q]

I had never thought of using mounts to simulate superior training or "special" forces... that gives me alot of new ideas...

Noble713:

That's just darn sharp. And you could, or course, design the troops with the proper mix and type of specific companies for specific missions. Clever.

CombatSquirrel

Val December 7th, 2001 05:44 PM

Re: Infantry
 
<blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><hr>CombatSquirrel
I had never thought of using mounts to simulate superior training or "special" forces... that gives me alot of new ideas...<hr></blockquote>

Can't wait to hear the results http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/icon7.gif

Noble713:

That's a really cool idea! What values did you set for the various 'units'? How many different components did you wind up with?

Shyrka December 7th, 2001 05:51 PM

Re: Infantry
 
I think that some races should not be able to use infantry. How a gas-giant born soldier will fight in a rock plante? His body is designed to "float" in the atmosphere. http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/image...s/confused.gif


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.