![]() |
My AI Design Q&A
I am in the process of developing my first AI for the unmodded game. My first attempt is a normal (no special racial trait) race. Starting with nothing between the *Begin* and *End* lines of the AI files to make the race from scratch. To learn, I am mining the top 14 AI’s from death match 2 for ideas and insights. I have searched through the forum for many topics related to AI design and read a lot of information, but I still have some questions.
If you design AI’s, then maybe you can help. Reading through AI Text Files Tips & Hints I noticed many of the bugs mentioned there that seem to have been fixed, but I still wonder about some of them. Things that seem to be fixed, please tell me if I am wrong: boarding, kamikaze, and troop transports now work as expected; recon satellite no longer produces forever. Things that still don’t work, again tell me if I am wrong: AI still doesn’t use recyclers or resource converters; still not a good idea to use mine sweepers and cloaks together (though it works for already marked mine fields on the mine sweeper type) ; planet based fleet training still not effective. 1) Can the AI now effectively use cloaking abilities on Space Yard Ships? MB uses cloak, Mephisto still does not, and Rollo doesn’t even use Space Yard Ships. 2) If I use the same ship name (and type) but different weapons for a light cruiser than a destroyer for instance, then I notice the AI often thinks the destroyer is newer and the light cruiser is obsolete. I thought this only happened after the dreadnaught class was reached? 3) Is there anyway to stop the AI from trying to retrofit to a “newer” Version of a ship that is in fact the same as the old Version? This results in ships being wasted just sitting there and trying to be retrofitted but failing because the ships are identical. 4) I don’t suppose anyone knows a trick (without modding) to have the AI specifically call for normal armor without any special abilities? 5) AI_CONSTRUCTION_VEHICLES.TXT. It seems in my experience that you get a more even distribution of ships if you add multiple copies of the exact same entry (colony ships in exploration for example). For example, build some colony ships, build some attack ships, build colony ships again to replace, build support ships, build colony ships again to replace, etc. My guess is that if the hardcode is at entry 12 in this file, then it goes to 13 when it finishes 12 without looking at 1-11 again until the next time it arrives at them by going around one at a time through the loop. How do you think it works? I’m sure I will have more questions later. Any assistance you can provide will be much appreciated. [ July 18, 2003, 19:39: Message edited by: cybersol ] |
Re: My AI Design Q&A
Quote:
Quote:
Kamikazi and Troop Assaults, work for the AI with awesome results http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/icon7.gif Good question on the Recon Sat, I have noticed more then I have Planed in for, that the AI will put in a group. It may be better to ere with a few more, then none. Experts may elaborate, more then I. Quote:
Recycelers, the AI may not be smart enough here either. I don't use this for my AI. If you use this, put with a Colony that builds a yard. Quote:
Quote:
~~~~~ (1) Why would you want the AI to invest the Resources for a cloaking BSY, as opposed to a shield and PD? (2) With the same name for example (Attack Ship) , the AI usually will pick the upper Designs best and largest design to build.. (3) Sounds like one for the Experts like MB, Mephisto, Tampa Bay Gamer and Forum Moderators . As I recall, the AI ship hangs around for a short time if cannot Retrofit, plus the AI gets a neat little message it can't read http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/icon10.gif I will test this, and get back to you on this if know one replys http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/icon12.gif (4) Use the armor Armor Spaces Per One := xxxx in the design file. (for normal Armor) (5) Great stirring question. This depends on what you want that AI to do, and thier are many ideas on this. And should be debated by many http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/icon12.gif Inregards to Colonizers, I listen to MB's advise. Actually take all the advise form all the Players, but the Experts I mentioned above, will have the answers. http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/icon12.gif [ June 12, 2003, 00:51: Message edited by: JLS ] |
Re: My AI Design Q&A
First, thanks for the response, JLS.
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
2) Switched from missles CSM1 to beams DUC3, light cruiser designed turn 5, destroyer replaces turn 6. Destroyer is below light cruiser in designcreation file. 3) I have seen them try for a while, over and over. 4) If only that worked. The problem is you end up getting the highest damage resistance armor, which is scattering. But earlier you get smaller armor. Makes too comlicated to build the rest of the design to your exact specifications. Sometimes I just want Armor III and not the others. 5) How the file gets processed, and everyones experience with this, is really what I would like to know. |
Re: My AI Design Q&A
Cybersol, how is it my Last edit was
June 12, 2003, 00:51: Message edited by: JLS' And you have something different then my final post? Your post 'posted June 12, 2003 01:28' === Quote:
The AI settings for Base se4 are Ships don't move through minefields := false Will this not yield AI ship after ship, sacrificing itself until the Minefield is empty? Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Now, we need the trick http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/icon12.gif The answer, I gave is the current way it is set up for the Base se4, default files. In AIC the AI will place Ablative, Armor and then Emisive http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/icon7.gif Not the fancy expensive stuff http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/icon12.gif Cybersol, I feel, I will learn from you, regarding Base se4 http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/icon12.gif I wish you all the success http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/icon7.gif [ June 12, 2003, 04:04: Message edited by: JLS ] |
Re: My AI Design Q&A
Quote:
It's something against my principles, I thought. Never started a Cobol program or an AI from zero!!!! Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
I dislike when the space yard ship build something... usually they build Defense bases in middle of nowhere, or build colony ships and send those ships to colonize planets without load population first (and then the new colony will be useless for the AI!). Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Misc Ability 1 Name := Armor Misc Ability 1 Spaces Per One := 10 Or use the "Armor Spaces Per One := 10" The problem is that considering the free space, the AI will try to use the most advanced Armor... For example, a BC design (size 600K) with the line: Armor Spaces Per One := 60, will have 8 Scattering Armors!! But if you put this line at the end of the Misc Abilities: Misc Ability 11 Spaces Per One := 10 If this design still have 60K of space, then, the AI will put 1 Scattering Armor and 1 Standard Armor. In the same way, if the ship have "free" space, the AI will complete the design using the best available Armor... Conclusion: if you want to use a ship with lot of Standard Armors (not Scattering!), you should not research After Armor III! Quote:
For this, if the queue is very large, the AI have problems to reach the Lastest items in the queue... because always is building trying to replace the loses in the first places of the queue. Quote:
Best Regards JL [ June 12, 2003, 02:58: Message edited by: Master Belisarius ] |
Re: My AI Design Q&A
Quote:
Quote:
But consider that these kind of ships can be used for other purposes as auxiliary ships. Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Re: My AI Design Q&A
Quote:
Quote:
I use true for ships don't move through minefields, but unmodded hulls don't have minesweeping capability like in AIC http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/images/icons/icon7.gif |
Re: My AI Design Q&A
[quote]Originally posted by cybersol:
Quote:
|
Re: My AI Design Q&A
bumped
[ June 12, 2003, 03:49: Message edited by: JLS ] |
Re: My AI Design Q&A
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
MB, what you describe is what I though at first also. AI_Research and AI_Planet_Types definitely work the way you describe, but they don't loop and are not numbered. I will have to test this out some more, because as you say it determines optimal queue length and behaivor. |
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:38 AM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.