|  | 
| 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
    
    
 |  | 
 
 
	
		|  |  |  
	
	
		
	
	
	| 
			
			 
			
				April 27th, 2009, 08:31 AM
			
			
			
		 |  
	| 
		
			
			| 
 Major General |  | 
					Join Date: Mar 2008 Location: Serbia 
						Posts: 2,245
					 Thanks: 48 
		
			
				Thanked 84 Times in 46 Posts
			
		
	      |  |  
    
	| 
				 Maeneads 
 Just wondering if dominion has any influence on the amount of maeneads that are being summoned by Pans,and if there is any exact number on how many you get a turn, eg. dominion level + turmoil scale or something.
 |  
	
		
	
	
	| 
			
			 
			
				April 27th, 2009, 09:19 AM
			
			
			
		 |  
	| 
		
			|  | 
 General |  | 
					Join Date: Feb 2007 Location: R'lyeh 
						Posts: 3,861
					 Thanks: 144 
		
			
				Thanked 403 Times in 176 Posts
			
		
	      |  |  
    
	| 
				 Re: Maeneads 
 It looks to me like dominion doesn't factor into the formula, and it's a random roll for a die with 3*(turmoil scale)+5 faces, with criticals being rerolled, in case there's any turmoil scale in the province. |  
	
		
			| The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lch For This Useful Post: |  |  |  
	
		
	
	
	| 
			
			 
			
				April 27th, 2009, 10:25 AM
			
			
			
		 |  
	| 
		
			|  | 
 Shrapnel Fanatic |  | 
					Join Date: Oct 2003 Location: Vacaville, CA, USA 
						Posts: 13,736
					 Thanks: 341 
		
			
				Thanked 479 Times in 326 Posts
			
		
	      |  |  
    
	| 
				 Re: Maeneads 
 I dont think that dominion strength directly affects Pans. 
 But the "Lord of the Wild" pretender (prime choice for a strong maenad strategy) says the maenads he draws show in great numbers in a Dominion with great Turmoil. So in that case it seems to be abit of both. Turmoil with a dominion push.
 
 Gandalf  Parker
 --
 There once was a cocky guy
 thought Pangaea would be fun to try
 He amassed quite a force
 and marched them all forth
 but half stealthed and watched the rest die
 |  
	
		
	
	
	| 
			
			 
			
				April 27th, 2009, 10:40 AM
			
			
			
		 |  
	| 
		
			|  | 
 Corporal |  | 
					Join Date: Jul 2007 
						Posts: 106
					 Thanks: 0 
		
			
				Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
			
		
	      |  |  
    
	| 
				 Re: Maeneads 
 Pans summon nothing in hostile dominion |  
	
		
	
	
	| 
			
			 
			
				April 27th, 2009, 03:39 PM
			
			
			
		 |  
	| 
		
			
			| 
 Corporal |  | 
					Join Date: Feb 2007 Location: Hannover, Germany 
						Posts: 198
					 Thanks: 87 
		
			
				Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
			
		
	      |  |  
    
	| 
				 Re: Maeneads 
 
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Natpy  Pans summon nothing in hostile dominion |  Are you sure? In my current game I did find some new maenads waiting outside of the wall when my pans started to siege that fort, and the local dominions was -2 with sloth/heat/death/drain.
 
There was no routs around that province, and the units were marked with "home garrison: xxx", so I am pretty sure they were new summoned. |  
	
		
	
	
	| 
			
			 
			
				April 27th, 2009, 03:56 PM
			
			
			
		 |  
	| 
		
			
			| 
 Major General |  | 
					Join Date: Mar 2008 Location: Serbia 
						Posts: 2,245
					 Thanks: 48 
		
			
				Thanked 84 Times in 46 Posts
			
		
	      |  |  
    
	| 
				 Re: Maeneads 
 Thanks everybody.I was under the impression that dominion had no effect, but better to check right?
 So I run a little test with a EA/MA Pangaea game with 1dom/10dom just now and the number of maenads is more or less the same so luckily dominion has no effect.
 
 and it's a random roll for a die with 3*(turmoil scale)+5 faces, with criticals being rerolled, in case there's any turmoil scale in the province.
 
 That's all I wanted to know, thanks lch.
 |  
	
		
	
	
	| 
			
			 
			
				April 30th, 2009, 02:51 AM
			
			
			
		 |  
	| 
		
			|  | 
 Captain |  | 
					Join Date: Nov 2004 Location: Finland 
						Posts: 812
					 Thanks: 106 
		
			
				Thanked 57 Times in 34 Posts
			
		
	      |  |  
    
	| 
				 Re: Maeneads 
 
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Gandalf Parker  But the "Lord of the Wild" pretender (prime choice for a strong maenad strategy) says the maenads he draws show in great numbers in a Dominion with great Turmoil. So in that case it seems to be abit of both. Turmoil with a dominion push. |  I think that means (and my experiences supports this) that if the Lord of the Wild is in any dominion (not his own necessarily) with Turmoil (and the stronger Turmoil the better) maenads are drawn to him. Just like maenads are drawn to Pans in Turmoil (it doesn't have to be your own dominion, but there has to be Turmoil for any maenads to pop up). |  
	
		
	
	
	| 
			
			 
			
				April 30th, 2009, 05:27 AM
			
			
			
		 |  
	| 
		
			|  | 
 General |  | 
					Join Date: Feb 2007 Location: R'lyeh 
						Posts: 3,861
					 Thanks: 144 
		
			
				Thanked 403 Times in 176 Posts
			
		
	      |  |  
    
	| 
				 Re: Maeneads 
 The Pans and the Lord of the Wild pretender have the same turmoil summon effect. It doesn't have a power attributed to it, just says what kind of unit it summons. The only way to increase the output of the turmoil summoning is to let a unit have the effect twice or more times, and indeed the Lord of the Wild has that ability listed twice. So he's twice as effective as a Pan to draw Maenads, or rather as effective as two Pans. |  
	
		
	
	
	| 
			
			 
			
				April 30th, 2009, 06:01 AM
			
			
			
		 |  
	| 
		
			|  | 
 Captain |  | 
					Join Date: Nov 2004 Location: Finland 
						Posts: 812
					 Thanks: 106 
		
			
				Thanked 57 Times in 34 Posts
			
		
	      |  |  
    
	| 
				 Re: Maeneads 
 I didn't mean you get stronger maenads (even tough I now can see it could be read that way, can't edit that anymore sadly), I meant it is better for the number of maenads the stronger the Turmoil is in the province   |  
	
		
	
	
	| 
			
			 
			
				April 30th, 2009, 07:27 AM
			
			
			
		 |  
	| 
		
			|  | 
 General |  | 
					Join Date: Feb 2007 Location: R'lyeh 
						Posts: 3,861
					 Thanks: 144 
		
			
				Thanked 403 Times in 176 Posts
			
		
	      |  |  
    
	| 
				 Re: Maeneads 
 Yeah, I just wanted to clarify how the pretender generates more units than the Pans. They both use the same formula, a 3*turmoil+5 open ended roll, just that the pretender uses it twice. Dominion doesn't factor in, except that there has to be turmoil in the province. |  
	
		
	
	
	
	
	
	
	| Thread Tools |  
	|  |  
	| Display Modes |  
	
	| 
		 Linear Mode |  
	| 
	|  Posting Rules |  
	| 
		
		You may not post new threads You may not post replies You may not post attachments You may not edit your posts 
 HTML code is On 
 |  |  |  |  |