.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 2: The Ascension Wars

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 31st, 2004, 02:46 AM

Huntsman Huntsman is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Posts: 259
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Huntsman is on a distinguished road
Default Global bug?

Last turn I cast a global which was not listed as currently active and yet I got a message saying it was overpowered by the existing spell.... But it's not listed in the globals as being active! Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 31st, 2004, 04:12 AM
Verjigorm's Avatar

Verjigorm Verjigorm is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: BF Illinois
Posts: 445
Thanks: 13
Thanked 27 Times in 21 Posts
Verjigorm is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Global bug?

Spells cast on the same turn occur in a random order. The spell was probably cast at the same time as yours and occured first with greater power/lucky roll. If there were 6 globals already in play, and neither showed up, it is possible that their enchantment overpowered yours and a third enchantment of greater power then overwrote theirs (an event you would not be privy to).
__________________
"Let your plans be dark and as impenetratable as night, and when you move, fall like a thunderbolt." -- Sun Tzu
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 31st, 2004, 11:31 AM

Huntsman Huntsman is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Posts: 259
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Huntsman is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Global bug?

But wouldn't the spell be listed as being active?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 31st, 2004, 12:51 PM
Agrajag's Avatar

Agrajag Agrajag is offline
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,449
Thanks: 4
Thanked 8 Times in 2 Posts
Agrajag is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Global bug?

Quote:
GuildBoss said:
But wouldn't the spell be listed as being active?
If I understand things right, what he meant was that things happened this way:
The turn is hosted with you casting the spell.
The spell is active, it might have been active before, it someone else casted it as well and just got his spell ativated first.
You cast your spell and fail to overpower it.
Another spell is cast by a different player and erases that first spell from the global spell list (because of the limit on how many spells can be active at the same time).
__________________
I'm in the IDF. (So any new reply by me is a very rare event.)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 31st, 2004, 12:52 PM
Cainehill's Avatar

Cainehill Cainehill is offline
Lieutenant General
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albuquerque New Mexico
Posts: 2,997
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cainehill is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Global bug?


No, because the spell was blown away the same turn you cast it.
__________________
Wormwood and wine, and the bitter taste of ashes.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 1st, 2005, 04:06 PM

Huntsman Huntsman is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Posts: 259
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Huntsman is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Global bug?

But I still don't understand what happened to the other player's spell. It doesn't show on the list. Was it too blown away by...what?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 1st, 2005, 04:13 PM
Verjigorm's Avatar

Verjigorm Verjigorm is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: BF Illinois
Posts: 445
Thanks: 13
Thanked 27 Times in 21 Posts
Verjigorm is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Global bug?

In order to know for sure we'd have to know if there were 5-6 active globals on the F6 screen. If there were 5 active globals, his would have become the 6th and then yours would've failed to overwrite it. If a third player cast another spell, it may have subsequently overpowered it. This spell would appear as active on the list--not yours or the one that overpowered yours.
Example:

Here's an F6 Screen:

1. (Player A) Arcane Nexus
2. (Player B) Forge of Ancients
3. (Player C) A Well of Misery
4. (Player A) Purgatory
5. (Player C) Gale Gate
6. --OPEN--

Assuming the most probable scenario we will have something like:

Player A casts Stellar Focus
Player C casts Utterdark

The computer selects the random order for Ritual magic and it ends up being C, A.

C's Utterdark goes off at 999 Death gems, filling the 6th slot.

A's Stellar focus with a puny 60 gems goes off contesting (by random draw) the 6th slot occupied by said Utterdark spell. Unless A is inconceivably lucky, his spell will be bLasted out of existance and he shall receive a message stating that it was overpowered by the existing enchantment.
__________________
"Let your plans be dark and as impenetratable as night, and when you move, fall like a thunderbolt." -- Sun Tzu
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.