|
|
|
 |
|

April 28th, 2007, 10:04 PM
|
 |
General
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 3,861
Thanks: 144
Thanked 403 Times in 176 Posts
|
|
Re: Dom3 Unit Maker
I have now tested this with Mono 1.2.2.1 and it works fine for one negligible unimplemented method:
Code:
Unimplemented: Control::set_AutoSize(bool)
and one shortcoming: You seem to be using the backslash as directory seperator which gives problems with non-Windows systems, of course. Since Windows is POSIX-conform since WinNT and takes a slash "/" instead of a backslash "\", too, could you change your program to use slashes instead, or find out what the right character to use is? I think the trouble is just that you have the backslash hardcoded so far. So far, it saves the files under weird filenames (in the parent directory where you want to save it, with the filename "dir\file.dm" for the file.
|

April 29th, 2007, 12:10 AM
|
 |
Sergeant
|
|
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 338
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: Dom3 Unit Maker
yeah, those slashes are hardcoded. i believe windows will take either the back- or forward slash, so should be an easy fix. ive been waiting for my new lappy to arrive before starting to play with new software, my old pc is barely limping along. so after i get that i'll experiment with mono and get that multiplatform release out.
|

April 29th, 2007, 01:00 AM
|
 |
Shrapnel Fanatic
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Vacaville, CA, USA
Posts: 13,736
Thanks: 341
Thanked 479 Times in 326 Posts
|
|
Re: Dom3 Unit Maker
Will MapGen come out multiplatform also?
Id like to program a basic program to run batches of daily maps off of my server. Something like I did for Dom2 with DomMap (which I might resurrect)
http://www.dom2minions.com/~dominion...andomMaps.html
I was thinking of having it run at night on my Windows machine then automate transfering them to the linux server. But Id much rather it all ran on linux
__________________
-- DISCLAIMER:
This game is NOT suitable for students, interns, apprentices, or anyone else who is expected to pass tests on a regular basis. Do not think about strategies while operating heavy machinery. Before beginning this game make arrangements for someone to check on you daily. If you find that your game has continued for more than 36 hours straight then you should consult a physician immediately (Do NOT show him the game!)
|

April 29th, 2007, 04:15 AM
|
 |
Second Lieutenant
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 409
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
|
Re: Dom3 Unit Maker
so, when can we expect the next version of the unit gen?
I love this thing! saves me tons of time modding!
|

April 29th, 2007, 07:10 AM
|
 |
General
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 3,861
Thanks: 144
Thanked 403 Times in 176 Posts
|
|
Re: Dom3 Unit Maker
Quote:
paradoxharbinger said:
yeah, those slashes are hardcoded. i believe windows will take either the back- or forward slash, so should be an easy fix.
|
Yes, that's what I meant with WinNT and successors being POSIX-compliant. I had a quick look and it seems that there is a Path I/O class in System.IO which gives you the directory separator char via (Alt)DirectorySeparatorChar. This should give the right character to use on non-Windows environments, too. I just had a try with DirectorySeparatorChar and AltDirectorySeparatorChar and both output a slash ("/") for me: Code:
using System;
using System.IO;
public class Test {
public static void Main(string[] args) {
Console.WriteLine("This is the DirectorySeparatorChar: " + Path.DirectorySeparatorChar);
}
}
Quote:
Gandalf Parker said:
Will MapGen come out multiplatform also?
|
Mono does not recognize the assembly because of the depency on Microsoft DLLs. Wine chokes on MSVCP80.dll and MSVCR80.dll, even after installing them, I guess that's because my wine version is too old (I'm using wine 0.9.29). I can run it with Cedega 5.1.1, however. So if you want to run the MapGen then either get Cedega or a newer wine version than I'm using, then you can use the MapGen on Linux.
|

April 29th, 2007, 11:51 AM
|
 |
Shrapnel Fanatic
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Vacaville, CA, USA
Posts: 13,736
Thanks: 341
Thanked 479 Times in 326 Posts
|
|
Re: Dom3 Unit Maker
Thanks for the info. Or a vmware to run an emulation of winxp.
But no Id rather not. My 2 linux boxes are internet servers so I try to avoid gui and emulated environments. As kludgy as it sounds, Id rather do a nightly transfer from my desktop. Its more serverish (thats not a word)
__________________
-- DISCLAIMER:
This game is NOT suitable for students, interns, apprentices, or anyone else who is expected to pass tests on a regular basis. Do not think about strategies while operating heavy machinery. Before beginning this game make arrangements for someone to check on you daily. If you find that your game has continued for more than 36 hours straight then you should consult a physician immediately (Do NOT show him the game!)
|

April 29th, 2007, 10:31 PM
|
 |
Sergeant
|
|
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 338
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: Dom3 Unit Maker
eventually i will try and get mapgen to be multi-os. think i mentioned this before, maybe not.
|

April 30th, 2007, 10:57 AM
|
 |
General
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 3,861
Thanks: 144
Thanked 403 Times in 176 Posts
|
|
Re: Dom3 Unit Maker
P.S.: Since I'm getting the Dom3 server monitor tool ready for Linux / Mono, too, and there is the same trouble as here: Probably the best way of getting the full path for a file is to use Path.Combine. Example code:
Code:
using System;
using System.IO;
public class Test {
public static void Main(string[] args) {
string s = Path.Combine(Environment.GetEnvironmentVariable("HOME"), "test");
Console.WriteLine(s);
Console.WriteLine(File.Exists(s));
Console.WriteLine(Directory.Exists(s));
}
}
I didn't have any experience with C# so far, but it sure is nice, I must admit. 
|

April 30th, 2007, 01:12 PM
|
 |
Shrapnel Fanatic
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Vacaville, CA, USA
Posts: 13,736
Thanks: 341
Thanked 479 Times in 326 Posts
|
|
Re: Dom3 Unit Maker
For some reason that doesnt work on my linux system.
Personally, since you have a config file asking for a path to a file, Id just add another option for the path seperator.
Or if I were to do a test I think it would be something like this.
can I see
./program.cfg
or do I have to look at
.\program.cfg
__________________
-- DISCLAIMER:
This game is NOT suitable for students, interns, apprentices, or anyone else who is expected to pass tests on a regular basis. Do not think about strategies while operating heavy machinery. Before beginning this game make arrangements for someone to check on you daily. If you find that your game has continued for more than 36 hours straight then you should consult a physician immediately (Do NOT show him the game!)
|

April 30th, 2007, 01:19 PM
|
 |
General
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 3,861
Thanks: 144
Thanked 403 Times in 176 Posts
|
|
Re: Dom3 Unit Maker
Gandalf, have you installed Mono? What does "mono --version" tell you?
If you have installed it, then running "mono Dom3UnitMaker.exe" should work for you without problems, except for lots of "Unimplemented: Control::set_AutoSize(bool)" messages.
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is On
|
|
|
|
|