![]() |
Infantry
I haven't seen anything definate about Infantry from the community, so here is what is currently working nicely for me:
VehicleSize.txt Name := Infantry Unit Short Name := Infantry Description := Foot soldiers of your race. Code := CM Bitmap Name := TroopSmall (this will change later to conform with Neostandards) Vehicle Type := Troop Tonnage := 5 Cost Minerals := 45 Cost Organics := 15 Cost Radioactives := 0 Engines Per Move := 0 Number of Tech Req := 1 Tech Area Req 1 := Military Science Tech Level Req 1 := 1 Number of Abilities := 0 Requirement Must Have Bridge := False Requirement Can Have Aux Con := False Requirement Min Life Support := 1 Requirement Min Crew Quarters := 0 Requirement Uses Engines := False Requirement Max Engines := 0 Requirement Pct Fighter Bays := 0 Requirement Pct Colony Mods := 0 Requirement Pct Cargo := 0 Launched from Ship := False Launched from Planet := False Components.Txt: Name := Infantry Hostile Environment Gear Description := Artificial means that allow infantry to work and fight in hostile environments. Pic Num := 4 (need a better picture) Tonnage Space Taken := 1 Tonnage Structure := 1 Cost Minerals := 5 Cost Organics := 5 Cost Radioactives := 5 Vehicle Type := Troop Supply Amount Used := 0 Restrictions := None General Group := Vehicle Control Family := 501 (Yours may need to be different) Roman Numeral := 0 Custom Group := 0 Number of Tech Req := 1 Tech Area Req 1 := Biology (works well with no tech requirement also) Tech Level Req 1 := 1 Number of Abilities := 1 Ability 1 Type := Ship Life Support Ability 1 Descr := Life Support for an Infantry Troop. Ability 1 Val 1 := 0 Ability 1 Val 2 := 0 Weapon Type := None CompEnhancement.txt Long Name := Infantry Beam Mount Short Name := I.B. Mount Description := Smaller Beam weapons can usually be made into rifle- or bazooka-sized units more suitable for infantry. Code := IB Cost Percent := 80 Tonnage Percent := 66 Tonnage Structure Percent := 50 Damage Percent := 50 Supply Percent := 100 Range Modifier := 0 (I've also tried -1) Weapon To Hit Modifier := -5 Vehicle Size Minimum := 3 Weapon Type Requirement := Direct Fire Vehicle Type := Troop Long Name := Infantry Seeker Mount Short Name := I.S. Mount Description := Smaller Seeker weapons can usually be made into rifle- or bazooka-sized units more suitable for infantry. Code := IS Cost Percent := 80 Tonnage Percent := 66 Tonnage Structure Percent := 50 Damage Percent := 50 Supply Percent := 100 Range Modifier := -1 Weapon To Hit Modifier := 0 Vehicle Size Minimum := 3 Weapon Type Requirement := Seeking Vehicle Type := Troop Long Name := Normal Troop Mount Beam Short Name := Norm Trp Mt Description := Normal sized mount for A.I. Code := NTB Cost Percent := 100 Tonnage Percent := 100 Tonnage Structure Percent := 100 Damage Percent := 100 Supply Percent := 100 Range Modifier := 0 Weapon To Hit Modifier := 0 Vehicle Size Minimum := 9 Weapon Type Requirement := Direct Fire Vehicle Type := Troop Long Name := Normal Troop Mount Seeker Short Name := Norm Trp Mt Description := Normal sized mount for A.I. Code := NTS Cost Percent := 100 Tonnage Percent := 100 Tonnage Structure Percent := 100 Damage Percent := 100 Supply Percent := 100 Range Modifier := 0 Weapon To Hit Modifier := 0 Vehicle Size Minimum := 9 Weapon Type Requirement := Seeking Vehicle Type := Troop Anyway this has been alot of fun for me. Not too cheap, not too tough... CombatSquirrel |
Re: Infantry
Nice... I like the way you use mounts rather than specialised components. Tidy.
The neo-standard filname is "TroopInfantry". There are at least 3 shipsets which support it already. Go have a look at the neo thread, this whole SEIV Gold thing has shaken things up a little. (In a good way=-) |
Re: Infantry
This seemed about right to me. It allows a unit with a weapon, and maybe have enough space left over for a single armor, or combat sensor.
Does anyone else have a better fit? I'd love to use it if so. CombatSquirrel |
Re: Infantry
What I did instead was turn the 3 troop sizes into operational units (battalion, regiment, and division). Components then become individual companies, or squadrons/wings of aircraft. For example, a 10kT Light Infantry Battalion might have:
1 Command HQ (cockpit) 3 Light Infantry Companies while a 30kT Assault Regiment might have 1 Command HQ 2 Heavy Armor Companies 2 Medium Armor Companies 5 Heavy Infantry Companies. |
Re: Infantry
I worked out some Infantry for the B5 Mod when talk began in the Non-Standard Hulls thread and had come up with something along similiar lines.
I broke Infantry into 3 classes (light, standard & heavy) and 2 matching "cockpits" (1 & 2 ton) and a 1 ton armor (so you could make up to 5 different infantry types). I had also used mounts, but not to the same effect as you and hadn't even started on the AI side of things. After looking at yours I was rethinking the way I set them up and may go all for multiple mount types and only 1 class of Infantry. Some other ideas I had were: making the mounts various degrees of training/arming (Militia/Garrison/Standard/Elite/SpecOps) and also bioengineered troops (for the Gaim race in B5). [ 05 December 2001: Message edited by: Val ]</p> |
Re: Infantry
I had made 1kt and 2 kt infantry, without bridge and without life support.
I had made special tiny weapons but the weapon mount looks like a good idea, I'll have to try it. |
Re: Infantry
I really like the idea of allocating the troop units to battalion, regiment and divisional size units.
Can this be done on the basic SEIV (with 1.49 patch)? I havn't seen the relevant button but is there any way, like fleets, that you can create an army and allocate troops to it? eg click on army button, add in 150 small troops and call the whole thing '1st Marine Division' or whatever takes your fancy? All replies gratefully accepted. Regards |
Re: Infantry
GrowlTigga:
There is no way in basic 1.49 to "bundle" up troops like you describe, except (temporarily) inside a transport or on a planet. Val: [Q]Some other ideas I had were: making the mounts various degrees of training/arming (Militia/Garrison/Standard/Elite/SpecOps) [/q] I had never thought of using mounts to simulate superior training or "special" forces... that gives me alot of new ideas... Noble713: That's just darn sharp. And you could, or course, design the troops with the proper mix and type of specific companies for specific missions. Clever. CombatSquirrel |
Re: Infantry
<blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><hr>CombatSquirrel
I had never thought of using mounts to simulate superior training or "special" forces... that gives me alot of new ideas...<hr></blockquote> Can't wait to hear the results http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/icon7.gif Noble713: That's a really cool idea! What values did you set for the various 'units'? How many different components did you wind up with? |
Re: Infantry
I think that some races should not be able to use infantry. How a gas-giant born soldier will fight in a rock plante? His body is designed to "float" in the atmosphere. http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/image...s/confused.gif
|
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:57 PM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.