.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > The Camo Workshop > WinSPWW2
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 29th, 2007, 08:18 AM

pdoktar pdoktar is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 303
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
pdoktar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Multiple Arty Spotters - Game Mechanics

I think that wohoever calls the fire is the one responsible for spotting, in LOS or not, destroyed or routed.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 9th, 2007, 12:39 PM
TreadHead's Avatar

TreadHead TreadHead is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 30
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
TreadHead is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Multiple Arty Spotters - Game Mechanics

From what I'm seeing in gameplay and not from understanding the code behind it, I would agree that it appears the spotter that calls it controls it. It also seems that another spotter can "take over" the fire mission by being the one that adjusts fire the next turn. I do these sort of hand-offs when controlling creeping barrages or adjusting fires to concentrate for a massive TOT (time-on-target) strike. I have no clue if this is really making any difference in real game terms; i.e., making it observed fire.

Two different messages can show before the strike if there is no LOS to the target area. Either “__ spotter has no LOS" or “__ has no spotter”. These can show just prior to the standard message “__ firing indirect fire”. Can anyone explain the difference?
[img]/threads/images/Graemlins/PointRight.gif[/img] The message “__ spotter has no LOS" seems to occur when the intended target hex is in LOS but where the strike landed is not.
[img]/threads/images/Graemlins/PointRight.gif[/img] The message “__ has no spotter” seems to occur when both the intended target hex and where the strike landed is not in LOS.

If you continue fire with that same battery for subsequent turns, no message pops up at all regarding the LOS regardless of whether the spotter (or new spotter given my habit noted above) has LOS or not. You just see the message “__ firing indirect fire”. This is what has been leading me to think the new spotter was effectively controlling the fire mission.

Also, unless I'm missing something, there does not appear to anything that overtly indicates or restricts which spotter is communicating with a particular battery.

Ross
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.