.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 26th, 2009, 06:02 AM

Agema Agema is offline
First Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 792
Thanks: 28
Thanked 45 Times in 31 Posts
Agema is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Gem usage

A gem used to raise a level to make it possible to cast the spell does NOT count towards the inherent gem cost of the spell.

An E2 mage can use 2 gems. Therefore it can cast an E3 spell that costs 1 gem to cast, using one to raise level, and the other to match the inherent spell cost.

The E2 mage cannot cast an E3 spell that requires 2 (or more) gems, because as the mage can only use 2 gems, it would spend one to raise path level, and then cannot meet the casting cost.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 26th, 2009, 04:45 PM

thejeff thejeff is offline
General
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,327
Thanks: 4
Thanked 133 Times in 117 Posts
thejeff is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Gem usage

It's not.

An E2 mage can Summon Earthpower, then use 3 gems to cast Curse of Stones.

Without casting Summon Earthpower first, he can't burn an extra gem to cast CoS, since that would be 4 gems and he can only use 2.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.