|
|
|
|
|
October 14th, 2006, 07:05 PM
|
|
Shrapnel Fanatic
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 11,451
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
|
|
Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions
__________________
Things you want:
|
October 14th, 2006, 07:08 PM
|
National Security Advisor
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 5,085
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions
It displays the value AT ten.
As for the forumla..
iff %range% <=10 ,30,iff %range% <=40 , 20,iff %range% <=120,10,0
aside from the formating, that should work. The spaces have to be in the proper spot and you're missing ( and ) marks as well as the [ around %range%
iff([%range%] <= 10, 30, iff([%range%] <= 40, 20, iff( [%range%] <= 120, 10, 0))) should work.
EDIT:
>=121, 10000, 0
The >= is for the cut off point.
The 10000 is to change all damage to 0 past that point.
I have no idea why the last 0 is in there(?).
You set the range limit in the DAMAGE forumla, not the to hit formula. EDIT2: and that's what you did. Oops. Anyway, despite SJ's protest 10000 works fine in that role.
Even if the to-hit is -99999, a ship will still fire and waste supplies, and the "max range" strategy will use that to determine its range.
The second 0 is the ELSE part of the statement; its what the formula uses if the range isn't above 120.
__________________
Phoenix-D
I am not senile. I just talk to myself because the rest of you don't provide adequate conversation.
- Digger
|
October 14th, 2006, 07:24 PM
|
|
National Security Advisor
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5,623
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
|
|
Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions
Quote:
aegisx said:The AI has a function to pick a colony type, what calls that? It also seems to base what colony type based off of how many other colonies of the same type there are?
|
The file Script_AI_ColonyType.txt contains the syntax for the AI to choose a colony type. In stock, it chooses a colony type based on a set percentage desired for each type. If it picked a resource type, then it would pick what resource by the value. Of course this meant a lot of times the AI was using good resource planets for stupid things. However, in the Balance Mod I switched this for the AI to pick a one of the resource colonies if the planet value was good to excellent and if it was poor in value to pick one of the other types based on a desired percentage in the empire.
|
October 14th, 2006, 07:28 PM
|
Second Lieutenant
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 482
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions
Kwok: Nice, Ill have to check that out.
What I was looking for is what actually calls the Pick_ColonyType function. Or is it event driven, so the internal engine calls that function onColonize() or something.
|
October 14th, 2006, 07:47 PM
|
|
National Security Advisor
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5,623
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
|
|
Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions
Quote:
aegisx said:What I was looking for is what actually calls the Pick_ColonyType function. Or is it event driven, so the internal engine calls that function onColonize() or something.
|
The Script_AI_Orders_Ships.txt file has the colony minister choosing a planet from the colonizable list but I'm not sure how its determining which one to go to first other than maybe closest.
|
October 14th, 2006, 09:51 PM
|
Second Lieutenant
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 482
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions
If I remember right, it is just the first in it's list. That could be another useful place to mod, so they colonize more intelligently.
|
October 15th, 2006, 03:39 AM
|
|
Brigadier General
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: WA
Posts: 1,894
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
|
|
Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions
Next few questions:
1. Can small craft (i.e. fighters or “shuttles”) be given the ability to make warp transits now?
2. Can the same small craft be given the cargo ability to transport troops or other goodies?
3. If they can transport troops can they be set to land troops?
__________________
President Elect Shang; Tal-Re Republic of Free Worlds
Welcome to Super Vegeta’s Big Bang Attack… Welcome to OBLIVION!
“Don Panoz made an awesome car and… an incinerator” Bill Auberlen
|
October 15th, 2006, 04:43 AM
|
|
Shrapnel Fanatic
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Southern CA, USA
Posts: 18,394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
|
|
Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions
1. Take a look at VehicleUnitTypes.txt and weep with joy.
2. They can act like troops and participate in ground combat. Dunno about actually carrying other units though. There isn't anything in VehicleUnitTypes.txt about it, but it would be really easy to test. Somehow, I doubt that units would be able to carry units, however, due to circular capacities and infinite storage space.
|
October 15th, 2006, 09:16 AM
|
Sergeant
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Somewhere on the wine-dark sea...
Posts: 236
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions
I'm looking at the AI setup scripts and wondering how the Racial Traits section is used...
Do the "random empires" that get added if you select "Generate random computer controlled players" use this to determine their racial traits?
If so, I would assume that they do so in order as listed in the script, until the point limit of the game is reached. However, you can select 2000, 3000 or 5000 point limits and I've checked 4 races so far and they don't add up. For the Abbidon, Amonkrie & Cue Cappa it comes evenly to 2000 and 3000 if you add them in order, but the total list in the script is less than 5000. For the Drushocka, adding them in order jumps you from 1500 to 2500, and the point total of all the traits listed in the script is 6000. So how does this work -
In a 5000 point game, would the Abbidon, Amonkrie & Cue Cappa take additional traits based on something else (what?)to get to 5000? Or would they just soldier on with <5000 in a 5000 point game? Do they get something else for their unused racial points? In a 2000 point game, would the Drushocka skip over that 1000 pt trait at 1500 to get to the next 500 pt trait on the list, or act as if the list didn't contain enough traits to reach the game point total.
Similarly, do I assume correctly the neutral players use the "default" script? In that, the raciat trait section actually contains formulas - a list of if statements in the form...
if (Sys_Get_Random_Long(1, 4) = 1) then
call Add_Racial_Trait("Advanced Storage Techniques")
endif
How does this work -
Does it go down the list until it fills the point total for the game? Again what if it is 500 points under the limit and the next one it gets is a 1000 pt trait? What if it gets through the whole list without hitting the limit? Do the regular races default to this when their list contains fewer pts worth of traits than the game limit?
Also, I haven't seen any negative point trait being called out in the scripts...
|
October 15th, 2006, 12:26 PM
|
|
Brigadier General
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: WA
Posts: 1,894
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
|
|
Re: Modding SEV Thread Questions
Quote:
Imperator Fyron said:
1. Take a look at VehicleUnitTypes.txt and weep with joy.
|
Finally... There’s no “weep” emoticon; that sucks?
Has anyone tested to see if it works though?
__________________
President Elect Shang; Tal-Re Republic of Free Worlds
Welcome to Super Vegeta’s Big Bang Attack… Welcome to OBLIVION!
“Don Panoz made an awesome car and… an incinerator” Bill Auberlen
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is On
|
|
|
|
|