.com.unity Forums

.com.unity Forums (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/index.php)
-   Space Empires: IV & V (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Question AI Ship Building (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=5053)

tesco samoa February 10th, 2002 12:18 AM

Question AI Ship Building
 
Question.

I am at turn 96 in a game with computer players but their not building many ships ... 75 ships for 88 planets etc...

What I want to do is get the computer players to build up quickly and have about 4x that number of ships.

What would be the best way of going about it.

And I want them to build quickly.

tesco samoa February 10th, 2002 02:35 AM

Re: Question AI Ship Building
 
Hmm.. Half the post did not show up

Here is the other half of that post.

Say a race has a 100 planets

Default ai

And we will use the attack

AI State := Prepare for Attack, Attack
Num Queue Entries := 10
Entry 1 Type := Attack Ship
Entry 1 Planet Per Item := 30
Entry 1 Must Have At Least := 3
Entry 2 Type := Colonizer
Entry 2 Planet Per Item := 50
Entry 2 Must Have At Least := 2
Entry 3 Type := Mine Sweeper
Entry 3 Planet Per Item := 200
Entry 3 Must Have At Least := 1
Entry 4 Type := Mine
Entry 4 Planet Per Item := 5
Entry 4 Must Have At Least := 2
Entry 5 Type := Fighter
Entry 5 Planet Per Item := 2
Entry 5 Must Have At Least := 20
Entry 6 Type := Weapon Platform
Entry 6 Planet Per Item := 5
Entry 6 Must Have At Least := 10
Entry 7 Type := Satellite
Entry 7 Planet Per Item := 5
Entry 7 Must Have At Least := 10
Entry 8 Type := Mine Layer
Entry 8 Planet Per Item := 0
Entry 8 Must Have At Least := 1
Entry 9 Type := Carrier
Entry 9 Planet Per Item := 30
Entry 9 Must Have At Least := 2
Entry 10 Type := Recon Satellite
Entry 10 Planet Per Item := 50
Entry 10 Must Have At Least := 0


So according to this

entry 1 = 33 ships
2 = 2 ships
3= 1 ship
8 = 1 ship
9 = 33 ships

So 70 ships

If I wanted to increase this I would decrease the planet per item right ??
how many ships would there be if I decreased
entry 1 to planet per item = 10
Would that equal 100 ships
and if i decreased it to 1 would that be a 1000 ships ??

Or should I increase the at least bit ??

Or decrease the per item and increase the at least??

And If I do this mid game what will happen to the ai.

The goal would be a min. 4x increase in ships and units??

Q February 10th, 2002 08:08 AM

Re: Question AI Ship Building
 
Quote:
"entry 1 to planet per item = 10
Would that equal 100 ships
and if i decreased it to 1 would that be a 1000 ships ??

Or should I increase the at least bit ??

Or decrease the per item and increase the at least??

And If I do this mid game what will happen to the ai."

These calculations are right. Use mainly the "planet per item" if the empire is large but the minumum number is useful in the beginning of the game and for very special ships like "create planets".
However in the example you gave the entry 2 will give 20 colonizers and entry 3 will make 5 mine sweepers for example. Every item type is dealt seperately.
You can change the construct vehicle file during the game without problems. However you never know exactly in which "state" the AI is, so you may have to chance the lines for all the different AI states.

[ 10 February 2002: Message edited by: Q ]</p>

tesco samoa February 10th, 2002 05:10 PM

Re: Question AI Ship Building
 
Now since I do not know what state the ai is nor where in the script the ai is.

I think I will create a generic Build up Entry and add it to the end of each state. That way the computer can carry on its current path until it hits the new levels.

PvK February 10th, 2002 10:08 PM

Re: Question AI Ship Building
 
There's no problem that I've seen, BTW, with editing the AI construction files mid-game, as long as you close SE4 between changes (or else it'll keep using the Version it loaded at first) and don't make errors (or else it'll not do what you want until you fix it). Try starting a test game and turn on all your ministers, and just watch the AI use your empire's files as you tweak them.

PvK

tesco samoa February 11th, 2002 12:59 AM

Re: Question AI Ship Building
 
Ok.
Question on
If I change planet per item to 5
and the at least to 400

What will happen ? (Attack Ships )

Say this race has 35 construction slots

The computer has 55 attack ships currently and 100 planets

Will the computer use the 35 construction slots to build attack ships or do I need to adjust something else for the computer to use these build slots.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.