.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening > Multiplayer and AARs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 2nd, 2008, 03:14 AM
Hoplosternum's Avatar

Hoplosternum Hoplosternum is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Romford, England
Posts: 445
Thanks: 95
Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Hoplosternum is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Mistletoe - an LA game for busy people (in progress)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LDiCesare View Post
I tend to believe that th turn of war declaration doesn't count as one of the turn delays. The NAP1 example is quite compelling.
I agree.

There are still other possibilities for confusion re overland spells and globsld.

Plus if I announce the end to the pact can my opponent attack at once or is he bound by the pact for those turns too? If he is not and he does attack me am I then still restricted on later turns - or does he by attacking end his protection early?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 2nd, 2008, 08:14 AM

LDiCesare LDiCesare is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: France
Posts: 820
Thanks: 4
Thanked 33 Times in 24 Posts
LDiCesare is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Mistletoe - an LA game for busy people (in progress)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoplosternum View Post
There are still other possibilities for confusion re overland spells and globsld.

Plus if I announce the end to the pact can my opponent attack at once or is he bound by the pact for those turns too? If he is not and he does attack me am I then still restricted on later turns - or does he by attacking end his protection early?
My view is that spells which can be identified are breaking of the NAP. Spells are usually anonymous but if you're obviously the only one to be able to cast it...
As for globals, Burden of Time is akin to a declaration of war on everyone (well, except LA Ermor). Many other globals I wouldn't consider a breach, although the admiral and other such spells enter the category of 'attack spells'.

Both parties are bound by the delay. Your opponent's attacking you immediately because you announced the end of the NAP is a breach of the NAP.

Then again, there's no rule that says NAPs must be respected. It's "just" going to earn you a very bad reputation around here.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.