|
|
|
 |

May 21st, 2009, 06:37 PM
|
Sergeant
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 223
Thanks: 7
Thanked 19 Times in 12 Posts
|
|
Re: Retreating
A sieged fort counts as an "enemy" province for the purpose of retreating, that is, you will never retreat to a sieged friendly fort.
If the fort is put under siege that turn, it depends on the order in which the battles are fought. If the fort siege battle is fought first, retreating enemies from a battle adjacent will not retreat to the fort province. If the fort siege battle is fought second, retreating enemies from a battle fought adjacent may retreat inside the fort, but will not fight outside the walls.
If your units rout from a Break Siege battle, or even a fort storming battle, and they rout off the battlefield (regardless of if you win or lose), then they will retreat to an adjacent friendly province. If there are no adjacent friendly provinces, they will die. This will happen as long as they routed individually, even if you win the battle at the fort. Units that rout (as in make it off the field) from a battle in a fort's province will never rout to the fort itself. Never.
|

May 21st, 2009, 06:59 PM
|
BANNED USER
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 868
Thanks: 56
Thanked 42 Times in 33 Posts
|
|
Re: Retreating
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDemon
.
If the fort is put under siege that turn, it depends on the order in which the battles are fought. If the fort siege battle is fought first, retreating enemies from a battle adjacent will not retreat to the fort province. If the fort siege battle is fought second, retreating enemies from a battle fought adjacent may retreat inside the fort, but will not fight outside the walls.
|
I believe you are wrong here TheDemon.
all battles are fought at once, THEN all units retreat. so if you lose both battles, your units will have no where to retreat to.
|

May 21st, 2009, 07:04 PM
|
Major General
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,497
Thanks: 165
Thanked 105 Times in 73 Posts
|
|
Re: Retreating
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frozen Lama
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDemon
.
If the fort is put under siege that turn, it depends on the order in which the battles are fought. If the fort siege battle is fought first, retreating enemies from a battle adjacent will not retreat to the fort province. If the fort siege battle is fought second, retreating enemies from a battle fought adjacent may retreat inside the fort, but will not fight outside the walls.
|
I believe you are wrong here TheDemon.
all battles are fought at once, THEN all units retreat. so if you lose both battles, your units will have no where to retreat to.
|
Yes and no. Certain battles (initiated during the magic phase) may take place before others. For instance, if you teleport an SC into a province P1, get routed and flee into P2, which is attacked that turn, you will see your SC participate in both battles. I haven't tested what would happen if P2 had a fort in it, but it's possible that TheDemon is correct and that the SC would just hide inside the fort for the second battle, as units usually do if they're not set to Patrol.
-Max
__________________
Bauchelain - "Qwik Ben iz uzin wallhax! HAX!"
Quick Ben - "lol pwned"
["Memories of Ice", by Steven Erikson. Retranslated into l33t.]
|

May 21st, 2009, 07:00 PM
|
Major General
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,497
Thanks: 165
Thanked 105 Times in 73 Posts
|
|
Re: Retreating
The fort itself (owned by A) counts as a special "virtual" province F which is adjacent only to the province P it is located in. No one will ever retreat into the fort. The besieging army (owned by B) occupies P. Therefore if A's army in P' (which is adjacent to P) is routed, they cannot flee into P or F. If they have nowhere else to go they will all die.
-Max
__________________
Bauchelain - "Qwik Ben iz uzin wallhax! HAX!"
Quick Ben - "lol pwned"
["Memories of Ice", by Steven Erikson. Retranslated into l33t.]
|
Thread Tools |
|
Display Modes |
Hybrid Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is On
|
|
|
|
|