|
|
|
|
July 31st, 2003, 06:28 PM
|
|
General
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,499
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
PPB -vs- Standard Shield (question)
Noticed that lots of times, after a ship with regular shields has taken a few hits by my PPBs, the combat "hit" shows the shield picture around the ship as if the shields absorbed a PPB hit. That can't be, can it? If not, then does anyone know what's going on?
__________________
ALLIANCE, n. In international politics, the union of two thieves who have their hands so deeply inserted in each other's pocket that they cannot separately plunder a third. (Ambrose Bierce)
|
July 31st, 2003, 06:33 PM
|
|
Shrapnel Fanatic
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 11,451
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
|
|
Re: PPB -vs- Standard Shield (question)
IIRC, the shields should still flare up, but the PP beam will ignore them and cause an explosion on the hull.
It may also be that your opponent has mixed phased and regular shields. Once the normal shield generators are destroyed, then the Phased shields will start blocking your beams.
__________________
Things you want:
|
July 31st, 2003, 06:39 PM
|
|
General
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,499
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: PPB -vs- Standard Shield (question)
IIRC, it never happens more than once per ship. No matter how many shields it has. And since I can see what is on the enemy ship, I've been careful to note that there are no phased shields. And, IIRC, doesn't matter what size the shields are or if there is more than one. It just seems to do it ONCE per ship during combat replay.
Maybe I should make notes the next time...
__________________
ALLIANCE, n. In international politics, the union of two thieves who have their hands so deeply inserted in each other's pocket that they cannot separately plunder a third. (Ambrose Bierce)
|
July 31st, 2003, 06:44 PM
|
|
National Security Advisor
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5,623
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
|
|
Re: PPB -vs- Standard Shield (question)
The PPB may trigger the shields, but that doesn't mean it is being blocked by them. Plus, aren't there explosions when components are destroyed even when the shields are shown?
|
July 31st, 2003, 06:50 PM
|
|
General
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,499
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: PPB -vs- Standard Shield (question)
Quote:
Originally posted by Captain Kwok:
The PPB may trigger the shields, but that doesn't mean it is being blocked by them. Plus, aren't there explosions when components are destroyed even when the shields are shown?
|
For one, why does it only show the shield flare picture only once (though the shield may be, say, 225 strength)? Does the flare just mean that I killed the shield generator component?
As to explosions, I don't remember offhand. Seems like there is the usual sound of a hit but not the picture of a hit.
Again, I'll have to take notes next time.
__________________
ALLIANCE, n. In international politics, the union of two thieves who have their hands so deeply inserted in each other's pocket that they cannot separately plunder a third. (Ambrose Bierce)
|
July 31st, 2003, 07:34 PM
|
|
Shrapnel Fanatic
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 11,451
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
|
|
Re: PPB -vs- Standard Shield (question)
Replays are quite inaccurate on the graphics side.
It may be that you see the shield effect only when the shields get weakened. (This would be the shot after a generator is destroyed)
__________________
Things you want:
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is On
|
|
|
|
|