.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Shrapnel Community > Space Empires: IV & V

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 22nd, 2001, 04:33 AM

Lucanos Lucanos is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 139
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lucanos is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New Patch!!

quote:
Originally posted by AJC:
...if the target vessel has a master computer you cannot convert the crew.



Because ...there isn't any?

quote:
Originally posted by AJC:

once the target vessels MC is destroyed - you can.

Its working correctly.



Mabbe it's working correctly NOW (1.41) - when the bug has been fixed.

Several of my MC have been subverted from time to time - I have NEVER seen the opposite, except for when I put a Self Destruct device onboard. The alligience subverter doesn't seem to work against Self Destruct devices (or maybe the AI just doesn't fire the AS at ships with SD devices?)

------------------
"The best way to seek help is to help the best seek the way."
-Philter
__________________
The best way to seek help is to help the best seek the way.
-Philter
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 22nd, 2001, 04:53 AM

CaptSpoogy CaptSpoogy is offline
BANNED USER
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 302
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
CaptSpoogy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New Patch!!

The computer will and can use the Allegiance Subverter on ships with Self-Destruct devices. It happened to me earlier today - I had added self-destructs to most of my fleet thinking that those Abbidon punks would get a nasty suprise. They did not. It seems that the self-destruct does not work against the subverter.

------------------
Visit the Spoogy Federation at:
http://spoogyfederation.tripod.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 22nd, 2001, 07:46 AM

Admiral Grover Admiral Grover is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Admiral Grover is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New Patch!!

quote:
Originally posted by Lucanos:
According to my experience Alligience SUBVERTERS have always been able to convert master computers.




That they can....I lost 2 carriers and a SYS to a computer Phychic race. They both has MC on them and never got hit with any other weapon.

Regards,


------------------
Admiral Grover
-------------------
"There is a theory which states that if ever anyone discovers exactly what the Universe is for and why it is here, it will instantly disappear and be replaced by something even more bizarrely inexeplicable.
There is another theory which states that this has already happened."
- Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy - Douglas Adams
__________________
There is a theory which states that if ever anyone discovers exactly what the Universe is for and why it is here, it will instantly disappear and be replaced by something even more bizarrely inexeplicable.
There is another theory which states that this has already happened.
- Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy - Douglas Adams
http://admgrover.tripod.com
MSN IDk_grover@hotmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 22nd, 2001, 10:56 AM
Q's Avatar

Q Q is offline
Colonel
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,661
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Q is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New Patch!!

quote:
Originally posted by Lucanos:
According to my experience Alligience SUBVERTERS have always been able to convert master computers.



That's really strange!
I repeately tested it in the combat simulator and was never able to convert a ship with intact master computer.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 22nd, 2001, 07:18 PM
Lisif Deoral's Avatar

Lisif Deoral Lisif Deoral is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Italy
Posts: 134
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lisif Deoral is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New Patch!!

quote:
Originally posted by capt_spoogy:
The computer will and can use the Allegiance Subverter on ships with Self-Destruct devices. It happened to me earlier today - I had added self-destructs to most of my fleet thinking that those Abbidon punks would get a nasty suprise. They did not. It seems that the self-destruct does not work against the subverter.


Well, I think that since your crew members are mind-controlled by the enemy (or brainwashed or whatever) they won't voluntarily self-destruct their own ship...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 23rd, 2001, 04:47 AM

Vmax Vmax is offline
Private
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Vmax is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New Patch!!

I'm not sure how it works now, but why should an 'AS' work on a ship with a MC at all. Destroying a MC would not suddenly conjure up a crew that could then be subverted. MC's are expensive, and why should any ship mounted weapon have an automatic shot at destroying the largest vessel. In fact, it is worse than destroying it since it joins the AS's side.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.