|
|
|
|
|
March 28th, 2006, 11:29 PM
|
|
Colonel
|
|
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kansas, USA
Posts: 1,538
Thanks: 289
Thanked 194 Times in 94 Posts
|
|
Setting valid start provinces...
I have been working on a small 2-4 player map. I did not want to limit players to a specific nation, and did not want to set specific start provinces for specific nations. Thought that I would be slick and set all but 4 provinces to #nostart with the idea that the starting provinces could easily be changed by the user later by simply commenting out the nostart's to enable a province, or uncommenting others to disable them.
When creating a game, get the "Can't find valid starting province" error. I assume that it is trying to place specific nations on specific terrain types??? For example, Ermor on wasteland, or Ctis in the swamp?
Any confirmation and/or solutions would be much appreciated.
|
March 28th, 2006, 11:51 PM
|
|
Colonel
|
|
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kansas, USA
Posts: 1,538
Thanks: 289
Thanked 194 Times in 94 Posts
|
|
Re: Setting valid start provinces...
Ugh, answered my own question. Started with the following:
#nostart 1
-- #nostart 2
#nostart 3
#nostart 4
That won't work, but the following method will:
#nostart 1
-- nostart 2
#nostart 3
#nostart 4
So as not to waste a perfectly good thread, here's a small preview of the map that I am working on. Have been working on a hex map editor for dominions2 and made this as a small test map:
|
March 29th, 2006, 01:40 AM
|
|
National Security Advisor
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Eastern Finland
Posts: 7,110
Thanks: 145
Thanked 153 Times in 101 Posts
|
|
Re: Setting valid start provinces...
Nice to see that you got that to work. Also nice to see the proof of a working tool that allows even art-challenged people to create maps!
|
March 29th, 2006, 09:08 AM
|
|
Lieutenant General
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hyvinkää, Finland
Posts: 2,703
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
|
Re: Setting valid start provinces...
What's the program you used?
__________________
"Boobs are OK. Just not for Nerfix [img]/threads/images/Graemlins/Smile.gif[/img] ."
- Kristoffer O.
|
March 29th, 2006, 11:43 AM
|
|
National Security Advisor
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Eastern Finland
Posts: 7,110
Thanks: 145
Thanked 153 Times in 101 Posts
|
|
Re: Setting valid start provinces...
He has been working on a hex editor. I understood that as him programming a new hex editor that can be used to make Dominions maps, instead of just working with an existing hex editor.
Isn't English fun for non-native speakers?
|
March 29th, 2006, 11:50 AM
|
|
Lieutenant General
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hyvinkää, Finland
Posts: 2,703
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
|
Re: Setting valid start provinces...
Jyah.
__________________
"Boobs are OK. Just not for Nerfix [img]/threads/images/Graemlins/Smile.gif[/img] ."
- Kristoffer O.
|
March 29th, 2006, 12:01 PM
|
|
Lieutenant General
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 2,555
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
|
|
Re: Setting valid start provinces...
Quote:
Endoperez said:
Isn't English fun for non-native speakers?
|
Abso-freaking-lutely.
|
March 29th, 2006, 12:04 PM
|
|
Major General
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: 500km from Ulm
Posts: 2,279
Thanks: 9
Thanked 18 Times in 12 Posts
|
|
Re: Setting valid start provinces...
@ Nerf & Endo
He said he's working on a hex map editor, not a hex editor. Google for "hex editor" and you'll notice the slight difference in use ... .
@ Ballbarian
Why don't you use either
6.4 #start <province nbr>
By creating at least one start location for each player,
every player will start at one of these locations.
6.5 #specstart <nation nbr> <province nbr>
Use this command to assign a specific nation to a specific
start location. Nation nbr can be found in table 1.
Table 1: Nation numbers
0 Abysia
1 Atlantis
2 Pythium
3 Man
4 Ulm
5 Ctis
6 Arcoscephale
7 Caelum
8 Ermor
9 Marignon
10 Pangaea
11 Vanheim
12 Jotun
13 R’lyeh
14 Mictlan
15 T’ien Chi
16 Machaka
__________________
As for AI the most effective work around to this problem so far is to simply use an American instead, they tend to put up a bit more of a fight than your average Artificial Idiot.
... James McGuigan on rec.games.computer.stars somewhen back in 1998 ...
|
March 29th, 2006, 04:01 PM
|
|
Colonel
|
|
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kansas, USA
Posts: 1,538
Thanks: 289
Thanked 194 Times in 94 Posts
|
|
Re: Setting valid start provinces...
Sorry for any confusion that I have caused.
I have been building a visual basic program which was intended to be, as Endoperez stated: "a working tool that allows even art-challenged people to create maps!"
I have been designing it to use custom hex tile sets and overlay sets which are defined via an external text file. Allows placement or painting of tiles and transparent overlays, customizable borders & rivers, province markers, and text. The drawing portion is pretty much complete, but I was also developing the ability to edit the .MAP files themselves. Currently, it will locate and number provinces, guess neighbors and retain terrain information. Eventually I would like it to be able to read/edit existing .MAP files as well. The hardest and most time consuming part has been the building of a database to allow for sorting through all of the units, spells & equipment from within the editor without having to go to seperate sources for that information. If I ever finish all of that, my ultimate goal was to be able to generate complete random maps, but that is a long way off.
@ Arralen,
Thank you, but this map is so small that it would be impossible to set up fair starting positions for every nation. Also, because of the style of the map itself, it is divided into north and south with a central chokepoint and a strategically critical central island (Isle of Thrones). For these reasons, it will be limited to 2 OR 4 nations to insure a north/south split.
|
March 29th, 2006, 05:10 PM
|
|
Major General
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: 500km from Ulm
Posts: 2,279
Thanks: 9
Thanked 18 Times in 12 Posts
|
|
Re: Setting valid start provinces...
Then simply use
#start <province nbr> :
"By creating at least one start location for each player, every player will start at one of these locations."
Simply mark 2 or 4 provinces as starting provinces and you're done.
Dunno why everyone thinks he has to mark every other province as nostart ... . Unless you want really random starting provinces, but some corner provinces or those with only 1 neighbour taken from the list of possible draws.
__________________
As for AI the most effective work around to this problem so far is to simply use an American instead, they tend to put up a bit more of a fight than your average Artificial Idiot.
... James McGuigan on rec.games.computer.stars somewhen back in 1998 ...
|
Thread Tools |
|
Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is On
|
|
|
|
|