.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Air Assault Task Force- Save $8.00
Bronze- Save $10.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 25th, 2010, 03:23 PM

thejeff thejeff is offline
General
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,327
Thanks: 4
Thanked 133 Times in 117 Posts
thejeff is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Questions

Yes.

A mage can spend up to his path level in gems on a single spell. This includes 1 gem that may be spent to increase his effective level. (Path level includes boosters, levels from communions or previously cast path boosters spells, but not the level from the gem.)

So your level 3 mage could cast level 4 spell that cost 2 gems. He would use 3 gems to do it. 2 for the spell and 1 to boost him to 4th level. If it cost 3 gems, he couldn't do it because he can only use 3 gems and has none left to boost his level.

I'm about 95% certain of this. I swear I've seen exceptions mostly involving blood mages using up slaves faster than they should, but I haven't been able to replicate it.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to thejeff For This Useful Post:
  #2  
Old November 25th, 2010, 05:39 PM

Redeyes Redeyes is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 539
Thanks: 15
Thanked 43 Times in 34 Posts
Redeyes is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Questions

Alright, I went with Dimaz assumption that the gem spent on increasing your level also allowed another gem to be spent, I had no idea if it was true or not. Thanks for extrapolating.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 25th, 2010, 09:25 PM

Kobal2 Kobal2 is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 285
Thanks: 3
Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts
Kobal2 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by thejeff View Post
So your level 3 mage could cast level 4 spell that cost 2 gems. He would use 3 gems to do it. 2 for the spell and 1 to boost him to 4th level. If it cost 3 gems, he couldn't do it because he can only use 3 gems and has none left to boost his level.

I'm about 95% certain of this. I swear I've seen exceptions mostly involving blood mages using up slaves faster than they should, but I haven't been able to replicate it.
Confirmed the hard way in a recent game of mine. And no, the gem used to temporarily raise a mage's path does not let him crack one more gem, either.

A D3 Fomorian king with a Staff (4D total) and 5 gems in his pockets refused to cast Dance of the Morrigans (D5, 4 gems) and went with Undead Horde instead. The exact same King with a Skull Helmet on top cast DotM just fine.

I got confused, then figured that D4 = can snort the 4 gems the spell requires anyway, but can't use the fifth one to raise his effective level to cast it in the first place.
__________________
Anything wrong ?
Blame it on me - I'm the French.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.