|
|
|
 |
|

March 3rd, 2004, 05:24 AM
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,259
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
ATTN: AI wizards
I've been working on an AI (for a mod) which builds huge amounts of drones during peacetime. My problem is that I can't get the AI to launch any of them. I have both anti-ship and anti-planet designs available and built. Percentage of drones to leave as planetary cargo is set at 0. Max target systems distance is at 500  which should be plenty, especially after I increased it from 100.  What can I do to get these stupid things launched and useful?
While I'm at it, the mod has a racial trait with 6 levels of ships. All are the same size, but the hull abilities go up with tech level. I can't get the AI to create designs using any but the first hull, even by adding dummy abilities. Do I really have to make each one bigger to get them used?
[ March 03, 2004, 04:04: Message edited by: Krsqk ]
__________________
The Unpronounceable Krsqk
"Well, sir, at the moment my left processor doesn't know what my right is doing." - Freefall
|

March 3rd, 2004, 06:28 AM
|
General
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,323
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: ATTN: AI wizards
During the beta process, we noticed that AIs stopped launching drones independently after Drone Carriers were added to the game. When they were first added but Drone Carriers were not yet added, the AI would indeed launch drones at enemy ships if it could see them. I don't recall ever seeing it use an anti-planet drones, though. Apparently you have to make your AI build Drone Carriers now, and then it will load the drones into the carrier and send it out to attack an enemy like a regular fighter carrier. Other than that, the only time drones seem to get launched is when you attack a planet with drones in its cargo.
|

March 3rd, 2004, 07:15 AM
|
Sergeant
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 252
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: ATTN: AI wizards
You could try adding the tech requirements of the 6th hull size twice, to see if this will fool the AI into using the 6th hull size.
Name := Escort
Short Name := Escort
Description :=
Code := ES
Primary Bitmap Name := Escort
Alternate Bitmap Name := Escort
Vehicle Type := Ship
Tonnage := 150
Cost Minerals := 150
Cost Organics := 0
Cost Radioactives := 0
Engines Per Move := 1
Number of Tech Req := 2
Tech Area Req 1 := Ship Construction
Tech Level Req 1 := 1
Tech Area Req 2 := Ship Construction
Tech Level Req 2 := 1
|

March 3rd, 2004, 11:10 AM
|
 |
Shrapnel Fanatic
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 15,630
Thanks: 0
Thanked 30 Times in 18 Posts
|
|
Re: ATTN: AI wizards
Quote:
Originally posted by Krsqk:
I've been working on an AI (for a mod) which builds huge amounts of drones during peacetime. My problem is that I can't get the AI to launch any of them. I have both anti-ship and anti-planet designs available and built. Percentage of drones to leave as planetary cargo is set at 0. Max target systems distance is at 500 which should be plenty, especially after I increased it from 100. What can I do to get these stupid things launched and useful?
While I'm at it, the mod has a racial trait with 6 levels of ships. All are the same size, but the hull abilities go up with tech level. I can't get the AI to create designs using any but the first hull, even by adding dummy abilities. Do I really have to make each one bigger to get them used?
|
Start a new game and see if it works would be my first suggestion. If you have already done that, then you know more about AI making than me, and I wish you well on figuring this out. Either way it goes, PLEASE if you figure it out, will you post about how you did so?
The information on how you get the AI to do things, ie modding, and problem solving is very important news and MUST be preserved.
__________________
Creator of the Star Trek Mod - AST Mod - 78 Ship Sets - Conquest Mod - Atrocities Star Wars Mod - Galaxy Reborn Mod - and Subterfuge Mod.
|

March 3rd, 2004, 10:43 PM
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,259
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: ATTN: AI wizards
Actually, I have tried duplicating tech requirements. That must have been what I meant by "dummy abilities," although it obviously didn't come out right early this morning.
I added 1kt per level to the later hulls, and the AI uses them just fine. I'll have to experiment more to see if I can teach it any new tricks.
Still no luck on launching drones. I guess I'll have to add drone launchers to the orbital bases; drone carriers would have to pick up the drones, drag them off to some fleet somewhere, find a target,...
Back to the AI crunching ground. 
__________________
The Unpronounceable Krsqk
"Well, sir, at the moment my left processor doesn't know what my right is doing." - Freefall
|

March 3rd, 2004, 11:08 PM
|
 |
Major
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,066
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
|
Re: ATTN: AI wizards
The AI won't launch fighters without carriers either. Neither will they launch any fighters outside of combat.
The drone AI must follow similar programming.
It's too bad. But what you could do is mod the AI to build a drone launching base in orbit of a planet. I expect that would let the AI launch drones from the same sector as a planet.
|

March 4th, 2004, 12:01 AM
|
General
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,323
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: ATTN: AI wizards
Planets can and do launch drones themselves. Unfortunately, they will launch ALL drones regardless of type or the size of the threat.
If you design bases to use units you must include both the SY to build them and the appropriate launchers. In fact, include ALL types of unit launchers on a base if you give it cargo since you cannot control what the AI will build with those SYs. The AI is not smart enough to find units in the cargo of bases, or to load the appropriate units onto bases with launchers. I discovered this by designing BSYs with cargo space. Any units built by a BSY with cargo will just sit in the cargo regardless of what the AI needs. Only when the cargo over-flows and drops units onto a planet will the AI find and use them.  At least with all the necessary launchers the base will launch what it has if/when there is an attack.
|

March 4th, 2004, 04:16 AM
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,259
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: ATTN: AI wizards
My problem isn't getting drones on the carrier base; it already has a spaceyard and plenty drone launchers and cargo space, and this AI doesn't build any units besides drones. The base even loads any spare drones from the planets cargo, just like you would expect from a carrier.
I even get them to launch when attacked. Of course, as BM said, it launches all the drones at once, which limits their defensive usefulness.
My goal is to get the AI to use drones offensively. I haven't found a way to get them launched and fired off. I see the Devnullmod Space Monsters have drones; do they launch them, or are they just for looking pretty in ship cargo? They won't be used defensively, since Monster planets are cloaked and can't be attacked (except with star destroyers  ) Any ideas here?
__________________
The Unpronounceable Krsqk
"Well, sir, at the moment my left processor doesn't know what my right is doing." - Freefall
|

March 4th, 2004, 04:19 AM
|
 |
Brigadier General
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Kailua, Hawaii
Posts: 1,860
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
|
Re: ATTN: AI wizards
I know that some of the TDM AI's launch drones offensively. Don't remember which ones offhand.
Slick.
__________________
Slick.
|

March 5th, 2004, 04:08 AM
|
 |
Colonel
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Montevideo Uruguay
Posts: 1,598
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: ATTN: AI wizards
Quote:
Originally posted by Krsqk:
I've been working on an AI (for a mod) which builds huge amounts of drones during peacetime. My problem is that I can't get the AI to launch any of them. I have both anti-ship and anti-planet designs available and built. Percentage of drones to leave as planetary cargo is set at 0. Max target systems distance is at 500 which should be plenty, especially after I increased it from 100. What can I do to get these stupid things launched and useful?
While I'm at it, the mod has a racial trait with 6 levels of ships. All are the same size, but the hull abilities go up with tech level. I can't get the AI to create designs using any but the first hull, even by adding dummy abilities. Do I really have to make each one bigger to get them used?
|
Do you want the AI planets launch Drones to attack enemy planet/s ships?
Have you tested it using 50% of Drones as cargo? If you put it as 0%, if I'm not wrong, the AI will try to use all the Drones for Drone Carriers.
|
Thread Tools |
|
Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is On
|
|
|
|
|