|
|
|
 |
|

May 10th, 2010, 10:44 PM
|
 |
Second Lieutenant
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Osaka, Japan
Posts: 481
Thanks: 42
Thanked 33 Times in 12 Posts
|
|
Re: Countdown - ***Started***
I guess I should have been more clear, what I wanted to say was a fortress from a site searching spell (especially, the common undersea fortress you can get casting Hauruspex).
Is the consensus that they be demolished then?
__________________
"I think that this situation absolutely requires a really futile and stupid gesture be done on somebody's part"
|

May 11th, 2010, 12:00 AM
|
Corporal
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 182
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
|
|
Re: Countdown - ***Started***
Trading for boots of youth Items/Gems.
Yomi
|

May 12th, 2010, 10:10 AM
|
BANNED USER
|
|
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,075
Thanks: 203
Thanked 121 Times in 91 Posts
|
|
Re: Countdown - ***Started***
VP totals from a site will not count if a castle has been found on the site.
After 6 turns, a castle on a VP site will *cost* you 1 vp.
|

May 21st, 2010, 01:23 PM
|
 |
Second Lieutenant
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Osaka, Japan
Posts: 481
Thanks: 42
Thanked 33 Times in 12 Posts
|
|
Re: Countdown - ***Started***
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrispedersen
VP totals from a site will not count if a castle has been found on the site.
After 6 turns, a castle on a VP site will *cost* you 1 vp.
|
OK, from a magic site, I've got a castle on a VP site now. But I'm not declaring vp for it (I haven't declared vp for any VP site I've held to this point).
So, is it OK to keep this fortress as long as I don't try to claim vp from that VP site (the strategic value is debatable, but I guess it does give me some small economic boost)?
If I keep it for more than 6 turns, can my vp start to go negative?
In the regard of utility, the 5 water VP provinces obviously have less use than the one land VP ("yeah, I can build all the Tritons I want" vs "I can build national mages and troops").
Don't know where I'm going with that, just something to keep in mind. In the end, I think this game will still come down to a contest of brute strength, but the vp variable may likely add an interesting twist toward the end.
__________________
"I think that this situation absolutely requires a really futile and stupid gesture be done on somebody's part"
|

May 21st, 2010, 11:53 PM
|
BANNED USER
|
|
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,075
Thanks: 203
Thanked 121 Times in 91 Posts
|
|
Re: Countdown - ***Started***
The rules are that forts must be destroyed.
And yes, your vps will go negative if you do not.
|

May 12th, 2010, 01:32 PM
|
 |
Second Lieutenant
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: BF Illinois
Posts: 445
Thanks: 13
Thanked 27 Times in 21 Posts
|
|
Re: Countdown - ***Started***
I claimed a VP at the beginning of this turn (31).
I would also like to point out that the current game settings indicate that a win (as far as the software is concerned) occurs when 7 VPs are accumulated. The score graph supports this as the ceiling is not far off, so... if we're supposed to be accumulating 100, but the game is going to go "Game Over!" when we hit 7... is there a way to fix this or am I incorrect wrt how the VPs work?
__________________
"Let your plans be dark and as impenetratable as night, and when you move, fall like a thunderbolt." -- Sun Tzu
|

May 13th, 2010, 12:02 AM
|
BANNED USER
|
|
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,075
Thanks: 203
Thanked 121 Times in 91 Posts
|
|
Re: Countdown - ***Started***
Quote:
Originally Posted by Verjigorm
I claimed a VP at the beginning of this turn (31).
|
You have to also provide the province number:
Turn 31: Abysia, province ???
|

May 13th, 2010, 08:00 AM
|
 |
Second Lieutenant
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: BF Illinois
Posts: 445
Thanks: 13
Thanked 27 Times in 21 Posts
|
|
Re: Countdown - ***Started***
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrispedersen
Quote:
Originally Posted by Verjigorm
I claimed a VP at the beginning of this turn (31).
|
You have to also provide the province number:
Turn 31: Abysia, province ???
|
I'm Arcoscephale and in general I prefer not to reveal the province number since it is useless for scoring purposes but useful as spying data. You can see on the score graphs that I have 1.  If someone who can see me wants to reveal the province number that's up to them, but if it were me, I would charge for the intel. :P
__________________
"Let your plans be dark and as impenetratable as night, and when you move, fall like a thunderbolt." -- Sun Tzu
|

May 12th, 2010, 03:19 PM
|
 |
Major General
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lake of Hali, Aldebaran, OH
Posts: 2,474
Thanks: 51
Thanked 67 Times in 27 Posts
|
|
Re: Countdown - ***Started***
That looks like total VP rather than accumulation to me; otherwise you and Arco would've gained at the same time.
If it's set for total VP, why don't we just integrate under the score graphs (assuming no forts), rather than having people self-report which is weird?
__________________
If you read his speech at Rice, all his arguments for going to the moon work equally well as arguments for blowing up the moon, sending cloned dinosaurs into space, or constructing a towering *****-shaped obelisk on Mars. --Randall Munroe
|

May 12th, 2010, 04:35 PM
|
Sergeant
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 362
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
|
|
Re: Countdown - ***Started***
7 vps that are all adjacent to each other is going to make a poor winning condition. Might as well just say that 1 of those VP provinces has to remain independant and play it as a normal game.
|
Thread Tools |
|
Display Modes |
Hybrid Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is On
|
|
|
|
|