|
|
|
|
January 9th, 2009, 05:50 PM
|
Corporal
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montreal
Posts: 186
Thanks: 21
Thanked 16 Times in 7 Posts
|
|
Curious problem with #newweapon
I need to create a magic spear that is one handed. This should not be a problem, or so I would have thought.
I have a commander that was carrying an enchanted spear and shield, this being thematic for the commander. However if a player were to give the commander say, a magic shield, the spear would disappear. This because the spear is defined in game as a two handed weapon. So I need to define a new weapon that is 'called' a spear, that is actually a single hand weapon, and to equip the commander with that new weapon. So I created:
#newweapon 733
#name "Spear of Slaanesh"
#dmg 6
#att 1
#def 1
#len 4
#magic
#rcost 0
#end
Now in game when playing, the commander is in fact carrying a weapon called in game; "Spear of Slaanesh" with the listed stats. However, if I give that commander a magic shield, just like before, the spear is no longer equipped. !!!
The above described weapon does not 'copystats' from a spear, it is ostensibly as far as I know a completely unique new weapon. Why on earth is the game treating it still as a two handed weapon? Does the length of it default to a two handed weapon? Is there a command I can use to force it into a one handed weapon?
|
January 9th, 2009, 06:15 PM
|
|
Shrapnel Fanatic
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Vacaville, CA, USA
Posts: 13,736
Thanks: 341
Thanked 479 Times in 326 Posts
|
|
Re: Curious problem with #newweapon
the "Enchanted Spear" (id 9) is length 4 and one-handed.
Try copying the stats from it
__________________
-- DISCLAIMER:
This game is NOT suitable for students, interns, apprentices, or anyone else who is expected to pass tests on a regular basis. Do not think about strategies while operating heavy machinery. Before beginning this game make arrangements for someone to check on you daily. If you find that your game has continued for more than 36 hours straight then you should consult a physician immediately (Do NOT show him the game!)
|
January 9th, 2009, 08:28 PM
|
BANNED USER
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5,463
Thanks: 165
Thanked 324 Times in 190 Posts
|
|
Re: Curious problem with #newweapon
You can't copystats weapons.
I'm not sure what the problem is here. I believe I've seen a modded weapon stay when a shield item was equipped.
Oh, hang on, I think I have the answer. Try removing the monster's native shield from your code, then give him the item in game and see what happens.
|
January 12th, 2009, 10:47 AM
|
|
Corporal
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: France, south
Posts: 100
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: Curious problem with #newweapon
Hello everybody,
just a passing-by comment for what I had saw in my 3-years playing : for a commander which is by default equiped with two single-handed weapons (say MA Pythium assassin) with only ONE single-handed weapon, he loses the other one-handed basic weapon, and I saw this kind of thing with commander with a sword & a shield by default : give him a sword, or a shield, and IIRC, he loses the other default single-handed equipement.
So, maybe the problem is NOT with the mod,n but with the game (bug threaded?).
__________________
QXel
The One Who Only Play Single Player Games For Fun, Who Is Not A Maniac of 'The Ultimate Tactic', The Negation of 'The Ugly But Very Efficient Micro-Management For Winning With Minimum Losses And Ascend All The Time'
|
January 12th, 2009, 03:06 PM
|
|
Lieutenant Colonel
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Florence, Italy
Posts: 1,424
Thanks: 740
Thanked 112 Times in 63 Posts
|
|
Re: Curious problem with #newweapon
I think it's quite a common problem. Try giving a 1-handed weapon to a 4-armed guy and he loses everything else too
|
January 12th, 2009, 03:50 PM
|
Lieutenant General
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,691
Thanks: 5
Thanked 39 Times in 31 Posts
|
|
Re: Curious problem with #newweapon
Well I just gave a new trooper in my Shiar mod a new weapon and gvae that command 2x and he kept having it once... another trooper had that weapon and another one and didn't get the 2nd weapon either.
__________________
Want a blend of fantasy and sci-fi? Try the total conversion Dominions 3000 mod with a new and fully modded solar system map.
Dragons wanted? Try the Dragons, Magic Incarnate nation.
New and different undead nation? Try Souls of Shiar. Including new powerfull holy magic.
In for a whole new sort of game? Then try my scenario map Gang Wars.
|
January 12th, 2009, 10:59 PM
|
Corporal
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montreal
Posts: 186
Thanks: 21
Thanked 16 Times in 7 Posts
|
|
Re: Curious problem with #newweapon
I was able to skirt the problem by using a weapon's number code rather than the name string when specifying the weapon. I don't know why that would make a difference, but it did. I suppose there might be more than one weapon defined that uses the same text string but only one reference number per weapon, so the system could get confused with the use of the name string and wind up using a weapon that has different stats than one would expect. Resulting in of course, sometimes strange behavior.
|
January 13th, 2009, 06:15 AM
|
Lieutenant General
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,691
Thanks: 5
Thanked 39 Times in 31 Posts
|
|
Re: Curious problem with #newweapon
ow yeah that is known, but when placing weapons on units I always use the number already.
__________________
Want a blend of fantasy and sci-fi? Try the total conversion Dominions 3000 mod with a new and fully modded solar system map.
Dragons wanted? Try the Dragons, Magic Incarnate nation.
New and different undead nation? Try Souls of Shiar. Including new powerfull holy magic.
In for a whole new sort of game? Then try my scenario map Gang Wars.
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is On
|
|
|
|
|