.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Shrapnel Community > Space Empires: IV & V

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old August 25th, 2002, 06:47 PM
Grandpa Kim's Avatar

Grandpa Kim Grandpa Kim is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 858
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Grandpa Kim is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How do you take over an empty colony?

Quote:
Originally posted by Suicide Junkie:
Can't you just attack it with a troop transport?

If you can attack it with ships, surely the transports can capture it...
Hmm.... Give the troop transport 1 weapon, set strategy to point blank. When the transport is adjacent to the planet, maybe it will drop the troops. Worth a try.

Kim
__________________
Those who can, do.
Those who can't, teach.
Those who can't teach, slag.

http://se4-gaming.net/
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old August 25th, 2002, 07:01 PM
geoschmo's Avatar

geoschmo geoschmo is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ohio
Posts: 8,450
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
geoschmo is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How do you take over an empty colony?

No, that doesnt work. If you set your transport to point blank he charges in and zaps the empty colony. Doesn't even try to drop troops unless the strategy is capture planet. And doesn't seem to register there is a colony there if there is no pop and the strategy is set to capture planet. Runs for the corner everytime.

Works fine in tactical, but definetly a bug for simultaneous combat. Has anyone emailed this to Malfador yet I wonder?

Geoschmo
__________________
I used to be somebody but now I am somebody else
Who I'll be tomorrow is anybody's guess
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old August 25th, 2002, 09:40 PM
capnq's Avatar

capnq capnq is offline
General
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 3,070
Thanks: 13
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
capnq is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How do you take over an empty colony?

You might be able to get the owner to give or trade it to you, especially if it's an AI.
__________________
Cap'n Q

"Good morning, Pooh Bear," said Eeyore gloomily. "If it is a good morning," he said. "Which I doubt," said he.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old August 26th, 2002, 10:14 PM
DirectorTsaarx's Avatar

DirectorTsaarx DirectorTsaarx is offline
Major
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Northern Virginia, USA
Posts: 1,048
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DirectorTsaarx is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How do you take over an empty colony?

Quote:
Originally posted by Grandpakim:
quote:
Originally posted by Suicide Junkie:
Can't you just attack it with a troop transport?

If you can attack it with ships, surely the transports can capture it...
Hmm.... Give the troop transport 1 weapon, set strategy to point blank. When the transport is adjacent to the planet, maybe it will drop the troops. Worth a try.

Kim

There's a similar problem if you create a "troop transport" with neutron beam weapons (pop. only damage) and low-tech troops. Once the ship reduces the planet population to 0, the combat will generally end, even though the colony still "exists", because the combat engine doesn't account for 0-pop colonies with intact facilities. You can force the issue in tactical by attacking a second time and manually dropping troops, but I don't know a way to force the issue in strategic.
__________________
L++ Se+++ GdY $++ Fr C+++ Csc Sf Ai AuO M+ MpTM S Ss RRSHP+ Pw- Fq->Fq+ Nd+++ Rp G++ Mm++ Bb---
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old September 14th, 2002, 07:32 AM
Grandpa Kim's Avatar

Grandpa Kim Grandpa Kim is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 858
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Grandpa Kim is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How do you take over an empty colony?

Some new info, fresh from one of my PBW games. I sent a "capture" fleet in blind to take a planet in another system. As it turned out, the planet had 0 pop. ... but I captured it anyway! There were two other empty colonies in the system so I tried to capture them the next turn and was successful on only one of them. Still, two outta three ain't bad.

So what did these two colonies have in common? ..... Facilities! Of the third planet, I have no idea, but it seems quite likely it had no facilities. This evidence is thin, but I think a colony needs either population or facilities to be eligible for capture.

Oh, BTW, although my fleet took NO action against the third planet, merely passed through, no combat log, it is now uncolonized and open for recolonization. Weird.

Kim
__________________
Those who can, do.
Those who can't, teach.
Those who can't teach, slag.

http://se4-gaming.net/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.