.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Shrapnel Community > Space Empires: IV & V

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 8th, 2005, 12:14 AM

bearclaw bearclaw is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Prince George BC, Canada
Posts: 840
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
bearclaw is on a distinguished road
Default Question about Subjucation

When someone has a Subjugation treaty with another empire, they gain all tech advances that the subjugated empire developes. What happens if a subjugated empire finds a Unique tech? Does the Dominating empire gain it also?
__________________
Nick (bearclaw)
You don't know the Power of the Dark Side. I must obey my Master.
Potestatem obscuri lateris nescitis
A+ Se+++ GdY $++ Fr- C+ Csp Sf* AuO M++ MpTFdAM St RTNH Pw++ Fq++ Nd++ Rp++ G++ Mm++ Bb++ L+ Tcp-
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 8th, 2005, 12:22 AM
douglas's Avatar

douglas douglas is offline
Major
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 1,152
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
douglas is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Question about Subjucation

Actually, the dominating empire doesn't gain any tech from the subjugated empire. That part of the documentation is completely wrong. Yes, I have tested this.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 8th, 2005, 12:25 AM
Slick's Avatar

Slick Slick is offline
Brigadier General
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Kailua, Hawaii
Posts: 1,860
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Slick is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Question about Subjucation

Interesting. I thought the dominating empire gains any *new* techs that are researched from the subjugated empire.
__________________
Slick.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 8th, 2005, 12:39 AM

bearclaw bearclaw is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Prince George BC, Canada
Posts: 840
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
bearclaw is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Question about Subjucation

Quote:
douglas said:
Actually, the dominating empire doesn't gain any tech from the subjugated empire. That part of the documentation is completely wrong. Yes, I have tested this.
Ah, well, there goes that plan. Thanks.
__________________
Nick (bearclaw)
You don't know the Power of the Dark Side. I must obey my Master.
Potestatem obscuri lateris nescitis
A+ Se+++ GdY $++ Fr- C+ Csp Sf* AuO M++ MpTFdAM St RTNH Pw++ Fq++ Nd++ Rp++ G++ Mm++ Bb++ L+ Tcp-
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 8th, 2005, 12:53 AM

Renegade 13 Renegade 13 is offline
General
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,205
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Renegade 13 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Question about Subjugation

Well, it's actually a good thing that techs don't go to the subjugating empire...think of how that could be used in a PBW game if all the techs that the subjugated empire had would be instantly transferred to their ally, who would just subjugate them for a turn. Switch it around, and you have both empires at equal tech for the time being.
__________________
Courage doesn't always roar. Sometimes courage is that little voice at the end of the day that says "I'll try again tomorrow".

Maturity is knowing you were an idiot in the past. Wisdom is knowing that you'll be an idiot in the future.

Download the Nosral Confederacy (a shipset based upon the Phong) and the Tyrellian Imperium, an organic looking shipset I created! (The Nosral are the better of the two [img]/threads/images/Graemlins/Grin.gif[/img] )
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 8th, 2005, 12:55 AM

bearclaw bearclaw is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Prince George BC, Canada
Posts: 840
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
bearclaw is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Question about Subjugation

No, it doesn't say that they get all existing techs, just new ones researched since subjugation.

BTW, R13, I've moved to PG now. We're practically neighbors!
__________________
Nick (bearclaw)
You don't know the Power of the Dark Side. I must obey my Master.
Potestatem obscuri lateris nescitis
A+ Se+++ GdY $++ Fr- C+ Csp Sf* AuO M++ MpTFdAM St RTNH Pw++ Fq++ Nd++ Rp++ G++ Mm++ Bb++ L+ Tcp-
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 8th, 2005, 01:15 AM

Renegade 13 Renegade 13 is offline
General
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,205
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Renegade 13 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Question about Subjucation

Awesome, I'm moving to PG in September! Going to university . Should meet sometime.
__________________
Courage doesn't always roar. Sometimes courage is that little voice at the end of the day that says "I'll try again tomorrow".

Maturity is knowing you were an idiot in the past. Wisdom is knowing that you'll be an idiot in the future.

Download the Nosral Confederacy (a shipset based upon the Phong) and the Tyrellian Imperium, an organic looking shipset I created! (The Nosral are the better of the two [img]/threads/images/Graemlins/Grin.gif[/img] )
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 8th, 2005, 01:15 AM
douglas's Avatar

douglas douglas is offline
Major
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 1,152
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
douglas is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Question about Subjucation

The dominant empire doesn't get any techs at all, previously researched or new development.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 8th, 2005, 04:01 AM
Slick's Avatar

Slick Slick is offline
Brigadier General
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Kailua, Hawaii
Posts: 1,860
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Slick is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Question about Subjucation

I'd consider that a bug.
__________________
Slick.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old April 8th, 2005, 08:57 AM
NullAshton's Avatar

NullAshton NullAshton is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Floating in space.
Posts: 2,297
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
NullAshton is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Question about Subjucation

They do. When I subjugated an AI race, I got a whole bunch of technology from them. Of course, I was light-years ahead of them in technology... but I still got the technology. It's only technology you can research, I believe, so I don't think you get any racial or unique tech.
__________________
Hey! I found squirrels!

Vala - "The last time I was this bored, I took hostages!"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.