|
|
|
 |
|

November 30th, 2004, 07:53 PM
|
 |
Major
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,066
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
|
Re: Pointer Mod
I'm done with all the components now and almost all of the facilities. I've started working on the AI, but I can't get them to design colony ships. Arrggg!
|

December 1st, 2004, 01:07 AM
|
 |
Shrapnel Fanatic
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Southern CA, USA
Posts: 18,394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
|
|
Re: Pointer Mod
AI designing colony ships in mods can be a real nightmare... do you have any scale mounts involved? For Adamant, I have a scale mount required for colony modules to be mounted. This confused the AI to no end, and it ended up adding eihter none, or 2-3 of them. I ended up with this design:
================================================== ===
Name := Colony (Rock)
Design Type := Colony (Rock)
Vehicle Type := Ship
Default Strategy := Don't Get Hurt
Size Minimum Tonnage := 661
Size Maximum Tonnage := 661
Num Must Have At Least 1 Ability := 0
Minimum Speed := 24
Desired Speed := 24
...
Majority Comp Spaces Per One := 0
Majority Comp Ability := Colonize Planet - Rock
Secondary Comp Spaces Per One := 10000
Secondary Comp Ability := Weapon
Num Misc Abilities := 4
Misc Ability 1 Name := miscellaneous abilities not related to colony ships.
================================================== ===
The AI designed all colony ships with only one colony module. However, this caused the AI to design all types of colony ships (Rock, Ice, and Gas) from the beginning of the game. Ice and Gas ships had no colony modules. It was strange. So, I added three new components that do absolutely nothing, are free, require 0 kT, and have 1 hit point, one for each colony type. They require the appropriate colony tech. They have only ability AI Tag 10, 11 or 12, depending on the type of colony ship. The new colony ship design looks like this:
================================================== ===
Name := Colony (Rock)
Design Type := Colony (Rock)
Vehicle Type := Ship
Default Strategy := Don't Get Hurt
Size Minimum Tonnage := 661
Size Maximum Tonnage := 661
Num Must Have At Least 1 Ability := 1
Must Have Ability 1 := AI Tag 10
Minimum Speed := 24
Desired Speed := 24
...
Majority Comp Spaces Per One := 0
Majority Comp Ability := Colonize Planet - Rock
Secondary Comp Spaces Per One := 10000
Secondary Comp Ability := Weapon
Num Misc Abilities := 4
Misc Ability 1 Name := miscellaneous abilities not related to colony ships.
================================================== ===
Now, the AI designs colony ships with a single colony module, and can only design an Ice colony ship when it has that dummy component available, which is the same time it has Ice Colony Modules available.
Hopefully that was of some use to you...
|

December 1st, 2004, 01:44 PM
|
Captain
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Prince George BC, Canada
Posts: 840
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: Pointer Mod
Couldn't you just have put an AI Tag on the colony modules?
__________________
Nick (bearclaw)
You don't know the Power of the Dark Side. I must obey my Master.
Potestatem obscuri lateris nescitis
A+ Se+++ GdY $++ Fr- C+ Csp Sf* AuO M++ MpTFdAM St RTNH Pw++ Fq++ Nd++ Rp++ G++ Mm++ Bb++ L+ Tcp-
|

December 1st, 2004, 03:19 PM
|
 |
Major
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,066
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
|
Re: Pointer Mod
I'm using scale mounts, but not on the colony components. Just on the engines and supply components.
I tried cutting and pasting the default AI colony ship designs, but the AI designs nothing. Not even crappy colony ships that don't go anywhere.
[img]/threads/images/Graemlins/PointRight.gif[/img] BTW, here's the latest Version. All components are done and I even threw in a MAC gun a la Halo 2.
|

December 1st, 2004, 03:35 PM
|
 |
Shrapnel Fanatic
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Southern CA, USA
Posts: 18,394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
|
|
Re: Pointer Mod
Quote:
Urendi Maleldil said:
I'm using scale mounts, but not on the colony components. Just on the engines and supply components.
I tried cutting and pasting the default AI colony ship designs, but the AI designs nothing. Not even crappy colony ships that don't go anywhere.
[img]/threads/images/Graemlins/PointRight.gif[/img] BTW, here's the latest Version. All components are done and I even threw in a MAC gun a la Halo 2.
|
You might want to note that "minimum speed" does not refer to speed, or standard movement points, but rather to number of engines (components with any value of standard movement points). This causes many headaches and much confusion in any sort of scaled movement system...
|

December 1st, 2004, 04:20 PM
|
 |
Major
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,066
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
|
Re: Pointer Mod
I don't think the minimum/desired speed is the problem. I've tweaked that already. I might not've changed it back though since I pasted the default Colony Ship design in there.
|

December 3rd, 2004, 10:27 PM
|
 |
Major
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,066
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
|
Re: Pointer Mod
Okay. I'm completely baffled. The AI won't design colony ships, but will build them if I design them. I tried renaming the ship size to "Colony Ship" but that didn't work.
For some reason whenever you start a game, whichever planet type you choose, the AI always starts out with "Ice Colonization" researched instead of rock or gas or whatever.
It's really funny because even though the AI has the Ice Colony module available, it won't build Ice Colony ships. And not only are the ice planets marked as colonizable, but also the planet type you selected when you set up the game, even though you don't have that tech researched or that component available.
It's probably related to why the AI isn't building colony ships. I tried moving the colony techs to the top of the TechAreas file just like they are in the stock one, but that didn't work.
Rock Oxygen is listed in the AI Settings file.
I've tried starting the game with all three planet types.
[img]/threads/images/Graemlins/PointRight.gif[/img] BTW, here's the latest Version.
|

December 1st, 2004, 03:33 PM
|
 |
Shrapnel Fanatic
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Southern CA, USA
Posts: 18,394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
|
|
Re: Pointer Mod
Quote:
bearclaw said:
Couldn't you just have put an AI Tag on the colony modules?
|
The AI adds a colony module to the ship design on its own. Normally, without using mounts, it seems to not place a second one on there from the must have abilities. But when the components are mounted, it seems to confuse the AI and it places 2 or 0... I don't forsee an AI Tag on the colony module itself being of use, though it is possible...
|

December 22nd, 2004, 08:09 PM
|
 |
Major
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,066
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
|
Re: Pointer Mod
Here's the next Version of the Pointer Mod. Everything's done except for the AI, 3 facilities, and 3 weapons I just added.
But the AI really needs your help. I'm not much good when it comes to modding those buggers. Everything's working fine except for the AI.
If anyone will write a good workable AI script, I'll put your name on it, and package it with the mod. I will also concede that you are a better modder than I.
Also we need people to test the Mod in multiplayer. I'm not much of a PBW guy (don't have the time). The tech tree for the Pointer Mod is completely different from the stock tree. So if you want something new, this is it.
|

December 22nd, 2004, 08:30 PM
|
Private
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: Pointer Mod
hey! love the mod! I agree that you need to fix the AI... but I am sorry, I can't help you there. I have found that moding the AI is about the hardest part in the game. as to testing it on PBW, that will be easy... I know a few ppl that might be willing to start a game.
__________________
The Space Ace
A-- Se+++>Se++++ GdY $? Fr! C Csa Sf+ Ai- Au M+ Mp* S>S+++
Ss++++ R! Pw++ Fq++ Nd Rp++ G++ Mm+ Bb->@ L+ Tcp
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is On
|
|
|
|
|