|
|
|
 |

July 9th, 2006, 01:32 PM
|
 |
General
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 3,070
Thanks: 13
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
|
|
Re: global enchantments when there are 5 already?
Quote:
archaeolept said: 2. if not, it will compete w/ one of yours that is already up.
|
I hope you are mistaken about this. If true, it seems like a really poor design decision.
__________________
Cap'n Q
"Good morning, Pooh Bear," said Eeyore gloomily. "If it is a good morning," he said. "Which I doubt," said he.
|

July 9th, 2006, 01:34 PM
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,687
Thanks: 20
Thanked 54 Times in 39 Posts
|
|
Re: global enchantments when there are 5 already?
dunno what's poor about it... other than it irritates the player - but if you got rid of elements that cause trouble for the players, that's like half of Dominions
generally, to support a claim that something is a poor design decision, it is considered polite to actually provide some argument...
|

July 10th, 2006, 10:48 AM
|
 |
General
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 3,070
Thanks: 13
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
|
|
Re: global enchantments when there are 5 already?
Quote:
archaeolept said: generally, to support a claim that something is a poor design decision, it is considered polite to actually provide some argument...
|
Good point, my bad.
It makes no sense to me that magic spells would preferentially interfere with other spells by the same caster. Especially when competing with spells supported by an enemy.
OTOH, the limit of five global enchantments only makes sense from a metagame programming perspective anyway.
__________________
Cap'n Q
"Good morning, Pooh Bear," said Eeyore gloomily. "If it is a good morning," he said. "Which I doubt," said he.
|

July 10th, 2006, 11:33 AM
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,687
Thanks: 20
Thanked 54 Times in 39 Posts
|
|
Re: global enchantments when there are 5 already?
yah, that's why the rule is irritating to the (usually dominating) player - but it probably works from a balance perspective, as it makes it more difficult for someone w/ an edge in gems to corner the globals, or to parlay gem producing globals into further ones...
|

July 10th, 2006, 12:19 PM
|
 |
Second Lieutenant
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 514
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: global enchantments when there are 5 already?
Quote:
archaeolept said:
yah, that's why the rule is irritating to the (usually dominating) player - but it probably works from a balance perspective, as it makes it more difficult for someone w/ an edge in gems to corner the globals, or to parlay gem producing globals into further ones...
|
Erm... wouldn't it just make it easier for the quickest researcher to corner the globals? Once they're full, any one other player could only replace ONE global spell. Which makes absolutely no sense. You sure about this rule?
|

July 10th, 2006, 01:59 PM
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albuquerque New Mexico
Posts: 2,997
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: global enchantments when there are 5 already?
It definately doesn't take down one of your own first, except as a side effect of choosing one of the five at random - I've blown my own globals down, but have also taken down those of other players while I had some up.
I suspect that Arch thinks it takes down one of his own because he so often has multiple globals up : if a player already has 2 globals up, it's 40% likely to try to override one of his spells, and with 3 up, it's 60% likely.
That's one reason I'll often try to dispel a global if there are five up and I have more than one of my own - means I've got a much better chance of not screwing my own enchantments up.
__________________
Wormwood and wine, and the bitter taste of ashes.
|

July 10th, 2006, 10:55 PM
|
 |
Second Lieutenant
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 514
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: global enchantments when there are 5 already?
Quote:
Cainehill said:
It definately doesn't take down one of your own first, except as a side effect of choosing one of the five at random - I've blown my own globals down, but have also taken down those of other players while I had some up.
|
I'd surmised the same, but not enough experience with replacing globals to be absolutely sure my memory isn't screwing with me.
Quote:
That's one reason I'll often try to dispel a global if there are five up and I have more than one of my own - means I've got a much better chance of not screwing my own enchantments up.
|
Does that actually work in lategame multiplayer? Wouldn't everyone simultaneously jockey for the empty slot, making it empty in name alone?
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is On
|
|
|
|
|