.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > The Camo Workshop > WinSPMBT > Campaigns, Scenarios & Maps
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 12th, 2005, 04:42 PM

Captain_Cruft Captain_Cruft is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Captain_Cruft is on a distinguished road
Default Deployment: Dug-in in a Trench

I have been wondering this for a while ...

If you deploy a unit in a Trench hex and then entrench it so it shows as "Dug-in" does it get a double dug-in defensive bonus?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 14th, 2005, 02:14 PM

JJAVN JJAVN is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
JJAVN is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Deployment: Dug-in in a Trench

It should really.
But i dont think the designers would have taken this into account. A trench is a hell of alot more beneficial to protecting against offensive fire than a simple shell scrape.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 15th, 2005, 12:17 AM
Mobhack's Avatar

Mobhack Mobhack is online now
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dundee
Posts: 5,988
Thanks: 482
Thanked 1,922 Times in 1,250 Posts
Mobhack is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Deployment: Dug-in in a Trench

Quote:
Captain_Cruft said:
I have been wondering this for a while ...

If you deploy a unit in a Trench hex and then entrench it so it shows as "Dug-in" does it get a double dug-in defensive bonus?
Nope - both dug in and a trench gives dug-in bonus.

The difference with a fire trench is that it provides dug-in bonus even if you move.

A fire trench is an engineering object, and so can be laid by a scenario designer without regard to the troops's starting position.

The "dug-in" status is only relevant to the unit, and represents a unit's own improved position. It comes from a flag set for each individual unit. The "foxhole" symbol is not a separate unit item, it's part of the individual unit graphics really (though other units can later use that). It is created on the unit's start position, unless in a swampp or river.

Fire trenches can be used to engineer a defensive position with say, lateral movement and communication lines etc. They are terrain units (unlike the individual unit foxhole or sandbag. They are also vehicular sticking obstacles - so can be used as a form of anti-tank ditch.

So - the fact that a unit starting in a fire trench also gets the normal individual "dug in" symbol is irrelevant really. I think it was not removed, as some scenario designers liked the fact that support weapons/vehicles placed in the trench line still get the "sandbag" symbol, which looks like a strongpoint on the trench-line. But cannot recall really, it was a couple of years back!.

Cheers
Andy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 15th, 2005, 10:07 AM

Captain_Cruft Captain_Cruft is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Captain_Cruft is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Deployment: Dug-in in a Trench

Thanks, that confirms what I thought.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.