.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Shrapnel Community > Space Empires: IV & V

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 16th, 2004, 05:00 PM

clark clark is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
clark is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Would You Consider This A Backstab?

Ya know, the greatest way to start a war you didn't "want" is to create something of a diplomatic blunder...

I didn't mean to close that warp point that is integral to you and your ally combined defense against an agressor freely passing through my territoy.

I didn't mean to leave 100 warships over your strategic choke-point defending your space.

It's all a mistake... oops, I did it again. Sorry. "Oh, that wasn't me that canceled the treaty- I missed my turn, it was the AI. Sorry for glassing those planets.

Here is the rather telling part, no?

Quote:
Having said this, I am pretty nervous about becoming a highway for maruading fleets to go through to pound their enemies, and I presume that my allies don't want me sitting on the fence while they are in a war. So, I don't preclude future combatoperations to support my allies.
Very honorable. I suggest the interested parties find out who exactly he is reffering to as being an "ally".

Sorry to chime in, but it's interesting watch the fireworks... good luck all.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 16th, 2004, 05:45 PM

AMF AMF is offline
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,254
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
AMF is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Would You Consider This A Backstab?

Absolutely true - diplomatic history is replete with cases where nations relied upon such tactics.

However, even more telling is that "time will tell"

And, of course, the reality of realpolitik inherently demands that no single power would likely relenquish their right to self-defense or their soveriegn right to wage war. Hobbesian world, and all that. So, I would say no power would ever likely "preclude future combatoperations to support [their] allies." WHo would ally with such a power? Not me, certainly. Trust is worth more than a thousand dreadnoughts.

Quote:
Originally posted by clark:
Ya know, the greatest way to start a war you didn't "want" is to create something of a diplomatic blunder...

Here is the rather telling part, no?

quote:
So, I don't preclude future combatoperations to support my allies.

Anyways, this is all sort of fun to air one's ditziness. For the record, it was NOT me that was being referred to in the first post...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 16th, 2004, 06:40 PM
Slynky's Avatar

Slynky Slynky is offline
General
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,499
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Slynky is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Would You Consider This A Backstab?

When I get home tonight and get to take a longer look, I'll be able to be positive who did it. If it's alarikf, we've already talked. If someone else, then it's a new story.
__________________
ALLIANCE, n. In international politics, the union of two thieves who have their hands so deeply inserted in each other's pocket that they cannot separately plunder a third. (Ambrose Bierce)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 16th, 2004, 08:27 PM

rdouglass rdouglass is offline
Major
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Biddeford, ME, USA
Posts: 1,007
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
rdouglass is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Would You Consider This A Backstab?

Could it have possibly been an enemy closing it from the other side? (one of those aforementioned diplomatic blunder - accusing your ally of what your enemy did...)

The enemy may be sitting back gleefully reading this topic watching the alliance fall apart.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 16th, 2004, 08:40 PM
Slynky's Avatar

Slynky Slynky is offline
General
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,499
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Slynky is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Would You Consider This A Backstab?

Quote:
Originally posted by rdouglass:
Could it have possibly been an enemy closing it from the other side? (one of those aforementioned diplomatic blunder - accusing your ally of what your enemy did...)

The enemy may be sitting back gleefully reading this topic watching the alliance fall apart.
I checked the obvious places quickly. There were no large fleets around...but I didn't look for a lone ship (or 2). Of course, it would be unusual for someone to move a stellar manipulation ship into enemy territory without adequate escort . So, without having a chance to look closer (I looked over the turn quickly Last night at bed time), the prevailing assumption is that it was an ally.
__________________
ALLIANCE, n. In international politics, the union of two thieves who have their hands so deeply inserted in each other's pocket that they cannot separately plunder a third. (Ambrose Bierce)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 16th, 2004, 08:48 PM

clark clark is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
clark is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Would You Consider This A Backstab?

Well, one, can you see cloaked ships?

and two, are you sure the warp point wasn't closed on the opposite end (the receiving system)? Or was it closed in your space?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 16th, 2004, 09:08 PM
Slynky's Avatar

Slynky Slynky is offline
General
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,499
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Slynky is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Would You Consider This A Backstab?

Quote:
Originally posted by clark:
Well, one, can you see cloaked ships?

and two, are you sure the warp point wasn't closed on the opposite end (the receiving system)? Or was it closed in your space?
Cloaked ships can't activate stellar manip, so, if it moved into place cloaked (Last turn) and then uncloaked and did the closure, I will be able to check to see a ship leaving on turn rerun. I'll just have to do it for the other end of the hole to see. Right now, I'm not even sure which warphole it was (there were 5 there, I think). I have optic sats in every system. AND, in this game, the stellar device must be on a frigate. That doesn't leave much room for a 30Kt Stealth component .
__________________
ALLIANCE, n. In international politics, the union of two thieves who have their hands so deeply inserted in each other's pocket that they cannot separately plunder a third. (Ambrose Bierce)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.