.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 2: The Ascension Wars

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 22nd, 2004, 02:29 AM

Merry Jolkar Merry Jolkar is offline
BANNED USER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 248
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Merry Jolkar is on a distinguished road
Default how can I set up humans vs. AI?

I'd like to set up a game in which three friends and I play against a major enemy -- as in Lord of the Rings. Where can I learn how to do this? I see from Gandalf's site that he has a WEvsTHEM map, but it's too big for my purpose...

Thanks!
Merry
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 22nd, 2004, 02:42 AM
Gandalf Parker's Avatar

Gandalf Parker Gandalf Parker is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Vacaville, CA, USA
Posts: 13,736
Thanks: 341
Thanked 479 Times in 326 Posts
Gandalf Parker is on a distinguished road
Default Re: how can I set up humans vs. AI?

You can just select other nations and choose them to be computer opponent.

If you want them to ally against you then you can edit one of the map files. There is a mapedit.pdf in the dominions2/docs directory.

Choose a map you want to play and find it in the dominions2/maps directory. Lets say you choose the Aran map.

Copy the .map to a new file (such as copy aran.map to OurGame.map)

Open it in Wordpad or some other editor.

Find the line that says "#domtitle Aran"
Change it to something like "#domtitle Our Game"

Now scroll down to where it starts doing things like landname and neighbor and terrain commands. Insert lines for the AIs you want to be in the game.

The easiest thing (if you want allied enemys)is to add "#allied X Y" where X and Y are the numbers of the nations you want allied. Here is a list of them....
0 Abysia
1 Atlantis
2 Pythium
3 Man
4 Ulm
5 Ctis
6 Arcoscephale
7 Caelum
8 Ermor
9 Marignon
10 Pangaea
11 Vanheim
12 Jotun
13 R’lyeh
14 Mictlan
15 T’ien Chi
16 Machaka
__________________
-- DISCLAIMER:
This game is NOT suitable for students, interns, apprentices, or anyone else who is expected to pass tests on a regular basis. Do not think about strategies while operating heavy machinery. Before beginning this game make arrangements for someone to check on you daily. If you find that your game has continued for more than 36 hours straight then you should consult a physician immediately (Do NOT show him the game!)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 22nd, 2004, 02:45 AM

Merry Jolkar Merry Jolkar is offline
BANNED USER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 248
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Merry Jolkar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: how can I set up humans vs. AI?

That is a big help! Thank you.
Merry
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 22nd, 2004, 04:54 PM

verax verax is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
verax is on a distinguished road
Default Re: how can I set up humans vs. AI?

So could I set something like this in theory?

#allied 1 2 3 4 5 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

And this would allow us (0 6 16) to play against all the AIs, or any subset thereof? IE - if we selected only 4 AIs from the GUI, that they would be allied?

Is it really that easy?

thanks again Gandalf.

Verax
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 22nd, 2004, 05:07 PM
Gandalf Parker's Avatar

Gandalf Parker Gandalf Parker is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Vacaville, CA, USA
Posts: 13,736
Thanks: 341
Thanked 479 Times in 326 Posts
Gandalf Parker is on a distinguished road
Default Re: how can I set up humans vs. AI?

Quote:
Originally posted by verax:
So could I set something like this in theory?

#allied 1 2 3 4 5 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
Nope not quite that easy. Although maybe the devs will see that and think it could be done that way in a patch.

Quote:

And this would allow us (0 6 16) to play against all the AIs, or any subset thereof? IE - if we selected only 4 AIs from the GUI, that they would be allied?
They only ally 2 at a time.
You need to add lines like
#allied 1 2
but you wont need to do a #allied 2 1 since thats apparently automatic. However....
#allied 1 2
#allied 2 3
does not apparently make 1 and 3 allies.

It also seems that you can set up different Groups of allies. Such as having 1 2 3 4 be an alliance, and 5 7 8 9 10 11 be another, with 12 13 14 15 being a third.
__________________
-- DISCLAIMER:
This game is NOT suitable for students, interns, apprentices, or anyone else who is expected to pass tests on a regular basis. Do not think about strategies while operating heavy machinery. Before beginning this game make arrangements for someone to check on you daily. If you find that your game has continued for more than 36 hours straight then you should consult a physician immediately (Do NOT show him the game!)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 22nd, 2004, 05:19 PM

verax verax is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
verax is on a distinguished road
Default Re: how can I set up humans vs. AI?

Ah, got it, thanks again!

I think it would be a great option to have new functionality to the #allied switch to allow for multiple nations to be specified. Doesn't seem to hard, and would be much easier for the user to add one or two lines instead of adding 196 lines to make a 3 v 14 scenario.

Verax
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 22nd, 2004, 08:48 PM

Gateway103 Gateway103 is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 155
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Gateway103 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: how can I set up humans vs. AI?

3 v.s. 14 needs only 3 + 105 = 108 lines, not 196. But still very tedious ^_^

One problem with changing that is the game parser will need to be modified to read more than 2 numbers for #allied. Depending on how it's implemented right now, it may or may not be easy. If it's "end of line" style, then it'd be easier, but if it expects fix number of entries, that'd be trickier.

Perhaps it can be done this way, "#allied Number {country IDs}" where Number is the number of country ID entries, which tells the parser how many more number to read, as well as how many internal loops to generate for all the possible non-overlapping pairs to be allied.

Of course, I am a poor example of a programming-know-how person, so perhaps there are lot easier ways. Just ignore me then ^_^

Delirious talks...

-Gateway103
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 22nd, 2004, 09:29 PM
Gandalf Parker's Avatar

Gandalf Parker Gandalf Parker is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Vacaville, CA, USA
Posts: 13,736
Thanks: 341
Thanked 479 Times in 326 Posts
Gandalf Parker is on a distinguished road
Default Re: how can I set up humans vs. AI?

I hadnt realized how tedious that was. I tend to programmine. I do have a program which randomly generates AIs. Maybe if I rewrite it to allow some selection it would be a good idea.

Or some other nice programer. (hint, hint)
__________________
-- DISCLAIMER:
This game is NOT suitable for students, interns, apprentices, or anyone else who is expected to pass tests on a regular basis. Do not think about strategies while operating heavy machinery. Before beginning this game make arrangements for someone to check on you daily. If you find that your game has continued for more than 36 hours straight then you should consult a physician immediately (Do NOT show him the game!)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 23rd, 2004, 05:43 PM
Endoperez's Avatar

Endoperez Endoperez is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Eastern Finland
Posts: 7,110
Thanks: 145
Thanked 153 Times in 101 Posts
Endoperez is on a distinguished road
Default Re: how can I set up humans vs. AI?

Maybe another "sum-up" command? #allies_sum or something?

Other option is yet another third-party helper.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.