.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > The Camo Workshop > WinSPWW2
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 30th, 2024, 12:35 AM

Christocipher Christocipher is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Aug 2023
Posts: 56
Thanks: 46
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Christocipher is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Possible bug

You are not getting what I am saying. So in your example what you did not do is move the visible squad back out of sight. When you do that It WONT be visible but the foxhole WILL be.

So when the squad becomes visible it can then move somewhere where it is not visible anymore and it WONT appear on the map even though you saw it while it was moving to somewhere out of sight. BUT the foxholes did become visible when you saw the unit moving towards cover and stays visible permanently.

So the unit can be seen and then hide itself away again.
But once the foxhole is seen it is permanently visible even if the unit it is part of is back out of sight at the end of the turn.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 30th, 2024, 08:28 AM
DRG's Avatar

DRG DRG is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: GWN
Posts: 12,614
Thanks: 4,055
Thanked 5,813 Times in 2,868 Posts
DRG will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Possible bug

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christocipher View Post
You are not getting what I am saying. So in your example what you did not do is move the visible squad back out of sight. When you do that It WONT be visible but the foxhole WILL be.
The reading comprehension problem is not at my end as I explained that to you in the same post

Quote:
......if the unit is seen then moved behind cover the entrenchment they started in the entrenchment will still show so showing me a map with entrenchments that has no troops in view is not "proof"
I did not need to do what you said I did not do because *I* have known the entrenchment the unit started in would still be in view if the unit goes out of sight again for over a quarter century and that save game I provided ( that still has zero views ) allows all of that to be tested and observed .

Like this...... the X is where the Brits saw the Russian unit then I retreated it behind the trees...there is no unit visible but you can see the entrenchment and SP has been that way forever and NO ONE until now has questioned it because it's not important.





What you wrote was ...

Quote:
So even though he carefully made sure I cant see any of his guys at the end of his turn, because of the foxholes that I CAN now see I knew they were coming, where they were coming from, how many there were
* EDIT *You also wrote ........
Quote:
The other guy is very careful to make sure all his units are always out of view at the end of his turn but during moving forward some of them come into view for a little bit as he goes from cover to cover. So even though he carefully made sure I cant see any of his guys at the end of his turn, because of the foxholes that I CAN now see I knew they were coming, where they were coming from, how many there were
The foxholes will not be seen until the unit that was in them has been seen so the units HAD TO BE SEEN for the foxholes to appear and that is true no matter what kind of unit does the spotting........ spotter aircraft will not spot the entrenchments until it spots the units that are either in the entrenchment or had been in the entrenchment


* EDIT *
The fact that he has his troops out of your sight at the end of the turn is irrelevant. The reason the foxholes appeared on the map is those times his units "come into view for a little bit" so if they came into view they were spotted BY YOUR TROOPS which now know that enemy troops are in that area..... where they started is also irrelevant its where they may be now that is important and had this been played against the AI that "come into view for a little bit" is all the AI needs to possibly ( maybe... maybe not ) plot that area for arty

FINALLY ( Andy and I are done trying to explain this )......when a unit is spotted no matter if it was "fleeting" and even if the unit immediately goes back into cover and they are all hidden at the end of the turn the instant they are spotted is all it takes for their current position to known so the game reveals the entrenchment they started in..... a fact accepted by everyone playing SP since 1995....except you
__________________


"You are never to old to rock and roll if you are too young to die".--- What do you expect to be doing when you are 80?


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8kWt8ELuDOc

Last edited by DRG; June 30th, 2024 at 11:36 AM..
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to DRG For This Useful Post:
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.