|
|
|
 |
|

November 2nd, 2006, 11:03 PM
|
Sergeant
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Belmont, CA USA
Posts: 285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: Space Empires V Editor 1.1 Released
You're right - the parser is barfing on some of the stock formulas. I was apparently testing the wrong data file earlier.
I've got the saving part fixed so you can still allow saves and I've fixed the plague bomb formula problem. The min/max damage formulas are a bit tougher. For some reason, the parser is thinking that
(50 + (([%Level%] - 1) * 5)) - ([%Range%] * 0.8)
is two parameters. If I surround the whole thing with parens, it works fine. But this definitely does seem to be an issue with the parser. I'm looking into it more now.
|

November 2nd, 2006, 11:15 PM
|
 |
Brigadier General
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: WA
Posts: 1,894
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
|
|
Re: Space Empires V Editor 1.1 Released
I found a problem with the components editor:
Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
I have created a new form of damage and your program can’t seem to handle anything out of the stock forms.
__________________
President Elect Shang; Tal-Re Republic of Free Worlds
Welcome to Super Vegeta’s Big Bang Attack… Welcome to OBLIVION!
“Don Panoz made an awesome car and… an incinerator” Bill Auberlen
|

November 2nd, 2006, 11:30 PM
|
Sergeant
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Belmont, CA USA
Posts: 285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: Space Empires V Editor 1.1 Released
ok, got all the formula parsing fixed. There was a bug in the actual parser library that didn't like relational operators as parameters to functions.
The remaining errors in the "stock" components.txt are..actual errors. Basically, some of the components refer to effects that don't exist.
For example, Crystalline Torpedo has the lines
Code:
Weapon Space Display Effect Name := Torpedo 11
Weapon Ground Display Effect Name := Torpedo 11
These should be Torp 11, which actually does exist. So, the errors that it reports for the stock data file are actual errors.
|

November 2nd, 2006, 11:30 PM
|
National Security Advisor
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 5,085
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: Space Empires V Editor 1.1 Released
Shang: are you using the 1.08 patch? Because it looks like the editor is seeing an old components.txt line and freaking out (the damage type line was Weapon Damage Type before 1.08, when it changed to Weapon Damage Type Formula).
__________________
Phoenix-D
I am not senile. I just talk to myself because the rest of you don't provide adequate conversation.
- Digger
|

November 2nd, 2006, 11:31 PM
|
Sergeant
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Belmont, CA USA
Posts: 285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: Space Empires V Editor 1.1 Released
Quote:
President_Elect_Shang said:
I found a problem with the components editor:
Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
I have created a new form of damage and your program can’t seem to handle anything out of the stock forms.
|
The program reads the file "DamageTypes.txt" to get a list of valid damage types. Did you add your new damage type to that file?
|

November 2nd, 2006, 11:40 PM
|
Sergeant
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Belmont, CA USA
Posts: 285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: Space Empires V Editor 1.1 Released
OK, I've put up version 1.1.2, another bugfix release. It has the following changes:
Version 1.1.2 - Added ability to save even if there are errors. Use at your own risk - this COULD corrupt your data!
- Bugfix: When the form warns that your data has errors before saving, it will only show the errors once
- General bugfixes on the parser to make it handle formulas better
- Bugfix: Formula Wizard will reset non-selected vars to 1.0 instead of leaving them at previous value
|

November 2nd, 2006, 11:43 PM
|
 |
Brigadier General
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: WA
Posts: 1,894
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
|
|
Re: Space Empires V Editor 1.1 Released
I sure did, that was the first thing I thought of. I know the entry in the file is correct as I have tested the weapon out and it works as expected. After I hit the Doh! button nothing loads. The exact error I am getting is:
Error(s) reading c:\program files\strategy first\malfador machinations\space empires compilation\se5\gametypes\starfire\Data\Components .txt:
line 509: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 553: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 704: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 749: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 1415: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 1462: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 1512: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 1604: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 1854: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 1898: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 1989: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 2036: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 2085: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 2131: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 2297: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 2383: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 2496: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 2626: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 2673: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 2750: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 2796: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 2849: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 2971: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 3017: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 3120: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 3197: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
line 3243: Unknown key 'Weapon Damage Type'
And the only change I have made to the file is:
Damage Type Name := Shields Negate
Description := Shields negate all effects of this weapon.
Picture Number := 2
Cannot Penetrate Any Kind Of Shields := FALSE
Cannot Penetrate Any Kind Of Armor := FALSE
Number Of Vehicle Types := 0
Number of Shield Types := 4
Shield Type 1 Name := Normal Shields
Shield Type 1 Penetration Percent := 0
Shield Type 1 Damage Percent := 0
Shield Type 2 Name := Phased Shields
Shield Type 2 Penetration Percent := 0
Shield Type 2 Damage Percent := 0
Shield Type 3 Name := Plasma Shields
Shield Type 3 Penetration Percent := 0
Shield Type 3 Damage Percent := 0
Shield Type 4 Name := Null-Space Shields
Shield Type 4 Penetration Percent := 0
Shield Type 4 Damage Percent := 0
Number of Armor Types := 0
Internal Damage Percent := 100
Facility Damage Percent := 100
Population Amount Killed Per Damage Point := 0.25
Crew Amount Killed Per Damage Point := 0
Is Viral Weapon := FALSE
Number Of Special Effects := 0
Number Of Requirements := 0
Number Of Abilities := 0
I’m sure the formatting won’t hold...
__________________
President Elect Shang; Tal-Re Republic of Free Worlds
Welcome to Super Vegeta’s Big Bang Attack… Welcome to OBLIVION!
“Don Panoz made an awesome car and… an incinerator” Bill Auberlen
|

November 2nd, 2006, 11:47 PM
|
Sergeant
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Belmont, CA USA
Posts: 285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: Space Empires V Editor 1.1 Released
The key "Weapon Damage Type" is actually an invalid key. I think Phoenix-D is correct - you're using an older version of components.txt from before 1.08. The key it's expecting is "Weapon Damage Type Formula".
You should just be able to do a cut-n-paste in your text file and replace "Weapon Damage Type" with "Weapon Damage Type Formula" to get things working.
|

November 3rd, 2006, 12:49 AM
|
 |
Brigadier General
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: WA
Posts: 1,894
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
|
|
Re: Space Empires V Editor 1.1 Released
That was the problem, working now.
__________________
President Elect Shang; Tal-Re Republic of Free Worlds
Welcome to Super Vegeta’s Big Bang Attack… Welcome to OBLIVION!
“Don Panoz made an awesome car and… an incinerator” Bill Auberlen
|

November 3rd, 2006, 03:11 AM
|
Corporal
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 148
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Re: Space Empires V Editor 1.1 Released
Another very small problem. If I enter a picture number in the component editor, then click on another filed, the picture is not updated. I need to click the 'up' button, then the 'down' to get the right pic to be displayed (I think you should override the "lost focus" event).
But it's getting close to perfection
Something than would be useful for pic selection would be to be able to have the whole pic grid displayed and just have to click on the you want. Currently you have to either know the pic number or click many times to find the right one. If Image Mod arrives, it will only get worse.
EDIT: Another good thing would be to parse teh whole file and indicate on the left column in red the components containing errors. That way you could always be sure you did not insert a new mistyping error without having to click on every single component of the list.
Very good the suggestions when you find an error, can be helpful 
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is On
|
|
|
|
|