|
|
|
 |
|

December 9th, 2006, 06:42 PM
|
 |
Major General
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lake of Hali, Aldebaran, OH
Posts: 2,474
Thanks: 51
Thanked 67 Times in 27 Posts
|
|
Can any playtesters look at this?
Well, I can combine small numbers of mods.
Unfortunately, the game can't hold enough custom graphics for all of these units
At least, that's my interpretation - it seems to crap out around unit #2140, which is well below the maximum theoretical length of the unit array.
I've attached the combined mod anyway, just so you can look at it. The combined early and mid mods work just fine, as does the late era mod as long as people don't play nations that need units off the end of the array.
(early era)
Angelic Crusade
Sar Elad
Machaka, Spider Cult
(middle era)
Hoburg Alliance
Horror Scourge
Iconoclasts
(late era)
Reign of the Vampiri
Kharam Dzu
Sanguinia
Sylvania
Stigian Corruption
Teutanion
Blood Elves
Trade Confederation
Themiskyra
(all eras)
Worthy Heroes
-- I removed these mods as part of a debuging effort.
The Ruinous Powers
Risen Emperor
I purposefully did *not* include any of the conceptual balance mods, or any other mods that *alter* existing nations or units, except by adding stuff.
A few comments:
* Perhaps the two vampire nations should be merged into one country? A mix of those units with slight changes could be spread across all three eras.
* Do people mind if I filch their artwork for my own mods? I'll avoid using the same pic in the same era.
I thought I asked everybody, but if I have included anyone's mod without permission, just let me know, I will remove it.
Current Bugs:
* The graphics array is not as big as the unit array, so we cannot, currently, support all of the custom graphics in the late era mods.
Other than the sprite overflow, combining mods with this script seems to work perfectly.
Thanks and Enjoy,
TNDP
__________________
If you read his speech at Rice, all his arguments for going to the moon work equally well as arguments for blowing up the moon, sending cloned dinosaurs into space, or constructing a towering *****-shaped obelisk on Mars. --Randall Munroe
|

December 10th, 2006, 02:45 AM
|
 |
General
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3,445
Thanks: 85
Thanked 79 Times in 51 Posts
|
|
Re: Unit array is too small :(
Thanks, DrPraetorious. I mostly like playing in the early age anyway for my own thematic purposes, but it will be nice when this problem gets solved.
By the way, what is the maximum theoretical length of the unit array?
__________________
You've sailed off the edge of the map--here there be badgers!
|

December 10th, 2006, 03:19 AM
|
 |
Major General
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lake of Hali, Aldebaran, OH
Posts: 2,474
Thanks: 51
Thanked 67 Times in 27 Posts
|
|
Re: Unit array is too small :(
3000 units - slots 2000-2999 are all availble for modders, and you can use any of them and it'll work just fine. So the "new unit" array is theoretically 1000 units long.
BUT, if you try to add more than ~140 new unit graphics (each new monster takes two sprites, so that's 280 sprites) the game crashes. That's an approximate number, since some of the monsters in these mods are using recycled sprites. The error message it gives is the same as if you try to copy the sprite of a non-existing unit, there are some other things that can give this out of bounds sprite error, so I'm not totally *certain* that is what is happening, but it seems pretty clear.
__________________
If you read his speech at Rice, all his arguments for going to the moon work equally well as arguments for blowing up the moon, sending cloned dinosaurs into space, or constructing a towering *****-shaped obelisk on Mars. --Randall Munroe
|

December 10th, 2006, 05:18 AM
|
 |
Brigadier General
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Mictlan
Posts: 1,767
Thanks: 12
Thanked 165 Times in 22 Posts
|
|
Re: Unit array is too small :(
Strange, it should be possible to add 1000 new sprites and it shouldn't crash when you do it anyway.
|

December 10th, 2006, 06:42 AM
|
 |
General
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3,445
Thanks: 85
Thanked 79 Times in 51 Posts
|
|
Re: Unit array is too small :(
So it's not that you can't have for instance 12,000 units in the game, except for the fact that the program isn't set up to service 12,000 units. Eh?
__________________
You've sailed off the edge of the map--here there be badgers!
|

December 10th, 2006, 01:19 PM
|
 |
Major General
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lake of Hali, Aldebaran, OH
Posts: 2,474
Thanks: 51
Thanked 67 Times in 27 Posts
|
|
Re: Unit array is too small :(
It is of course possible that I'm somehow mangling a sprite reference when I combine the mods, but if so, I can't see where I'm doing it - and it seems to effect all sprites after a certain point in the mod script, not just a few. Obviously I don't know how it works internally. Is there anything I can to get debug info beyond the "ddd" flag?
__________________
If you read his speech at Rice, all his arguments for going to the moon work equally well as arguments for blowing up the moon, sending cloned dinosaurs into space, or constructing a towering *****-shaped obelisk on Mars. --Randall Munroe
|

December 10th, 2006, 01:32 PM
|
Second Lieutenant
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 483
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: Unit array is too small :(
Just a random guess, but you could try it without my heroes mod.
I made a mistake and used #copysprite instead of #copyspr on some units and that could lead to strange behaviour.
|

December 10th, 2006, 01:53 PM
|
 |
Major General
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lake of Hali, Aldebaran, OH
Posts: 2,474
Thanks: 51
Thanked 67 Times in 27 Posts
|
|
Re: Unit array is too small :(
Changing every instance of #copysprite to #copyspr doesn't have any effect  .
I still get "sprnbr too high for this file" when I call to display some of the sprites for the dwarves (or any nation I included later in the mod.)
Thanks for the headsup, though.
__________________
If you read his speech at Rice, all his arguments for going to the moon work equally well as arguments for blowing up the moon, sending cloned dinosaurs into space, or constructing a towering *****-shaped obelisk on Mars. --Randall Munroe
|

December 11th, 2006, 04:02 PM
|
 |
National Security Advisor
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 5,425
Thanks: 174
Thanked 695 Times in 267 Posts
|
|
Re: Unit array is too small :(
Does the problem disappear when you reduce the number of sprites?
Because all it takes is ONE screwup for the whole thing to crash. I found that out the hard way trying to script more sites into a map file than there are in the game. Instant "sprnbr too high for this file" Något gick fel crash whenever the first province with the incorrect number was accessed (either directly or trying to view nation overview).
So there's possibly something like that. One typo. One misspelling. One incorrect assignment. One mismatch. I suggest you get out the fine tooth comb and get cracking.
Edi
|

December 11th, 2006, 09:11 PM
|
 |
Major General
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lake of Hali, Aldebaran, OH
Posts: 2,474
Thanks: 51
Thanked 67 Times in 27 Posts
|
|
Re: Unit array is too small :(
I've been doing that, but it seems to effect one sprite - and *all future sprites in the file*. Is that normally how it works?
__________________
If you read his speech at Rice, all his arguments for going to the moon work equally well as arguments for blowing up the moon, sending cloned dinosaurs into space, or constructing a towering *****-shaped obelisk on Mars. --Randall Munroe
|
Thread Tools |
|
Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is On
|
|
|
|
|