|
|
|
 |

November 10th, 2007, 03:57 PM
|
 |
General
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 3,861
Thanks: 144
Thanked 403 Times in 176 Posts
|
|
Re: No Independent .map file Request
Under windows, open a command prompt and do the following:
Code:
echo @echo #setland %1 > do.bat
echo @echo #poptype 100 >> do.bat
for /l %i in (1,1,100) do do.bat %i >> noindy.map
del do.bat
Untested, but should work. Change the numbers in the triple accordingly. More info under "for /?".
|

November 10th, 2007, 04:23 PM
|
Second Lieutenant
|
|
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 465
Thanks: 10
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
|
|
Re: No Independent .map file Request
Oh, thanks. That definitely makes sense. The triple says 'from 1 to 100 in an increment of 1', right? (I can sort of 'read' code, but can't really write it.)
'noindy.map' is the name of the .map file, right?
Also, may I suggest this (or something like it) be put into the 'Mod thread', so that others can find it perhaps a bit easier?
Edit: It's not working. I am not sure exactly why. To be precise, the batch file works properly. But when I start a game on the edited map, the independents are still there. Am I doing something wrong?
|

November 10th, 2007, 05:19 PM
|
 |
General
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 3,861
Thanks: 144
Thanked 403 Times in 176 Posts
|
|
Re: No Independent .map file Request
Yes, the triple is (from,step,to) as in: start at "from", add "step" in every step until you reach "to". It will put a list that looks like what Sombre posted into the file noindy.map. You'll have to copy and paste that into the real .map file with a text editor yourself, it's not of any use on its own.
|

November 10th, 2007, 05:38 PM
|
Second Lieutenant
|
|
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 465
Thanks: 10
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
|
|
Re: No Independent .map file Request
Well, it actually will write it directly into the .map file if you name it as such. However, putting the information in is not getting rid of the independents. Is there smoething more I have to do?
|

November 10th, 2007, 05:53 PM
|
 |
General
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 3,861
Thanks: 144
Thanked 403 Times in 176 Posts
|
|
Re: No Independent .map file Request
P.S.: I think that you can put two commands into the same line, so instead of that complicated four-line thing you can probably just use this Code:
for /l %i in (1,1,100) do echo #setland %i #poptype 100 >> noindy.map
I have no idea if there's something missing, but if there's an #end missing there you could just add it in the same manner.
|

November 10th, 2007, 05:56 PM
|
 |
General
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 3,861
Thanks: 144
Thanked 403 Times in 176 Posts
|
|
Re: No Independent .map file Request
Maybe you're expecting the wrong thing, though. What this is supposed to do is to remove the possibility of recruiting independents on the provinces in the map. This forces the AI to use national units and can make it play a stronger game. What it does not do is remove the indy defenders. You achieve that by setting the strength of independents to zero when you create the game (and only in case this is really possible).
|

November 10th, 2007, 06:00 PM
|
Second Lieutenant
|
|
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 465
Thanks: 10
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
|
|
Re: No Independent .map file Request
No, I'm thinking correctly in that you should not be able to recruit independent commanders on the map. Unfortunately, you still can. I'll try adding #end at the end to see if that changes anything. Thanks for all the help so far. =)
Edit: This is getting frustrating. >< I don't know exactly why it's not working. The only thing I can think of is that there are no CRs or spaces in the .map file except for the pasted portion. AFAIK this normally does not change things, but could it be in this case?
Honestly, I'd like to try this but nothing I seem to do works. ><
|

November 11th, 2007, 03:20 PM
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,449
Thanks: 4
Thanked 8 Times in 2 Posts
|
|
Re: No Independent .map file Request
Attached to this post is an .exe that has been .rared.
When you start it it will open up a console window, and wait for your input.
You will need to insert two numbers, the first one will be the number of lands you need to #setland on (so if you want lands 1-241, you will type in 241), the second number will determine the poptype that will be set for all. (In this case I guess you'll want 100)
The program will create a file called IO.txt that will contain the lines you want.
(I see that you already found a better way of doing it, but since it only took a few seconds to code, I did it anyway  )
No spaces in the .map file sounds like it could cause problems, if #land 3 is turned to #land3 maybe it can give the game problems? (I never actually made a map, so I know nothing about those things)
__________________
I'm in the IDF. (So any new reply by me is a very rare event.)
|
Thread Tools |
|
Display Modes |
Hybrid Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is On
|
|
|
|
|