|
|
|
|
|
January 28th, 2007, 11:11 PM
|
|
Shrapnel Fanatic
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Southern CA, USA
Posts: 18,394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
|
|
Re: SEV command line execution
No tricks are necessary; the script just has to wait for the SE4 process to exit. Most exec functions in programming languages have a way to do that directly. Dunno about batch, but its a 3 line python script (plus the import os line). I forget exactly what the command line parameters are, so you'll have to put the exact commands in. Assuming you have python installed, set the range to the number of turns you want to wait, save as something.py in the se4 folder, and run it (DOS prompt is easiest way).
Code:
import os
for i in range(20):
print "Executing turn " + str(i+1) + "..."
os.spawnl(os.P_WAIT, 'se4.exe', 'savegame', 'player', 'password')
|
January 28th, 2007, 11:18 PM
|
|
Shrapnel Fanatic
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 11,451
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
|
|
Re: SEV command line execution
Sigh, Fy.
Just running with command line parameters is trivial.
Running multiple turns one after the other is the hard part.
Using Python vs a Batch file, for example.
And of course, difficulty is relative.
__________________
Things you want:
|
January 29th, 2007, 02:01 AM
|
First Lieutenant
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 776
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: SEV command line execution
that code should run multiple turns.
screw batch files, python FTW
__________________
[img]/threads/images/Graemlins/Flag_NewZeland.gif[/img]
|
January 29th, 2007, 02:58 AM
|
|
Shrapnel Fanatic
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Southern CA, USA
Posts: 18,394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
|
|
Re: SEV command line execution
I don't know why anyone would want to do something like this with DOS batch... Doing pretty much anything in DOS batch is just asking for trouble. Python is several orders of magnitude easier to learn than batch.
|
January 29th, 2007, 04:35 AM
|
National Security Advisor
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 5,085
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: SEV command line execution
Well, you could use the batch to call the script, skipping the DOS prompt.
__________________
Phoenix-D
I am not senile. I just talk to myself because the rest of you don't provide adequate conversation.
- Digger
|
January 29th, 2007, 04:45 AM
|
|
Shrapnel Fanatic
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 15,630
Thanks: 0
Thanked 30 Times in 18 Posts
|
|
Re: SEV command line execution
I don't know enough about any of this to really use it. I just wanted to know so that I could run 100 turn AI test for both SE V and SE IV.
__________________
Creator of the Star Trek Mod - AST Mod - 78 Ship Sets - Conquest Mod - Atrocities Star Wars Mod - Galaxy Reborn Mod - and Subterfuge Mod.
|
January 29th, 2007, 05:29 AM
|
|
Shrapnel Fanatic
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Southern CA, USA
Posts: 18,394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
|
|
Re: SEV command line execution
Phoenix-D said:
Well, you could use the batch to call the script, skipping the DOS prompt.
Or you could double click on the script.
|
January 29th, 2007, 05:51 AM
|
|
Shrapnel Fanatic
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 15,630
Thanks: 0
Thanked 30 Times in 18 Posts
|
|
Re: SEV command line execution
I just read that SE V has a feature added recently that allows you to execute X amount of turns.
__________________
Creator of the Star Trek Mod - AST Mod - 78 Ship Sets - Conquest Mod - Atrocities Star Wars Mod - Galaxy Reborn Mod - and Subterfuge Mod.
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is On
|
|
|
|
|